We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Black Pearl - CLOSED

Black Pearl
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Hours of OperationMonday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.Friday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.We serve lunch from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.Our dinner service begins at 4:00 p.m.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ate at this restaurant a second time and the clam chowder was the best I have tasted. I also ordered the Black Pearl Hamburger and it was delicious. The owners mingle with the diners and aim to please. We were a party of 3 and we all raved about the clam chowder and the other two diners had the shrimp basket and loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vivutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unhappy birthday dinner”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Last Saturday 5/18/13 I had a birthday dinner at the Black Pearl. Very disappointing in the least. I made the reservations that morning and told the person that answered the phone that it was a birthday celebration. Our party of 4 arrived on time and was seated immediately. So far so good. The food did arrive in a timely manner, however the waiter did not check on us once. Upon finishing our dinner he brought the check right away. Seemed a little strange that we were not even offered dessert. A BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION DUDE! Food was very average. Will not return anytime soon. Our whole party agreed... Totally not worth the money!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zodar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I apologize that your birthday dinner celebration was such an unhappy one. We evidently had two reservations for birthday's in the same evening and yours was not at all what you expected nor what we typically do for birthdays and other special occasions celebrated at the Black Pearl Restaurant. We absolutely want to celebrate any special occasion with you and strive for excellence by doing such things as occasionally providing a complimentary dessert for the person you are celebrating with. It is common practice for our skilled waiter and waitresses to be very attentive to our guests needs. Often times Chef Craig will visit a table in the dining room when we are aware of such celebrations. So, I coordially invite you make a second trip to Black Pearl Restaurant and let us show you that we truly care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Five of us went to the Black Pearl last evening. We were seated and water was brought to our table. Our waitress took our orders, and 25 minutes later our salads arrived. Each of us had to ask for more salad dressing. The entrees came when we were about half way through our salads. Three of us ordered the 12 oz New York Steak. One was about an inch thick and the other two were barely a half inch thick. They did have a good taste however. One of our group ordered the salmon which arrived about 5 minutes after the rest of the dinners came. Although it was only about a 3-4 oz portion, it was tasty. The green beans and 1 carrot were so al dente that they were almost raw. My mashed potatoes were just warm, not hot. The rolls were delicious, but they wouldn't bring any of us back another time. At and no time did our servers stop by asking us how everything was. I think they already knew.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
It is my sincere apology that your first dining experience at the Black Pearl Restaurant was anything but excellent. We strive to make every dining experience at our restaurant one of the best that you have had ever. We encourage you to come again and experience the wonderful atmosphere and casual upscale dining we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Something fishy with this restaurant”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had read/been told that the chef here was ex-Bellagio and had won the Food Network's Iron Chef competition. So we were excited to get our first visit to try out the food. It was Saturday so we called ahead to check on hours, and were told that Black Pearl was open on Sundays. Very exciting as most places in this town are closed on Sundays. Although it seemed odd that the restaurant closes at 8pm during the week.

We arrived and found the restaurant décor rather bare and unfinished like no money had been spent on it. First when we wanted to confirm the Sunday opening, it turns out they are NOT open on Sundays. Huh? What? Nobody knows the hours of this place?

Ok, we thought, they've only been open a couple weeks - even though other places had been in great shape as soon as they opened. Apparently Black Pearl is doing what is called a "soft opening".

Looking at the menu I thought I was being helpful by gently pointed out that in the menu it said "Fillet Mignon" with two "ll''s". Almost got into argument with the chef-owner's wife who insisted it can be spelled either way(!) Huh?! Just do a Google for heaven's sake! And you guys are from the Bellagio???

We ordered the fish and chips as that is a great way to compare with other restaurants that offer similar. The place was almost empty at this point. However, it seemed like the service was very amateur - not what you'd expect from a chef-owner with this sort of impressive pedigree. We waited maybe 20 minutes for the food. Never mind, it's sure to be good from a former Bellagio chef and Food Network star.

No it wasn't. The two small fish items were in stick form and fried poorly. The coleslaw was like something you'd get from a industrial food vat (as was the tartar sauce). The fries were soggy.

The fish was edible. But, my companion couldn't eat her fries or coleslaw at all. We were asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu. Sure... A few minutes later the waitress comes back "oh we don't have any dessert today"(!)

So, in conclusion if you like awful fish & chips that cost about 25+% more than other places that serve it really well and you don't care about lovely décor and good service, then you may enjoy this new restaurant.

We left finding it very hard to believe that this was run by any kind of "award-winning" chef or that anyone involved with this restaurant had even been to any type of quality restaurant, let alone been a Food Network star at the Bellagio. It also seems extremely weird that in this day and age they have no website. Caveat emptor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I want to sincerely apologize that your experience at the Black Pearl Restaurant was anything less than excellent. We close during the weekdays at 8:00 p.m. as our market research has shown that the St. George community as a whole dines early. We have chosen to open for lunch so that everyone has an opportunity to dine with us. We are closed Sunday and Monday.

Our hours are: Tuesday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Great consideration went into our decor as well as our menu. Simple, comfortable decor and a simple well done menu is what sets us apart from other restaurants in the area. We have had a wonderful response to the simple elegance and wonderful dining experience.

The Black Pearl Restaurant appreciates any helpful input on the part of its guests. All helpful hints are acknowledged with a courteous and appreciative attitude. Our staff is very educated about our menu and provides excellent service.

Chef Craig has an impressive background and with our combined experience of over 70 years in the hospitality industry we have taken great care to surround ourselves with the best in staff and food.

Again, I apologize for your experience at the Black Pearl Restaurant and cordially invite you and your companion to come and try it again.

If you like simple elegance, a warm and inviting atmosphere and some of the best food in St. George, come and judge for yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! What wonderful addition to St.George!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited the Black Pearl today, day 6 after its opening, for lunch. Vivutah's review above, "Wonderful", is what peeked my curiosity and I can now say that her review does not contain one word of exaggeration. For those of you here in St. George, it is located where the Brazilian Steak House was in the Phoenix Plaza on Sunset. We were met by Myra, who is one of the principals and sister-in-law to Chef Craig. My wife had the Beer Battered Cod and I had a Black Pearl Specialty: "Scallop and Shrimp Stir Fry" served over noodles with bok choy. We shared our entrees and both agreed that the seafood was fresh, prepared perfectly and the sauce with the Scallop and Shrimp Stir Fry was absolutely delicious. During our meal, we told Myra that we had not had seafood prepared this well since leaving the Seattle area in 2008. She mentioned that Chef Craig had won a couple of titles for his Clam Chowder in Gig Harbor, Washington and since we were from that area insisted on bringing us a taste of his Clam Chowder he had prepared today. Another Wow! The Black Pearl will provide some real competition to the top restaurants here in St. George. A truly quality meal at a reasonable price!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jsullivan831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful support. Please come and dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing