We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot entree & good service”
Review of Buca di Beppo - CLOSED

Buca di Beppo
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Mall Dr.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My first visit to try some Italian food here after an afternoon of shopping at Red Cliffs Mall (directly across from Dillards). I arrived just past six and was seated immediately, but waited a few minutes before server appeared with menu. Asked if I had eaten here before, she told me about the small and large portion sizes, i.e. a "small" is plenty for two people or leftovers to take home. The menu was extensive and there was a decent wine by-the-glass selection, as well. I had the baked sausage & spinach stuffed pasta shells with a white and red sauce--a good balance and served hot. There were six large pasta shells and I brought three home! The dessert menu was tempting, but I will have to try it another time. I appreciated Jessica, my server's explanations and information about the e-club for special offers. She was pleasant and efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Monte65Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We don't go out to dinner all that often so when we do we like to take our time and relax and enjoy a meal. Things here started out ok - got seated right away & got our menus. It was only 7:40 in the evening and they were supposedly open until 10:00. Didn't seem like we were going to "close" the place - one of our pet peeves - i.e. - when you're still eating and they turn off the music and start vacuuming around your feet. However there were only 2 other tables visible to us and they were winding down. Our waiter seemed very eager to take our order. We're not real quick on the decisiveness scale. But we ordered our dinner, salads and wine (a very pricy wine list). When our salads came we were told the vegetable lasagna was sold out so we had to ask for the menus again. We ordered the spicy chicken & penne and figured at least we'd now have time to finish our salad before the food showed up. Wrong! Another pet peeve. Next while we were eating our main course our waiter came by and asked if we wanted a box! How rude! The tables visible to us had left and other staff was vacuuming the floor but it was just shortly past 8:00.
A low class experience with a pricy tab. We were treated way better at a diner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A large group of us visited during the Huntsman Games and were seated quickly. We didn't really get a good explanation of the "family style" menu so ordering individually we were overrun with a HUGE amount of food. All the reviews were good-baked ziti, manicotti, and some of the best restaurant lasagna I've ever had. All sides and garlic bread are a la carte so the price gets driven up for a complete meal--just be aware. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. Service though was exceptionally slow from basic delivery of meals to refills of drinks or other requests. The waiter just smiled, apologized and I get the idea that an evening here better be planned with no need to leave quickly. Knowing all that, I would definitely go back--just a little better educated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank axavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had not dined at this chain restaurant before. It seemed exotic for this part of the world, we gave it a try, and were not disappointed. We split a salad and fried calamari. The portions were adequate, well prepared, and tasty. Service was pleasant and well timed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Morningsideralph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Like many of the other reviews, the problem with this place was the service. It was not particularly busy. It took 10 minutes to get seated. 15 minutes to get a menu and a drink order. At least 35 minutes before the drinks came - right with the dinner. The wait staff seemed not too concerned. The food was okay - needed a little more seasoning. But the entrees where hot and the salad was good. DO NOT GO if you are in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zabe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing