We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one and only Indian”
Review of Bombay Cafe

Bombay Cafe
Ranked #121 of 244 Restaurants in St. George
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
188 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“The one and only Indian”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a small take out restaurant with a few tables for dine in. The owner is from Pakistan and also an art professor at the local University. The prices are very reasonable. The dishes are very basic but tasty. You can adjust the spice level per request. The location is one block off the main road in a worn strip mall. You may need a GPS to find the place. The vegetable dishes are cooked vegan.
In summary; a small, family run inner city curry place. Very similar to a big city in England.
There is no other choice in the St George area for Indian.
Have a conversation with the owner about art.
Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Someone please open a good Indian restaurant in St. George!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

So disappointed. My husband and I love Indian food. We just moved here from New York and hoped to find good food. At least my chicken tikka msala is good, because their's was not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sage G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in St George”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Okay, so it is the only Indian food in St George, but all the more reason to give it a try. The place is small, and certainly nothing fancy. Some original art on the walls and a few Indian items for sale as well. But it is clean and is fine. We tried several items, including the Chicken Tikka Masala, the Coconut Chicken Curry, and the Lamb Curry. We found them all quite nice. Some in our group like a little spice, others not so much, and these were seasoned well. We quite liked it and will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike007D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Appreciated the food and the place”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well, it’s not perfect or authenticate Indian food – but this is really nice food and worth the stop if you’re near st.george and a fan of Indian food / curries. You may skip appetizers and jump on various curries they’re offering. They can customize level of spicy-ness according to your wish of adventure. All curries come with Rice, and the Naan (bread) are not real Indian naan, so you may skip naan as well. But the curries and overall taste of Indian food at Bombay café is good. And I’m an Indian from NJ, where we have lots of Indian restaurants…so you can trust on my review ;-) They also have some indian-like merchandize to sell; not sure about price and quality.

So, don’t judge Indian food overall from your experience at Bombay café; but enjoy and appreciate the kind of Indian food one can get - even in St.George!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rutansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Indian food in St George that caters to VEGANS”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Yes they cater to vegans. Even eliminating most oil from the cooking. Great service in a strip mall location. The atmosphere is simple and feels like you crossed into another part of the world. Feels good and family friendly. Prices are good and food feels clean and not greasy. Even the nan was not oily. It's nice to have this place in southern Utah. The fact that they are vegan friendly is huge for us. Great experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 1Graywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing