We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Johnson Farm Dinosaur Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Dinosaur Discovery Site at Johnson Farm

St. George Dinosaur Discovery Site at Johnson Farm
Ranked #8 of 57 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The St. George Dinosaur Discovery Site at Johnson Farm preserves thousands of dinosaur tracks in place right at the site of discovery. Walk through a snapshot of an early Jurassic lake ecosystem and meet the dinosaurs and other animals that left their tracks here. See the world's largest collection of dinosaur swim tracks, and a rare track made by a crouching meat eating dinosaur, including hand impressions! Enjoy our special exhibit room and our Dino Park where kids can dig in the sand to find dinosaur tracks and practice making their own footprints! The museum is fully air conditioned. Bathrooms, water fountains, and a gift shop are available. Well behaved small dogs are welcome.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Johnson Farm Dinosaur Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you have an interest in Dinosaurs this is a neat place to visit. The building covers the major dig. Best for older children that can read and are interested in Dinosaurs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLE127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    96
    36
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We came to St George for my son's birthday. He loves dinosaurs so the trip was planned around this museaum. They were so kind to him! I wish their was more hands on stuff to do but overall it was a great time. I will say it is a small museum. It is super cool knowing how the museum came about .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dalaqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not quite what I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

For those who are interested in dino's then this is the place. The exhibits are all inside a building about the size of a high school gymnasium. After 4 or 5 exhibits of dino bones and tracks I was done with the place. However, for a youngster or an adult interested in dinosaurs I would recommend this place. For some reason, I was expecting an outdoor park with dinosaur bones similar to La Brea tar pits in L.A. without the tar pits. However, I can't complain about Johnson Farm.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron_and_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fairly rare findings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have never seen before so many dinosaur tracks in one museum. Very good explanations. You can visit in one hour. But of course the topic is a bit specialized and less fascinating that viewing reconstructions of whole dinosaurs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome site to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After reading previous reviews about this place, I felt it was well worth the time to check it out with my family especially since it was indoors in the month of July.

The place had really neat preserved dinosaur tracks including people working behind glass counters trying to locate additional historical dinosaur fossils.

There was a lot to see in that little museum. This place also hosts a small area for kids to just unwind and maybe do an origami or two and play with additional puzzles, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank meandbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George Dinosaur Discovery Site at Johnson Farm also viewed

 

Been to St. George Dinosaur Discovery Site at Johnson Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing