We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Southern Utah”

Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi
Ranked #7 of 245 Restaurants in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Southern Utah”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We frequent Sakura so much that everyone knows us by name and if we show up a little early before they open they welcome us and get us seated (they do that for everyone :) We always sit at the sushi bar, service is quick and friendly. Our favorites are the Mexican roll, Firecracker roll, Sakura roll and my ultimate favorite that isn't on the menu, the Sweetheart roll. It's made with salmon which I don't care for so I have them make it with tuna. DELICIOUS! We ate hibachi one time and it was wonderful also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UtahFamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    90
    20
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good sushi and hibachi experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had dinner at Sakura on a Friday night. We had to wait over one hour for our table. It was very busy. They told us it would just be a 30 minute wait. Once we were seated they were quick to take our orders. We really enjoyed our meals. We had the hibachi style and it was good and very entertaining. The cook was a lot of fun and did an excellent job. We shared one order of sushi and it was very good. We would go back if in St. George again but not on a Friday night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This is the ONLY place 4 Sushi in St. George”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Love Sakura! We followed Johnny (the owner) from another location when he opened this great restaurant. There is such a variety on the menu to please everyone. They offer a hibachi which is always fun with or without your own group. The staff is so attentive but not bothersome. It is by far the freshest in the area. Highly recommend if you have not already been.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pittsburgh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not just Sushi!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Although there's plenty of variety of restaurants in this part of Utah good ones are hard to find. Many restaurants here at best mediocre or just plain bad for the most part! Sakura is a pleasant surprise with pretty decent sushi and a very nice variety of Thai and other Asian foods. The service is friendly with a simple but inviting decor. Try it, you wont go wrong!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sushi in St. George”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

First visit , found it to be very clean and sleek. The menu was very extensive and priced fairly. The chef was very receptive to our special requests and prepared to adjust the menu. The staff were very cheery and friendly with quick service. The food was very nicely presented and very tasty. We will be returning for teppan cuisine next week cannot wait.

Helpful?
Thank Garth Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steak House & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing