We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best Golf in Utah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southgate Golf Club

Southgate Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southgate is a great course for those looking for an enjoyable round of golf as opposed to a brutal test of your skills. Southgate also features a game improvement center with award-winning PGA professionals and instruction programs.A great walking course, the front nine requires accuracy to sucessfully negotiate the waterways. Eight out of the nine holes on the front nine feature either a lake or the Santa Clara River as scenic challenges to par. The back 9, slightly longer than the front nine, adds the element of risk and reward which allows the player to recover shots lost on the front nine. Southgate Golf Club is a par-70 layout which is enjoyable for all levels of ability.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Golf in Utah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

27 holes of the best golf I have experienced. You can golf almost every day you are here. This is a City owned public course and is very cheap to play. I will do it again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOHN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable round”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a municipal style course and it plays well. For the price, it's very nice ($25 on EZlinks.com). It helps to play with someone who has been there before because there are several holes that are pretty blind off the tee. We found the greens true and the fairways in good condition.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice, Short Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very nice course that will make you feel like a big hitter. Even though the yardage is short, the holes are tricky enough to make it a challenge. Most of the par 5's are reachable in 2, and if you've never had an eagle in your life, play the whites as you'll get two chances on 17 and 18.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“bargain and lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

where can two people play for $18 with a cart on a nice course with views and in great shape...we joined two locals after a few holes and they could not have been nicer, pointing out targets to aim for.....st george is booming and we can understand why.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jim5906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A fun day of golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We visited St. George and were staying at a timeshare that was right off the 1st fairway. We walked to the clubhouse, got a cart and we were off. The front 9 is flat, built around the Virgin River and a few little lakes and requires relatively accurate shots. The back 9 is in the hills between houses and has great views.

I played with a low skilled partner and so we teed off from the white tees. What a great time I had. A few of the par 4s are short enough to reach, or at least come close and number 8 entices with a tee shot over a lake to the green. If you're capable, I'd say go for it.

On the back 9 there is a 374 yard par 5 (from the whites), a great opportunity for a shot at an eagle, although a twinge of guilt would accompany it.

The staff was very friendly, the price was right and the location, for me, was perfect.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southgate Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Southgate Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing