We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't read this, too many people will spoil this gem”
Review of Kayenta

Kayenta
Ranked #7 of 70 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kayenta Community, in southern Utah's red rock country, is a tranquil enclave surrounded by protected lands.A 2,000 acre master planned community of fine homes, custom building sites and community amenities, is located 7 miles west of St. George, Utah. Kayenta is a unique departure from the norm, focused on moderate land use, moderate-sustainable growth, and an appreciation for our magnificent natural setting. Nearby, residents find adventure in the southwest's abundance of places to explore. Zion National Park, Snow Canyon and Bryce Canyon National Park are within view. While just beyond the horizon, adventure seekers will discover places like the Grand Canyon, Lake Powell and Las Vegas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the best place for dinner or just to unwind in the St George area. If you are looking for something fast and cheap head to Cafe rio or smash burgers.. but if you have the time and like funky , artsy places, call ahead and enjoy this gem.

4  Thank TheCaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

So glad that you enjoyed our hidden gem! Please come back soon, we have lots of fun and exciting things to come in Kayenta. We hope to become more funky and unique in the years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Kayenta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 230 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

This place is just gorgeous and worth the short drive from St. George. The development is so unusual that I love to go just to look at the houses set against the red rock. Coyote Gulch has art galleries to browse, and Xetava Gardens has some pretty good food. Lovely atmosphere.

1  Thank SoCali22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for visiting us! We are only seven miles west of St. George but we offer the perfect escape from everyday city life. Please visit us again soon, we have lots of fun and exciting events coming up in February including Art in Kayenta and the Southern Utah Parade of Homes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I made a day trip to St. George from Mesquite based solely on reviews, and Kayenta was definitely on my list. Actually ended up driving straight to Kayenta. We were sad to see the cafe was closed, but the local art shops were open, great works!

The story behind the development and the scenery makes me hope there is a chance we can stay a few nights out there sometime. The stargazing would be incredible!!

We look our time and admired the sculpture area, and slowly walked the labyrinth - in and out :) My husband is not really into the whole meditation/ritual type thing, but we were both moved by the labyrinth. We focused and relaxed - it was amazing! The mountains of red rock are worth going for alone. They're working on re-opening the cafe, you might want to check before you head out there - all in all, it was a great trip. Bring your camera!

3  Thank Tearei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

We are so happy that you visited us! Sorry that Xetava Gardens Cafe was closed. Xetava has now re-opened and looks even more amazing now that the renovation is complete. If you ever want to come and stay in Kayenta we have a great Inn that was just featured in Sunset Magazine. It's called The Crescent Moon Inn. Thank you for coming out to see us, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This community is small, but has a way of capturing you. The views are breathtaking and the galleries are loaded with unique eclectic treasures! The people are friendly and inviting and make you feel like you never want to leave. It leaves you with a longing to get back!

2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Thank you. Kayenta definitely has the feel of a small town, everyone that lives here is extremely nice and friendly. All of our shops and restaurants have a special feel and we hope that we can provide all who visit with an amazing experience. We appreciate you coming out to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have been an avid Kayenta visitor for 4 years. Kayenta is close to town, but far enough away to enjoy without the hectic shuffle. I have enjoyed gallery art strolls, festivals, business meetings, photo shoots, coffee at the cafe, and romantic dinners in Kayenta. I love riding my road bike around the community and hiking the trials on the weekend. I bring all my out of town friends to Kayenta!!!

4  Thank Meghan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

We are happy that you and your friends are able to come to Kayenta and enjoy the Coyote Gulch Art Village and all the natural beauty that Kayenta has to offer. Kayenta is definitely a magical place and we always appreciate when people are able to take advantage of it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing