We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing.”
Review of Kayenta

Kayenta
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kayenta Community, in southern Utah's red rock country, is a tranquil enclave surrounded by protected lands.A 2,000 acre master planned community of fine homes, custom building sites and community amenities, is located 7 miles west of St. George, Utah. Kayenta is a unique departure from the norm, focused on moderate land use, moderate-sustainable growth, and an appreciation for our magnificent natural setting. Nearby, residents find adventure in the southwest's abundance of places to explore. Zion National Park, Snow Canyon and Bryce Canyon National Park are within view. While just beyond the horizon, adventure seekers will discover places like the Grand Canyon, Lake Powell and Las Vegas.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing.”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This place is just gorgeous and worth the short drive from St. George. The development is so unusual that I love to go just to look at the houses set against the red rock. Coyote Gulch has art galleries to browse, and Xetava Gardens has some pretty good food. Lovely atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCali22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for visiting us! We are only seven miles west of St. George but we offer the perfect escape from everyday city life. Please visit us again soon, we have lots of fun and exciting events coming up in February including Art in Kayenta and the Southern Utah Parade of Homes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    74
    21
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, worth the drive, unique development, so peaceful!”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I made a day trip to St. George from Mesquite based solely on reviews, and Kayenta was definitely on my list. Actually ended up driving straight to Kayenta. We were sad to see the cafe was closed, but the local art shops were open, great works!

The story behind the development and the scenery makes me hope there is a chance we can stay a few nights out there sometime. The stargazing would be incredible!!

We look our time and admired the sculpture area, and slowly walked the labyrinth - in and out :) My husband is not really into the whole meditation/ritual type thing, but we were both moved by the labyrinth. We focused and relaxed - it was amazing! The mountains of red rock are worth going for alone. They're working on re-opening the cafe, you might want to check before you head out there - all in all, it was a great trip. Bring your camera!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tearei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
We are so happy that you visited us! Sorry that Xetava Gardens Cafe was closed. Xetava has now re-opened and looks even more amazing now that the renovation is complete. If you ever want to come and stay in Kayenta we have a great Inn that was just featured in Sunset Magazine. It's called The Crescent Moon Inn. Thank you for coming out to see us, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places on the planet!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This community is small, but has a way of capturing you. The views are breathtaking and the galleries are loaded with unique eclectic treasures! The people are friendly and inviting and make you feel like you never want to leave. It leaves you with a longing to get back!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you. Kayenta definitely has the feel of a small town, everyone that lives here is extremely nice and friendly. All of our shops and restaurants have a special feel and we hope that we can provide all who visit with an amazing experience. We appreciate you coming out to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love me some Kayenta”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have been an avid Kayenta visitor for 4 years. Kayenta is close to town, but far enough away to enjoy without the hectic shuffle. I have enjoyed gallery art strolls, festivals, business meetings, photo shoots, coffee at the cafe, and romantic dinners in Kayenta. I love riding my road bike around the community and hiking the trials on the weekend. I bring all my out of town friends to Kayenta!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Meghan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
We are happy that you and your friends are able to come to Kayenta and enjoy the Coyote Gulch Art Village and all the natural beauty that Kayenta has to offer. Kayenta is definitely a magical place and we always appreciate when people are able to take advantage of it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great southwestern art in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Kayenta is a small community of environmentally friendly homes, shops, and galleries. They have several great art galleries, fun restaurants, and beautiful wind sculptures. If you appreciate art and artists, this is a great place to spend an afternoon.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank utahartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TylerMorales, Public Relations Manager at Kayenta, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
The Coyote Gulch Art Village is a great place to spend some time. Xetava Gardens Cafe and all of our art galleries provide lots of entertainment and spectacular things to see. I hope you can come back soon, our new hotel, The Crescent Moon Inn, is the perfect place to stay when visiting Kayenta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing