We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Inn & Suites

Economy Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Economy Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 9 St. George B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Got the room for about $30 after tax. In the winter.
The worst of it: Found a small cockroach in the fridge, so we let our leftovers spoil.
The room itself seemed generally clean—sheets, bathroom, carpet included. Old tub, old furniture. New paint, new sink/counter.

Breakfast (which is more than I'd have expected from a place like this) was offered next door, but it was just crappy juice, two options of cereal with only whole milk. He had a waffle maker, but ran out of batter and then he started blaming the guests—loudly and in the middle of everyone—for wasting batter by using the waffle iron wrong. Honestly, it was amusing like a movie, though baffling that it was real-life.

We asked for a discount at checkout and she just told us it was a good room where they changed the sheets. "Nothing I can do for you."

So, pretty ghetto but we weren't expecting much for the price. We like to think of ourselves as tough-skinned and we were only looking for a bed for one night. (We'd have liekd a crib for the toddler too but thwy sidnt have any). Served its purpose.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knudies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    4
    18
See reviews for
8
8
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heber City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I never complain but this is the worst place I have ever stayed at. Bugs all over the place, Bathtub had a hole in it and they fixed it with electrical tape, globs of plaster or putty all over the room, they taped the space heater to the wall with masking tape, I was scared to sleep on the bed because the linens didn't look clean, bars on the windows. I was worried for my baby and my wife and could not sleep well. Overall sugestion go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. George hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Arrived after Zion NP. Had stayed previously at the Coronada Inn and Suites next door for $29.
This time they wanted $75, and put it down to the marathon. They recommended the Sands if I wanted to pay less, next door on the uphill side. He wanted $69, but said he owned the economy 2 doors down. I could have it for $50. Went there and paid.
The kitchenette was not equipped. No plates,cutlery, pans etc. No oven only hot rings.
Went to reception, were it was explained they'd been taken, and we'd to provide our own!!!!!
No exactly a kitchenette room is it?
They provided plastic cutlery eventually, with some pans and paper plates.
INFESTATION does not describe this place well enough, before reloading our things, we shook everything very well just to make sure we hadn't seperated anything from it's family.
The bathroom was very old and needs overhaul, including the carpet in the bedroom. In fact, level the place and start again, it would be money better spent.
Quite possibly the worst stay in 4 road trips in the US.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0wnender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our room had cockroaches!!! When we complained at the front desk they came and sprayed. The spray caused us to cough and burned our throats and only brought out more cockroaches. When we asked for a refund he refused the full amount giving us only half but offered to upgrade our room at no cost. The staff is unprofessional! Their kids were screaming in the background while I was trying to resolve the situation. overall I was extremely unsatisfied. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I am a frequent traveler. For the price this hotel is good value for the money. The air condiotioning worked very well, it was over 100 degrees. Also, there are a lot of cable channels.

The owner seemed like a really nice guy. I get the feeling that he owns a few area hotels. It seemed like he recently bought the property and is renovating it. I noticed him removing old mattreses and putting in new ones. Also, the room had fresh paint.

St. George is neat little town apx. 30 minutes from Zion National Park and apx. 1.25 hours from Bryce National Park. The hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown St. George. Also, this property is only a minute off of Interstate 15.

I stayed here for ten days, I travel around the country in the summer. I like to see America. I felt that this property was good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THINGS2LIVE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

For the price we got Im not gonna complain. It was quiet and clean. My only complaints were....no coffee pot in room, you had to go to hotel next door for coffee and breakfast, the pool looked really dirty, and the owners little kids riding their scooters around the vehicles. All and all our stay was good, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Unfortunately we waited until last minute to book our hotel, so we ended up at Economy Lodge. The pros were that it had a fridge & microwave, air conditioning, and was quiet. The cons were that it had cockroaches, super slow Wifi, not enough handsoap & no shampoo, the bathroom fan was extraordinarily loud, you had to go to a different hotel for the continental breakfast and overall it just seemed like a sketchy place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
0.7 mi away
The INN at St.George
The INN at St.George
#35 of 41 in St. George
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#36 of 41 in St. George
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dixie Palms Motel
Dixie Palms Motel
#28 of 41 in St. George
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Motel
Chalet Motel
#16 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn & Suites

Property: Economy Inn & Suites
Address: 525 E Saint George Blvd, St. George, UT 84770-2959 (Formerly Economy Lodge)
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Economy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn & Suites St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing