We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK but not great.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Convention Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 61 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK but not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The staff seemed bored and put out if we asked for anything. There were a few small children present and they continually told them to be quiet and go in the kids room. The kids were not bothering any one and the staff seemed very harsh with them.

We were a small group and it appeared they were rushing us to get out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_Kutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tn
Level Contributor
378 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodations & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our group of approx. 350 people utilized the Dixie Convention Center all day starting at 6am for setup until 8pm for close of business. The Center's staff was helpful with setting up mutliple ballrooms and conference rooms, setting up chairs and tables, and making every effort to accomodate our needs.

Some of our group utilized the Concession area which had some excellent turkey & cheese sandwiches with lettuce and tomato on homemade bread.

A dinner for approx. 70 guests was served and a cash bar was provided. The servers and attendants were very gracious, helpful and not intursive. The food provided by the center included barbecue chicken breasts and shredded pork barbecue, salad, veggies, breads and dessert. The food was excellent and everyone was very satisfied with the meal.

We did not use even half of the available rooms at the center so it should easily handle many more guests that we had. Clean bathrooms and comfortable chairs were certainly a plus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
493 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not a very good set up for horseshoe tournament.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all- there is one doorway in the entire center inside that you may enter for the tournament. There are many older people, my father being one, who found this extra walking very painful. I had two brothers and my husband who entered, and although they are in good health, found the extra walking a major inconvenience. There are many more sets of doors they could have opened to make the long hike more bearable. The building itself is fairly attractive, but not really convenient for getting around. The sale of beer was only open for a few hours inside the playing area, but sales stopped each night at 7:00pm. The players and spectators for the evening shift were extremely upset, since they pitched from 7-10pm. No bathroom facilities inside playing area either, so depending on which court you played on, you may have a five minute walk to use the restroom, and would have to run back to prevent a delay in your game. Had we known the set up for the World Horseshoe Tournament ahead of time, chances are, we would not have come.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las VEgas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a fan...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We attended a convention here and the cold cement floors with the uncomfortable chairs and horrible sound made the day just drag on. I hope to never come back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MimiLasVegasLasVEgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“SNAUtah Conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I like the layout of the conference center; it was easy to find the rooms for our classes. Plenty of restrooms were available. We had a catered lunch and dinner; the food was ok. The only down side was a few of the rooms had trouble with the air conditioning, so switches had to be made, since it was 100 degrees outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pansypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Convention Center also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing