We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a very good set up for horseshoe tournament.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Convention Center

Dixie Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 62 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
517 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Not a very good set up for horseshoe tournament.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all- there is one doorway in the entire center inside that you may enter for the tournament. There are many older people, my father being one, who found this extra walking very painful. I had two brothers and my husband who entered, and although they are in good health, found the extra walking a major inconvenience. There are many more sets of doors they could have opened to make the long hike more bearable. The building itself is fairly attractive, but not really convenient for getting around. The sale of beer was only open for a few hours inside the playing area, but sales stopped each night at 7:00pm. The players and spectators for the evening shift were extremely upset, since they pitched from 7-10pm. No bathroom facilities inside playing area either, so depending on which court you played on, you may have a five minute walk to use the restroom, and would have to run back to prevent a delay in your game. Had we known the set up for the World Horseshoe Tournament ahead of time, chances are, we would not have come.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las VEgas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a fan...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We attended a convention here and the cold cement floors with the uncomfortable chairs and horrible sound made the day just drag on. I hope to never come back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MimiLasVegasLasVEgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“SNAUtah Conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I like the layout of the conference center; it was easy to find the rooms for our classes. Plenty of restrooms were available. We had a catered lunch and dinner; the food was ok. The only down side was a few of the rooms had trouble with the air conditioning, so switches had to be made, since it was 100 degrees outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pansypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellaville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Christmas Coins for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

They store, organize and wrap all the gifts at the Dixie Convention Center. It was huge and I couldn't believe how big of a space that they had. They staff was very kind and the restrooms are so clean and very nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kymberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“goldwing convention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff did an amazing job meeting all of the over 500 attendees for our convention., It is a remarkable facility.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Convention Center also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing