We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy treat but....”

Nielsen's Frozen Custard
Ranked #1 of 16 Dessert in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy treat but....”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stopped in yesterday while on vacation in the area. Never had frozen custard before so I had to try it. The Lemon is heavenly! So light and refreshing on a sunny afternoon. BUT the girl at the counter wasnt at all friendly, didn't even bother to greet us or even say thanks,and we were the only 2 people there other than a few older folks that appeared to be hanging out. I may give them one more try before leaving town...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grammie3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    53
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Diner Style Custard Shop”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

They only take cash but this place was great. Wonderful young staff and the samples were generous! It's on a busy street but easy to get to.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaneofthewasatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding creamy frozen custard”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have eaten frozen custard in a number of places around the country and Nielsen's ranks up there with the best of them. The concretes are outstanding, good selection, and the custard by itself is also phenomenal. There are also pints and quarts for take-home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank baldguyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Crazy good!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am not an ice cream fan... but Nielsen's Frozen Custard is amazing!!!! You can't go wrong with anything you choose, the custard or concrete. We always stop at Nielsen's when in St. George. You won't believe how smooth the custard is. Love it!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definetly worth a try”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Never heard of it before and read about it on trip advisor. It was really tasty. I think I prefer custard to ice cream. It's so nice to have a cold smooth treat that's not as sweet as ice cream. We had a Carmel brownie and a Oreo concrete. The kiddos were happy with the Oreo content however you could hardly tell I had any brownie in it at all.

Conclusion: will absolutely be returning, will be recommending, asking for double scoops of add ins next time.

Helpful?
Thank Bandanachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nielsen's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Nielsen's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing