We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad it was opened on Sunday, not much in St. George is”
Review of Players Sports Grill - CLOSED

Players Sports Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad it was opened on Sunday, not much in St. George is”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed a nice dinner. We had fish tacos and fish and chips. Everything was prepared well and tasty. A variety of bar foods and ribs. Lots of TV sets making this a good sports bar. Our server was attentive and pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    92
    52
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fruit Heights, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best Food in Vicinity”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This restaurant is almost right across the street from the Hilton Garden Inn, and we ate here for dinner the ight of our stay. Great menu (we had salads, as we were running the St George Half Marathon/5K race the next morning, but they had a very good selection), quick/good service, and we'd certainly eat here again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleOfNuts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not your usual St George eatery”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The only place in town I'm aware of that has the big screen tvs, good beer selection (hard alcohol, also) a big bar menu, steaks soups, and salads have always been fresh. The food is better than alot of places similar in Vegas and much better than that Buffalo chain. Only negative; the service is hit and miss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank highlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Food was okay, drinks were bad”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a sports bar/restaurant, and the wife and I went on a night when there wasn't a lot of sporting events that were of interest. Maybe it's good, because the t.v.'s that we were watching were not in HD, which just looks bad when you're used to watching it in high-def.

The server was competent, although she had this look of desperation every time she came to talk to us, as if she was just praying that everything was okay. I work as a server, so it was kind of amusing to me.

The food wasn't too bad. I had fish 'n' chips and the wife had chicken fettucini alfredo. I actually really liked the french fries. They were just regular steak fries, but they had a nice flavor.

We were both really disappointed in the alcohol. The wife and I both ordered flavored mojitos. I tried both and they just tasted like flavored soda water. They were horrible. My wife drank hers, but I sent mine back and got a Long Island Iced Tea instead. It looked really thin like they forgot to add coke or something. But at least it had booze in it, unlike the other one. I just expect the bartenders at a sports bar to be able to make good drinks. These were not. It was very disappointing.

I'm not in St. George too much, so I probably won't be back, but the food was decent, so maybe I will if there is a game I want to watch. Who knows?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mauiwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent food and good variety. Service was pretty good. It is by noisy, but that's what you'd expect from a sports bar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Players Sports Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing