We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I was in town for a conference and was referred to this motel. The front desk manager Steve checked us in and it took 30 minutes. My companion made the reservations with the hotel and assured me it was going to be ok. We showed up 5 minutes after 3 PM and Steve said no rooms were ready. I got the impression that he did not even want to be there talking with us. It seemed as if he didn't even make an effort to help us. This really set my traveling partner off and was the beginning of what ended up being the most horrific hotel stay ever. The swimming pool was freezing with leaves in it and looked to be unsanitary, the breakfast was completely generic, and there never seemed to be any management around to speak with about it. The hotel is understaffed and should be condemned. This will be the last time I stay at any Wyndham Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tnespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2010

I have read your review and see that your stay at the Wingate wasn't up to par. The pool is heated to 82 degrees year round. We did have a wind storm that blew in some leafs but they were cleaned out the following afternoon. We do everything in our power to have rooms ready at 3 pm but due to sold out nights and specific room types needed sometimes they may be a little late on be ready at exactly 3 pm. Our breakfast is right up there with the other hotels in the market. We don't have made to order Breakfast but it is included in the price and has most of the necessities. Steve is our Manager at the Front Desk. As you can see with the other reviews on this page we have pleased most guest here at the hotel. We apologize for the experience you had here at the hotel and hope one day you will be back at a Wyndham hotel. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2010

My wife and I booked a weeks worth of championship golf and accommodations at the Wingate by Wyndham. when we arrived we were greeted by smiles, the entire staff ! It was incredible.they were helpful, courteous,and knowledgeable. they worked hard to make sure everything was top rate. this was by far the best golf vacation my wife and I ever had. everything was ready. the staff went out of there way , it seemed, not just to make us happy, but to make friends. something we had never experienced anywhere else. Special Thanks to: Niki ,at the front desk, always happy, willing to drop what she was doing to make sure we had what we needed. Jonell, prepared the breakfast, and made sure we were satisfied with all we ate, and then some. share very funny stories, always kept us in stitches. Rex, sales manager worked hard to ensure our tee times were exactly the times we needed, at the courses we wanted. Curtis ,hotel manager treated me like we were college buddies,and always had time to listen to my golf tails.. just an awesome stay. no one word could describe it. good job my friends. we will be back again very soon. thank you and God Bless. Mark and Michelle Olguin - Farmington,NM

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

It was great to have you and your wife here with us. We trully do look forward to having you guys back next year. Thanks for the great comments on all of the employees that you came in contact with during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to let us know how we did. It builds us up and wants us to continue to have that hospitality spirit with all of the guests that come through our doors. Take care Mark and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

The staff at this hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel which has only been open for 16 months, is very clean and well looked after. We had a one bdrm suite which was very clean and large. The bathroom was large-granite countertop, very nice tiling, with plenty of extra clean towels. Two HD flat screen tv's, microwave, bar fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, night light. There are laundry facilities for guest use. Free Wifi. The complimentary breakfast is excellent, yours to enjoy in the clean, bright lobby area. There is a small pool and hot tub as well as a small court yard. They booked a couple of tee times for us as well. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilygirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2010

It is great to see that you experienced all of this here in our hotel. We appreciate the review and all the things that you have enjoyed while staying at the Wingate. We hope you have a great day and look forward to having you here next year at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The decor, rooms and bedding were superb. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast was so good with waffles, bacon, eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, bagels, juices, etc. The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The business center and fitness area were open 24/7 and very nice. We've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels. This one ranks right up there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingsuz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2010

We are so pleased to see that our service ranks right up there with the 4 and 5 star hotels that you have stayed in. We are striving to be one of the best hotels in St. George and the reviews keep us focused with the goal that we have for our staff. We appreciate the review and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Have a great weekend and we hope to see you again coming from the North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

If you are traveling to St. George, Utah, do not miss staying at this hotel. The staff is amazing, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfast is good. These people go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. This is a brand new hotel and everything is clean and fresh. It is a real value for the money as well. Don't miss out!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelHopper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2010

We are so excited to see that you had a great stay here at the Wingate in St. George. Our staff does strive to make each stay as enjoyable as possible. I see that you are from Texas and I hope that we get to have you stay again here at the Wingate. We definitely have an awesome value at a great price. Hope you have a great week and be safe in all of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and find ourselves looking forward to going back every time. Customer service, friendliness, and cleanliness are top notch. The staff makes it a point to greet us on a first name basis every stay. We're customers for life!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyguyUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2010

We appreciate your review and the repeat reservations at the hotel. Next time you stop in ask for me and I would like to meet you in person. We appreciate having great guest that make our hotel a place we enjoy being each day. Thanks again and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Unsupervised kids, dirty rooms. I had to ask the desk clerk if the maid would please vacuum the carpet in the room - on day 3 of your stay. Screaming, unsupervised kids running the halls and only one staff person in the place, a young college age gal that was clearly not handling the situation.

I just do not understand how a company can spend the amount of money they must of to open this hotel and then provide such unprofessional service.

The internet has not worked properly for 3 days and no one seems to give a damn.

A dump - don't bother and especially if you are wanting a good night of sleep or you are here on business.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alaskanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

We regret to see that your stay was not up to your expectations here at the Wingate in St. George, UT. As you can see this is not the normal experience here at the hotel by the other reviews of previous guests. We strive to go above and beyond the expectations of every guest that stays at the Wingate. If a guest does have a negative experience we recommend that you contact a member of our experienced management team to help resolve the issue. We will take this comment and strive moving forward in making this hotel a great experience for everyone that comes into the Wingate. Thanks for the review and we hope that you have a great new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 42 in St. George
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 42 in St. George
824 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 42 in St. George
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Address: 144 W Brigham Rd, St. George, UT 84790-7470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range: $88 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing