We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be rated No. 1 hotel in St. George”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The decor, rooms and bedding were superb. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast was so good with waffles, bacon, eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, bagels, juices, etc. The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The business center and fitness area were open 24/7 and very nice. We've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels. This one ranks right up there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingsuz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2010

We are so pleased to see that our service ranks right up there with the 4 and 5 star hotels that you have stayed in. We are striving to be one of the best hotels in St. George and the reviews keep us focused with the goal that we have for our staff. We appreciate the review and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Have a great weekend and we hope to see you again coming from the North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,371 - 1,377 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2010

If you are traveling to St. George, Utah, do not miss staying at this hotel. The staff is amazing, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfast is good. These people go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. This is a brand new hotel and everything is clean and fresh. It is a real value for the money as well. Don't miss out!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelHopper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2010

We are so excited to see that you had a great stay here at the Wingate in St. George. Our staff does strive to make each stay as enjoyable as possible. I see that you are from Texas and I hope that we get to have you stay again here at the Wingate. We definitely have an awesome value at a great price. Hope you have a great week and be safe in all of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and find ourselves looking forward to going back every time. Customer service, friendliness, and cleanliness are top notch. The staff makes it a point to greet us on a first name basis every stay. We're customers for life!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyguyUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2010

We appreciate your review and the repeat reservations at the hotel. Next time you stop in ask for me and I would like to meet you in person. We appreciate having great guest that make our hotel a place we enjoy being each day. Thanks again and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Unsupervised kids, dirty rooms. I had to ask the desk clerk if the maid would please vacuum the carpet in the room - on day 3 of your stay. Screaming, unsupervised kids running the halls and only one staff person in the place, a young college age gal that was clearly not handling the situation.

I just do not understand how a company can spend the amount of money they must of to open this hotel and then provide such unprofessional service.

The internet has not worked properly for 3 days and no one seems to give a damn.

A dump - don't bother and especially if you are wanting a good night of sleep or you are here on business.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alaskanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

We regret to see that your stay was not up to your expectations here at the Wingate in St. George, UT. As you can see this is not the normal experience here at the hotel by the other reviews of previous guests. We strive to go above and beyond the expectations of every guest that stays at the Wingate. If a guest does have a negative experience we recommend that you contact a member of our experienced management team to help resolve the issue. We will take this comment and strive moving forward in making this hotel a great experience for everyone that comes into the Wingate. Thanks for the review and we hope that you have a great new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Just returned from a quick Thanksgiving weekend trip to St. George. My cousin was getting married and selected the Wingate as the venue for the after party.
The hotel is very clean and it is rather cozy. The pool area was pleasant and there are two computers with free internet. I worked out in the gym twice and was very happy. The cardio equipment has tv's attached and there was also a large flat screen on the wall.
The hotel room was very clean & modern. There was a large flat television and the beds were comfy. The bathroom features general bath products, but dons a luxurious granite countertop, a ritzy touch. One downside is that we didn't feel there was enough space to hang some of our clothes and swimming suits.
We were very pleased with the free breakfast. The waffles were great and the buffet also featured two other hot items each day, usually eggs and some meat like sausage or bacon. The eating area is very nice, with plenty of tables and flat screen televisions to keep you entertained if your breakfast conversation becomes dull.
The hotel has a partnership with Basila's Mediterranean Restaurant and therefore they catered the dinner for the event after the wedding ceremony earlier that day. Our group of about 65 was in the Kalahari Room and everything worked out perfectly in my opinion; everything went smoothly, from the set up to clean up. The food was great and the service was first-class. If you are considering a meeting/event venue, I would highly recommend the Wingate.
Being it was the Thanksgiving weekend, it felt like the hotel was understaffed, but it did not phase them! The hotel was full of soccer teams plus other guests, thus being a pretty full house. Roberto was fantastic and single-handedly ran the breakfast buffet, keeping it stocked even with the full house. Elizabeth at the front desk was very nice. But the best staff member I encountered was Steve. He is a hardworking guy and was super nice to me and my family; arguably one of the best staff members at a hotel I have ever met in all of my travels - he was awesome!
All in all, the Wingate comes highly recommended. When we return to St. George, I will ensure we stay at the Wingate! The employees sealed the deal!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

What a review! We love to see that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel including Basila's. I believe this is the first review to truly go into detail of all the amenities at the hotel including our function rooms. One thing that we strive on to have is the best staff for our guests. It is an honor to see names mentioned in this review and given specifics of what they did to cater to the needs of the guests. We are truly grateful for the review and taking the time to let us know of your experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again and hope you have a great Holiday Season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

From the moment we stepped in the door, until the very end we were treated like gold. The manager Rex McArthur, greeted us, with a smile, checked us in, and was so professional, warm, and friendly. Our room was spotless! As the entire Hotel was. We highly recommend this Hotel, they even allowed us to keep our cake in their refrigerator! We spent 3 days in this Hotel, and the staff was consistantly polite, and accomodating. We enjoyed lunch pool side on their nice patio tables. Very comfortable for all age groups which we had from child to older adults. We cannot say enough good compliments about this hotel, our stay was excellent!! Thank you Rex!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisypatch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2009

It is so great to see what a wonderful stay you had at the Wingate Hotel. Rex does an awesome job with taking care of our guests right along with the rest of the staff. We love to hear your comment and can't wait to see you next year. Rex will still be here with the other staff for years to come since we all love the atmosphere and the guests that come to the Wingate hotel. Have a great Thanksgiving and we will be waiting for you next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My husband and I had stayed at the Wingate by Wyndham in St. George before, and did not hesitate to make our return reservation with them.

The hotel rooms were very clean and enjoyed having the microwave and refrigerator in the room.

The staff at the hotel are wonderful and always accomodating - a definate asset to your hotel.

Enjoyed the full breakfast in the morning as well.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senior43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Managaer at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

Glad to see that the microwave and mini-fridge were of use during your stay here at the Wingate in St. George UT. We work hard on keeping this hotel clean and fresh for all of our guests. The breakfast is wonderful and we just added hashbrowns to the menu. It is great to see you guys return to the hotel and hope to see you many more times. Thanks again for letting the rest of us know what a great hotel we have. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#6 of 43 in St. George
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 43 in St. George
837 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 43 in St. George
833 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Address: 144 W Brigham Rd, St. George, UT 84790-7470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range: $89 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing