We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy AC, otherwise a very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

When the airconditioner started up, I thought there was an airplane in the room. Had to get up and turn it off, as there is only one speed - noisy! . There is no reason except low cost to use cheap through the wall AC units in a nice hotel. The guest suffers.

Leaf blowers used by gardeners at 6:30 am are not a pleasant sound when you are trying to sleep. When advised, front desk staff claimed no knowledge and said that the gardeners were hired by the center, not them so they had no control.

Room was very nice, breakfast area and food were also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDeskSup, Assistant Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2009

Thank you for your comments, I would like to let you know that once I was notified about the gardeners I contacted the Courtyard Assocation. They have talked with the gardeners and they will no longer be working that early.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,338 - 1,344 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed over 4th of July and visited Zion Nat'l Park. We work for an upscale hotel and this is one of the nicest I've stayed in. Brand new. The rooms are beautiful. Modern decor, granite countertops, and awesom beds. The pool is small, but our kids loved it. The website said it was heated, but it definitely wasn't! The free breakfast is also great, especially for families. Make your own waffles, bagels, english muffins, eggs, bacon, yogurt, juices, etc. I believe the hotel caters more to business travels because it wasn't very busy over the weekend. This made it even better! I highly recommend this hotel. Only 45 mins to Zion.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank apistana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2009

1st and foremost we are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay here at the Wingate by Wyndham in St. George, UT. I must admit that the pool at 84 degrees does feel cool when the air temperature is 105 degrees. Trust me I know! This hotel is great because we are able to cater to the business travelers on the weekdays and then to the families on the weekends that come to visit Southern Utah and all that it has to offer such as the National Parks. Thanks for the great comment and we hope to see you again at the Wingate by Wyndham in beautiful St. George, UT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I had never visited this area before and were so impressed by everything the Wingate offered us on our beginning trip through the canyons of the Southwest. The checkin was easy, the room spacious and clean. We especially enjoyed the pool and spa after a hot day's hike through the spectacular Zion Canyon.The workout area was much appreciated. Good equipment well maintained right next to the pool. The morning breakfast was more than ordinary in the light and airy breakfast area in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickisue54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2009

Thanks for visiting Wingate by Wyndham St. George as the Southern Utah location for visiting the canyons and the parks close by. We are glad to see that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and that you were able to relax after a hike in the hot sun. We hope to see you down the road! Have a great Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Just a quick getaway with my wife with nothing but relaxation in mind. The hotel was new, very clean and beautiful. There is a gorgeous, nicely secluded pool/hot tub area with lots of palm trees--it's kind of like a little grotto--there was soft music playing--we really enjoyed it! Fabulous rooms--wonderful beds with great sheets and down conforters. Our room had a nice flat screen TV. They've also got a pretty good exercise room right off the pool area. Breakfast was quite good--overall a really nice time! Oh, and they have a couple of good restaurants right nearby. Great staff and a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProvoSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2009

It is great to hear that you treated yourself to the pool/hot tub area here at the Wingate by Wyndham. The hotel is only 8 months old so it still has that "Newness" throughout it. We appreciate you visiting us here in St. George and hope that you come again. Once again, thanks for visiting the Wingate by Wyndham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

The room was large and clean, the service excellent, and the breakfast wonderful. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Thank you again, for allowing us the opportunity to provide our service and hospitality to you during your stay with us at the Wingate by Wyndham. We are very please that you gave us the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have here in lovely St. George and we do understand that their is a lot of choices and we are extremely happy you choose us. We hope to see you again very soon have a wonderful day!!


Sincerely,

Tim James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We very much enjoyed our three nites in your facilities. We arrived from Las Vegas on Wednesday afternoon June 17th and used the hotel as our base of sightseeing for Zion National Park and numerous local area attractions until leaving on the 20th of June. After long days of hiking/touring, we looked forward to returning to our hotel room and the pool for some relaxing quiet time. The staff was most pleasant, the rooms were very well appointed, and the breakfast was very good. I would like to ask one favor of you if I could. I left a new pair of jeans and a Cabela's liteweight hooded sweatshirt in the upper dresser drawer of our suite(118). I would really appreciate it if they could be returned to me if at all possible. The sweatshirt is a past fathers day gift from my daughter. I will pay all postages due. Address is 3041 209th Lane NW. Oak Grove, Minnesota 55011. Again thanks to all of the staff at the St. George Wingate for a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddhunterOakGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeWingate, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2009

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Wingate by Wyndham as the hub to all the National Parks and other local attractions. We have your items that you left in the hotel and will be mailing them to you. Once again we would like to thank you for visiting Southern Utah and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We only stayed for one night enroute to California, but the hotel was superb for the price we paid. Very new feeling, very friendly staff, large room with roomy bathroom and closets, and a perfect complimentary breakfast. There wasn't anything bad about this hotel. There was a good fitness center and pool area, as well.

One thing you need to know is that it is not pet friendly and is a non-smoking hotel. The non-smoking is great for me but many people have pets they take on trips with them.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmeisterAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2015

Thank you again, for allowing us the opportunity to provide our service and hospitality to you during your stay with us at the Wingate by Wyndham. We are very please that you gave us the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have here in lovely St. George and we do understand that their is a lot of choices and we are extremely happy you choose us. We hope to see you again very soon have a wonderful day!!


Sincerely,

Tim James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 42 in St. George
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 42 in St. George
805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 42 in St. George
812 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Address: 144 W Brigham Rd, St. George, UT 84790-7470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range: $96 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing