We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
TOOELE
1 review
“Nice stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is clean and well decorated. I enjoy the rooms as well as the free breakfast in the morning. The hotel is located in a convenient location with nice amenities near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank JACLYNN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time out of your day to post a review. I hope we see you again soon!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    322
    87
    29
    12
See reviews for
506
343
55
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PALISADE
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything was wonderful except the swimming pool and hot tub. They were both full of leaves and dirt. Someone came out to clean the pool out at one point and worked for about 3 minutes then left. The pool and hot tub were both very unappealing and really did not match the rest of the quality experience. One more thing...small pillows on the bed were not comfortable. Regular bed pillows would be much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank SUSAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize about the condition of the pool at the time of your stay. Due to the trees surrounding our pool area, it can get a little messy when the wind picks up. We normally stay on top of this and keep the debris out of the water. I am sorry that we let this slip when you were here. Our goal is to keep every aspect of the hotel appealing to our guests.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The day we checked in, the desk clerk told us our room was on 2nd floor, I had requested the 4th floor in my online reservation. She gave us room 205 and asked if that is okay, and then smiled sweetly and said that is the only one they had left. VERY NOISY!!!! This room is right above the lobby and over the parking lot. We heard all the luggage carts go by, the breakfast noise, the waffle iron beep all morning. The maid was knocking on the door asking to clean the room at 8:00 am --maybe that was our mistake not to let her in at that time - they don't put a lot of effort into cleaning later in the day. The same soap bar (not ours) was in the shower and stuff on the floor during our whole 3 day stay. Our main gripe, was that, upon returning to our room later in the evening, we found our door was 1 inch ajar. Thankfully, no items were missing and we had our valuables with us, but we did not appreciate having our stuff exposed to anyone who could just walk into our room. The pool and whirlpool was dirty the first two nights – they finally swept out the debris the last day we were there. Minor pet-peeve, the TV channels are not coordinated with the actual TV stations. In general the rooms were a very nice size. The beds were comfortable and the fridge and microwave were a nice addition. The breakfast area was good. We chose this hotel because it is in a quiet area of Hwy 15 and the outside traffic noise is quiet – it is the inside that made sleeping difficult.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madwisctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I would like to apologize about the troubles you experienced at our hotel. Your door being ajar is unacceptable. You should feel nothing if not safe and secure in our hotel. We use key-activated exterior doors, 24-hour reception staff, and in-room safes to ensure security for our guests and their belongings. I have printed your review and we are using it for re-training our staff. I would also like to apologize that we did not honor your request to be on the fourth floor and that housekeeping did not do a satisfactory job in cleaning your room. Again, all of these issues are being addressed with our staff as we strive to train our people to provide the best experience possible to our guests.

Thank you again for your review. We need to recieve feedback to know where we can improve.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is only my 2nd Wingate stay and this property continued my good feeling about the chain. Check in felt slightly upscale with a pleasant lobby and helpful, friendly desk clerk. Rooms have dark brown hues and marble accents which are appealing to my taste, especially here in Red Rock country. Flat screen TV and 37-channel selection that included Fox News but not MSNBC...and 3 ESPN stations. Complimentary parking, internet, in-room coffee (Wolfgang Puck pods), mini refrigerator and microwave all provided. Our 1st room was 222 but we found the lock did not secure the door tightly, so they relocated us to 409 which felt about 20% bigger (with same 2-bed configuration). I am assuming 4th floor has larger rooms. Outdoor pool and hot tub were clean and good temperatures, though it felt weird to have to go to the front desk to obtain the pool towels (which I assume have had some prior theft problems?) Tip: excellent bottled water is in the exercise room if you are refilling your water bottles. Complimentary breakfast was the nicest surprise as it offered freshly scrambled eggs with real sausages or bacon and several selections of yogurt (along with the usual juices, cereals, and coffee). They even kept the yogurt and cereal available for over an hour past the posted breakfast time ... and coffee available all day. Pillows are small and square so you have to stack the 3 or 4 of them at times...A/C had about a 3 minute delay from the time I set it to to the time it kicked in. As others have noted it is a little hard to find using the Brigham Rd exit off the I-15 (west of freeway and several interesting traffic circles). It is an easy walk thru the courtyard to a fun Mexican restaurant, Peppers....and Walmart just a parking lot away. I did park under a small tree and found sap on the windshield the next day, so beware of this nusiance. We stayed 2 nts here and 2 nts at the Country Inn in St. George and would come back here first if price and location were not significant factors. The Wingate neighborhood is much quieter and easier to navigate, as it is on the south entrance to St.George one exit shy of the Dixie Convention Center.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms seems about 20% larger. Some rooms have nice view of pool below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the great, in-depth review! I am so glad that you were able to get the 'full-experience' at the Wingate - St. George. Please come and see us again next time you are in the area.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

CLEANLINESS: Night we arrived, there was a lot of wind and some rain. This left the pool dirty. We told front desk person who said she would take care of it right away. It was still that way the next day. LOCATIONX: The hotel is not well marked and not easy to find. SLEEP QUALITY: The square pillows didn't work for one of our party--just not enough pillow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank soderkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you posting your review. We love our mature trees but they can make a mess in the pool when the wind picks-up. I am sorry that we didn't take care of that the first time you brought it to our attention. Thank you for staying with us!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We checked in late and was given a room on the main floor, as the clerk said they were really booked solid. Well, the room was really cold w/the A/C on, so we turned it off and as we sat in the room for about an hour, we noticed a horrible smell. It smelled like dog or cat urine as the room got warmer. It was really bad and started to affect my throat. So, I went to the lobby and told them at the front desk and they couldn't believe it, as no cat's or dog's are allowed in the hotel. Whatever it was , it was not good. So, they moved us to another room. The carpeting really needs replaced in the hallways and the rooms. It was pretty disgusting and a big grease mark right outside the the second room they assigned to us. Otherwise, the rooms were clean and they did respond to our concern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cougshela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am so sorry for the issues that you had to experience while you were here. We have just removed the air unit from each room and cleaned them. We also just had our carpets professionally cleaned. We appreciate your feedback. Please come and see us again to see the improvements we are making.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The service was great, the rooms were in excellent conditions, the beds were very comfortable, the breakfast was very good. While it was not close to downtown, there are a lot of businesses and restaurants around.

I believe it was designed more for business travelers, and the swimming pool was rather small. There were a lot of families with little kids, so we did not get a chance to use the pool.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, and the accomodations were much better than expected from hotels within that price range. We will definitely stay there again, if we ever go to the St. George area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 41 in St. George
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
1.8 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#10 of 41 in St. George
519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 41 in St. George
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Property: Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Address: 144 W Brigham Rd, St. George, UT 84790-7470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing