We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel - Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel - Good Value”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights while conducting business in SG. It was very comfortable and clean with a good breakfast. Easy freeway access. It is worth the extra few dollars over a tired older hotel. No complaints.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RSinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on our hotel with Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments. We hope that you will choose us again next time you are in St. George for business or for leisure.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    332
    89
    30
    14
See reviews for
533
358
60
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Clean hotel, right off the highway. Walking distance to excellent pizza joint, Wendy's, Dickie's and WalMart. Fridge and microwave in room are convenient. Rooms are clean. Pool area was small, but big enough for us. Shaded in the afternoon which made it nice to not have to worry about sunscreen while the kids played. Management and staff for friendly and helpful. We stayed as part of a softball tournament closer to Snow Canyon. This wasn't the closest hotel to the complex, but the 10 minute drive was easy and we enjoyed the scenery along the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJFULTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about your stay with us! I am so glad that your stay was a good one. Our staff works hard to make sure that everyone has a great experience at our hotel and we love to see positive response. We hope you will come and see us again for the next tournament, we love teams!

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Tuacahn theatre package. It was very clean, we stayed in a king suite, with a separate living room which was great for the kids to sleep in. The pool area is fairly small with a lot of shade. Great location close to the freeway exit, Walmart is next door.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for only a couple more dollars a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colenkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for posting your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the upgraded suite. Please come and see us again next time you are in St. George.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is the third time we've stayed at the Wingate in St. George and it has been consistantly good every time. Rooms are always clean, comfortable with nice ammenities.

We have only had good service from the staff and I appreciated that the desk person had actually read and followed up on the special request I had made in advance (definitely not the case for stays at some other hotels). Also someone immediately fixed the Internet connection in the Business Center when I mentioned it was down.

Breakfast, as mentioned before, is the standard hotel fare: waffles, cereal, eggs, sausage, coffee--all just OK. Food was quickly restocked when it ran low.

Some people seem dissappointed with the pool but having used it for the first time this trip, I thought it was very pleasant, clean and just the right size for my 5-year old (a lap pool this is not).

We will definitely stay here again the next time we pass through St. George.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originalmadshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments and for your repeat business! It is our hope and goal that once people try our hotel they will want to come back again. We are so happy you enjoy our hotel and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Wingate had a great rate (one of the best I could find online) and it seemed nice from the website (3 nights, 30% discount prepaid rate).
I was not disappointed.
The hotel is clean with some luxury touches including stonework on the floors, granite in the bathroom, and clean colored hues. The beds are very comfortable and the television is modern. The hotel is also very quiet -- it sits off a freeway interchange, but in a grove of trees in a pleasant strip mall area (a WalMart is within walking distance).
I'm not sure of what all the fuss was about in previous reviews about the pool and service. Front desk staff is friendly -- and the pool is in a very nice location allowing for some shade in the afternoon when temps climbed well into the 100s.
the breakfast is very good (especially the waffles) and a friendly lady keeps everything clean, organized and stocked. The free internet works great and the fitness center is sufficient.
So, all in all, if you are looking for a good value and the best for your money in St George stay at the Wingate. I don't know why the LaQuinta ranks #1 in St George (before Wingate), it sits behind a Pilot gas station along the freeway. The Wingate is the best option in St George (unless you can afford the Inn at Entrada). Stay there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEFFfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you so much for the time you took to share your thoughts. We appreciate your kind comments. The staff and I are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We love to hear that you enjoyed the accomodations and breakfast, and we are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the service. We feel that we truly do have the best value for your money when it comes to hotels in St. George. We are working very hard to make sure that every guest's stay is great. Please come and see us again next time you are in the area.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

OK, for the positives:
THe hotel is very nice & clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We have 3 little girls under 5 yrs old and the room with 2 queens was spacious, nice set up. The work out room is 24 hrs and is small but was never crowded (treadmill, eliptical, bike, free weights & one of those big machines you can work any part of your body with!)
The location is good. WalMart is across the street in case you need anything you forgot or snacks for the trip! There are a few restaurants on that exit but really St. George is not very big. YOu can get anywhere in 10-15 minutes so not a problem. The gas station next door also has the best price in town that I saw.
It's really everything to expect from a nice, affordable hotel.
So, why wouldn't I stay there again...
We came for some sunshine and the pool is situated in a way that after about 3pm there is no sun at the pool. Not that it's really cold since the weather is warm, but everything is shaded. For me, that wasn't ideal. The front desk has "pool towels". THey are a little bigger than hand towels, not as big as a regular bath towel. Luckily we had friends staying at a condo and spent all weekend at their pool and bought some towels at WalMart.
Breakfast - I"m not a fanatic, but I like a healthy breakfast. They have the COOLEST waffle maker ever. Not that waffles are usually healthy, but the mix that is there is like cake mix! Pretty sugary. The eggs...are not real eggs. I had to put lots of condiments to get them down. They have bagels, dry cereal, eggs, sausage or bacon and waffles along with juice, water, tea & coffee. Oh and yogurt and apples/oranges. So it's really good, I think the fake egg thing just threw me because I missed my morning protein.
The only other thing is that the carpets need cleaning. I'm still in the diaper changing years so maybe since I had a towel on the floor as I changed, I noticed more than someone else.
So really a nice place. But the reason I go to St. George is for sun/pool so this would not be my first choice next time.

Room Tip: End room away from elevator and ice machine is bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
First, I want to thank your for comments. It is the only way that we can know how we are doing. I am so sorry to hear about your disappointment with the pool. We never like to come up short with anyone's expectations. The pool location is one of those things that we, unfortunately don't have control over. It is something that some people enjoy and other don't. If your intent in coming to St. George was to 'soak up some rays' then I can understand your frustrations.

I also wanted to apologize for the carpets in your room. We want to make every effort to ensure everyone's room is clean and inviting. We are in the process of getting those cleaned and the room you stayed in was obviously one that we haven't reached yet.

Again, I thank you for the time you took to give us your honest feedback.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here on the Friday night of Memorial Day weekend. After a very long day of driving from Moab to St George, we were delighted to discover that this a sparkling new hotel with large rooms, modern decor, really nice facilities, a wonderful breakfast area and friendly desk staff. And it shares a nice garden area with three restaurants, all kid-friendly.

However, at twenty minutes to four on Saturday morning, we also discovered that Wyndham really skimped on the sound-proofing of the rooms. The family in the room next door had a fussy toddler who awoke crying and proceeded to scream for the next hour as the poor mom and dad tried to cope. We heard e-v-e-r-y word. I would have expected a little better sound insulation in a place this new.

Overall I'd still stay here again. It's good value and well located. Just beware of the noise factor.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATravelogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4356739608, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham St. George, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. I am so glad to read that, for the most part your stay was a pleasant one.

I wanted to apologize for the interruption to your sleep. I know that it is a very frustrating to be awakened in the middle of the night. I truly am sorry that this was part of your experience at our hotel.

Mark Stoddard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
1.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 42 in St. George
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 42 in St. George
784 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#11 of 42 in St. George
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St. George

Property: Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Address: 144 W Brigham Rd, St. George, UT 84790-7470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. George
#5 Family Hotel in St. George
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham St. George is just 3 years new offering contemporary style with oversized rooms with your choice of one King bed or two Queen beds or our Two Room Suites with a King Bed and sofa bed. Your stay includes a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, milk, breads, cereal and extras. We are conveniently located for those visiting Zion National Park, Tuacahn Amphitheatre, Dixie State College and Southern Utah activities. Our courtyard and complex area includes a Super Wal-Mart, multiple restaurants, bank, gas stations, dry cleaners and nail salons. We offer airport shuttle to the St. George Airport. All rooms include flat screen TV, High Speed Internet, Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, In-Room Safe and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Hotel St. George
Wingate St George
St George Wingate
Wingate By Wyndham St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing