We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel - but don't expect it to be a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn St. George
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in St. George
Reviewed October 11, 2008

This was my first stay in a Fairfield Inn (I'm a big Marriott fan), as there weren't any alternative Marriotts available on the single night I wanted.

The hotel was a motel really - but, clean, easy parking, well maintained rooms and right next to the freeway (and well advertised to help you find it). I think that it has everything you'd expect for the price range it is in.

Breakfast was busy but we still found space - though the choice was a little limited compared to a full service hotel - but much better than the few other American motels I have stayed in. It had a hot sandwich choice (microwaved) or some cereals/sweetcakes/toast. The hotel seemed to be popular amongst senior citizens, which I know will attract some and not others - but does lead to a polite level of conversation. The pool looked small but ok - we didn't visit as it was too late when we arrived.

For food in the evening we went to the Players Sports Grill just next to the hotel, which was recommended by the hotel staff. That was very nice and I'd recommend to anyone looking for an easy bite to eat - great service and very tasty food (though not entirely cheap) and the portions seemed small for American standards - having said that my steak was one of the best I've ever had.

Staff were friendly enough and polite, though I'd expect that as I'm a Marriott Platinum member so that comes with certain expectations. I was also impressed with their restaurant choice, and knowledge of the local area when we were asking questions to choose our meal for the evening.

Would I stay again - I don't think I'll stay at a Fairfield Inn in the future as I think that it isn't quite what I'd normally expect from a hotel, but, if you normally enjoy staying in motels then this is definitely a step up and a good quality motel!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn St. George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2008

They have renovated since last year when we came. The girls at the desk are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We enjoy the breakfast waffles a lot. The room was comfortable and very clean. The hotel does not have as many amenities as a full service MArriott, but for the price it was a great value. It is near th ehighway so we can get around St. George, an dwe can walk across the street to the convention center for my conference.
we come every year.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank STUGOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn at St Goerge UT. and this had been the first time that I had used this hotel chain, I had found that the room was ok and the hotel its self was just fine, but tha staff lacked any respect for the customers, I was taking part in the morning meal that the hotel provide for the guest, when I bit in to a moldy Jimmy Dean breakfest sandwich,I reported it to the satff but they didnt do any thing. When I was ask by the staff at check out I told them the stay was alright up to the part about the moldy food, then thats when the girl who could not had been much older than 22 started to laugh at me, and didnt stop, I didnt think it was funny at the time I bit into the sandwich nor at check out. Beware of this hotel, I have three combat patches and I'm sure theres alot more poeple out there other than me that has paid there dues and dont need to be treated like this.
Good luck

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscoColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I try stay at Marriott's when i have the choice, and have been to high end Marriott Resorts and average hotels and this one is well maintained, good condition, and convenient, nothing fancy, just a nice clean place to stay for a night, would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

Read the mixed reviews and I can see now why they were. On the surface, this Fairfield Inn seems pretty OK. And they do some things pretty well. The beds looked so inviting with cozy duvets and lots of squishy pillows. But sleeping on the hard mattresses was a different story. The room seemed clean, but the phone was grimy; there was a curler under our heater; the bathroom was not quite sparkling. The "free" local phone service, which we tried to access, never did work. And, in agreement with another writer, the TV was small and in an inconvenient place in the room. And yes, the bathroom fan does sound like a 747 about to land. We stayed 2 nights. After the maid service on day 2, the beds were merely pulled up - sheets not even smoothed and not changed. The pillows were just tossed somewhat into place. I could have done a better job myself. And, also after that "service", the towels in the bathroom were placed on the back of the toilet, rather than hung, and I don't think the bathroom was serviced at all. Just towel replacement.

And this hotel suffers from what many do - the ever-banging room doors. Can't anyone figure out how to make them close without slamming? And of course, no one around us made any attempt to soften the slam.

Big foot was staying above us..or..maybe not...perhaps the floors were so thin that every step could be heard by us below.

The staff at the front desk were friendly enough, but again, did not look professional, wearing sweatshirts. I would think Marriott would require better than that.

The breakfast was nice and nicely put out, and kept full the 2 times I partook. There was a good variety of cereals, sweets, waffles, egg sandwiches, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juices.

Free high-speed internet worked well.

Proximity to the convention center was convenient.

So, this place is just so-so. We got a pretty good price. But, with all the other places to stay in St. George, I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Splanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2006

I've stayed in a lot of Fairfield Inns and this one is one of the best. It was very clean in all the areas from the parking lot to the lobby. Our room was very comfortable and the continental breakfast was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

The bed and the pillows were very uncomfortable. The bathroom fan sounded like a jet engine and the bedside lamp didn't work. The TV was really small. Very low toilets. The breakfast in the morning was ok. Average selection but the OJ was sludgy.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarabeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
#9 of 43 in St. George
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Convention Center
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. George
TownePlace Suites St. George
#22 of 43 in St. George
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard St. George
Courtyard St. George
#16 of 43 in St. George
329 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 43 in St. George
900 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn St. George

Address: 1660 S Convention Center Dr, St. George, UT 84790-6752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in St. George
Price Range: $118 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn by Marriott offers clean comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. Great features such as deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed internet, outdoor pool/spa/fitness center are just some of the reasons why guests choose Fairfield Inn. Earn points towards airline tickets, nights stay at a Marriott and other prizes when you sign up for Marriott rewards program. Nearby: Dixie College, LDS Temple, Lake Powell and Quail Creek State Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St. George Hotel St. George
Fairfield St. George
St. George Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing