We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B next to Zion National Park”
Review of Desert Thistle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Thistle
Ranked #1 of 4 Rockville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2008

This wonderful B&B is located in a quiet residential area close to the southern entrance to Zion National Park. We stayed there for a few nights and were very impressed by the inn itself and its owners. Maureen and Warner are two very warm and delightful people who helped make this a very special visit. They recently turned this lovely home into a B&B and are gracious and helpful hosts. The room was very comfortable with a nice king bed with lots of pillows, fridge with bottles of water, flat screen TV and Jacuzzi. The hot breakfasts were at a reasonable time, were very good and always included some fresh fruits.

We would recommend this B&B to anyone going to Zion who was looking for a high quality B&B that is very close to the park. We would definitly go there the next time we visit the area and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rafagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2008

We feel very fortunate to have stayed at Desert Thistle. Just driving by, one can tell it is a lovely, well-maintained "home".. We had called many of the B and B's in the area, and even though they had vacancies, they would only take reservations for a minimum of two nights! The Thistle accepted our one night stay, and never asked for payment until we were almost ready to leave!
Maureen & Warner have remodeled their home and decorated it just beautifully, homey accents, huge backyard pool, even a penned goat, dear Willie!! We were given an upgraded room at no extra expense, because they wanted to be sure we wouldn't be bothered by any noise from very minor construction--believe me there was no noise at all. We had a refrigerator in the room complete with two complimentary bottles of water--huge modern bathroom, with (I think ) a jacuzzi tub!!(we didn't use it). Oh yes, a king-sized bed--oodles of pillows.
The home is close enough to Zion by car, and more quiet than staying in the town just outside the park--less congested, very residential.
Breakfast very nice, at a very reasonable time. We do hope to make it to Zion again next yr., as we still have more to experience there, and will make sure we make our reservations for the Desert Thistle EARLY!--
A plus for us is that Maureen is Scottish, and was able to give us many ideas about our upcoming trip to Scotland!
I'm sure you will do well if you choose The Desert Thistle!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exit63terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Already on first acquaintance we were touched by the hospitality and warm-hearted hostess and host Mrs & Mr Maureen and Warner Edgel.
The bedroom was nice, clean and comfortable.
The bathroom was provided with delightful products.
The next morning we were pampered with a delicious breakfast.
Just impeccable
This is a place to visit again!
Laurent and Lut Van den Bulcke - Belgium.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent_and_Lut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Desert Thistle in early October and had a wonderful experience. After trying to book a place in Zion to no avail, we discovered this B&B in nearby Rockville (only 10 minutes away) and booked a room. To sum the experience up, we were very pleasantly surprised. The house was very clean, well maintained and nicely decorated. Maureen and Warner provided a very friendly, family-like environment and gave us great recommendations for local restaurants and sight-seeing. A word of note, we recommend bringing a couple of your favorite DVD's since every room has its own player and Zion's night life is, understandably, non-existent. All in all, it was the perfect place to retire to after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mashuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Desert Thistle is a very comfortable B&B. The owners, Maureen and Warner are very friendly. The room we stayed in had a comfortable king bed, private bath, LCD TV with satellite and wireless for internet access. In the morning we were served a hearty breakfast and we got to meet the other guests. There is also a nice swimming pool in the back. Stayed one night and went to Zion the next day. Rockville is quiet and is about five minutes from Zion.
Will definitely stay at the Desert Thistle again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gone727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

The Desert Thistle is a wonderful B&B located less than 5-10 minutes from the entrance to Zion. The house is kept very clean and the owners give you the option of having your room and bathroom cleaned everyday. The breakfast is great but doesn't change at all...so if you stay for a few nights, you might get a little bored. Nonetheless, it tastes fabulous. The best part about this B&B is the couple who runs it, Maureen and Warner. They are both so personable that the environment created at the Desert Thistle is extremely warm and inviting. We had such a great time and can't wait to return.

Boise, ID

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvsidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Desert Thistle is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Zion National Park. Just a few minutes outside of Springdale, the location provides easy access to the park without the crowds of Springdale. The owners, Maureen and Warner, go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable in their lovely home. Rooms are spacious. Breakfasts are delicious. Free WiFi access is a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DHPColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
3.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
#2 of 4 in Rockville
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amber Inn B&B
Amber Inn B&B
#4 of 4 in Rockville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#3 of 5 in Zion National Park
968 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Desert Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Thistle

Address: 37 W Main St, Rockville, UT 84763-7739
Location: United States > Utah > Rockville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rockville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Desert Thistle Rockville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing