We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Desert Thistle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Thistle
Ranked #1 of 4 Rockville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We took a trip to celebrate my 50th birthday and started in Vegas. the Thistle was a treat, we got up early, hiked the park then retreated to the private pool. Comfortable rooms and super food, wonderful.

Room Tip: every room was a gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardinal988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Maureen and Warner own the most wonderful house! The rooms are perfectly decorated and offer a good night's sleep in the very comfy beds. The common areas of the house are most welcoming (you can make yourself a cuppa if you need one) and the pool is absolutely perfect. The hosts are very friendly and enjoy a chat. They obviously care about the wellbeing of their guests. Upon arrival we were a little surprised to learn that they had stopped cooking breakfast for their guests, but now hand out vouchers to go and have breakfast in a few local restaurants. However, this turned out fine since the given addresses serve very tasty breakfast indeed. We had a wonderful three days at the Desert Thistle and highly recommend this place since it is very good value for the money and very close to Zion NP.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Desert Thistle back in May for 3 nights,it was our first trip to Zion.The host,Warner and Maureen our wonderful people!There are many places to visit in the USA and when I return to Zion it will be to the Desert Thistle.I am looking forward to seeing Warner and Maureen in the near future!I also agree with Eric,that you cannot please all the travelers no matter what you do! Thanks Warner and Maureen!!! Scott and Jane

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I travel regularly and I have to say, we had an absolutely wonderful experience at Desert Thistle. Warner and Maureen were just perfect hosts. The rooms are perfectly clean, beautiful, and the bed was so comfortable that it was hard to get out of in the morning! I really have no idea why someone would give this place a bad review - I guess you can't please everyone, but the owners really put their hearts and souls into this place and it shows. The grounds are very well kept, there are humming birds that visit the feeders and flowers all day long and the interior is comfortable and very well maintained. The breakfast is in town at one of the two resteraunts that you get a voucher for. We ate at Oscar's and the food was awesome. We will be back and have already told our friends about where to stay when visiting Zion. This is a must stay!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful - can't go wrong. We stayed in the Anneversary Suite and the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mth6275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Desert Thistle is in a perfect location for visiting Zion, being away from the busy main entrance but within easy driving distance of the Park. Set just back from the main road the accommodation is quiet and deceptively large with a very nice swimming pool in the rear garden and plenty of room to relax on the sun loungers provided.

The owners do their best to make you feel welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. You should not expect hotel-size accommodation whilst staying in a Bed and Breakfast but our room was of a decent size, spotlessly clean and was perfect for our needs. As other reviewers have mentioned, a voucher is provided for breakfast at a nearby restaurant and this is ideal as you can dine whenever you want and order as much or as little as you need.

We only stayed one night at this location but would have happily stayed for longer if circumstances had been different. If you are looking for accommodation in the Zion area you need look no further than this lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently and it was like home from home. Maureen and Warner are the perfect hosts and made our stay very special, nothing was too much trouble, and we were even able to catch up on laundry which was really kind as we had been travelling for almost 2 weeks. The bedroom was spacious, comfortable and very nicely decorated. The location is ideal for visiting Zion National Park and Warner was very helpful with suggestions for our visit. The pool on our return from Zion was so welcome in the extreme heat. If we are ever visiting that part of the US again we will definitely return. Thank you Maureen and Warner.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeHaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This a great place to stay for trips into Zion. We stayed one night in the Anniversary Suite and it was absolutely wonderful. There is a nice Jacuzzi bath in the room for a romantic evening. The bedroom was very well decorated and a high attention to detail and comfort. The bed was big and extremely comfortable and fun to get in and out of! The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome in the house. The pool is also nice to relax in during the hot part of the afternoon. Breakfast in the morning is great because you get vouchers to eat at a local restaurant of your choosing. We choose Oscars and the food there is excellent. The voucher is a nice idea because it allows guests to have breakfast whenever they feel like it.

We would highly recommend this B&B and definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethan_en_Saskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
3.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#6 of 17 in Springdale
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
2 Cranes Inn - Zion
#2 of 4 in Rockville
40 reviews
12.0 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#3 of 5 in Zion National Park
964 reviews
11.2 mi away
Zion Suites Of Hildale
Zion Suites Of Hildale
#1 of 3 in Hildale
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Thistle

Address: 37 W Main St, Rockville, UT 84763-7739
Location: United States > Utah > Rockville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rockville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Desert Thistle Rockville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing