We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoots

Shoots
Ranked #26 of 295 Restaurants in Provo
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten at Shoots probably 100 times. I've gone with family, friends, for business, special nights out with my husband and even by myself! Takeout is always a family favorite! The owner is a great man! I met Gary when I lived in Hong Kong 20+ years ago. He was a great chef there and runs a great restaurant here. Some of the dishes may be a little American Chinese but there are several dishes that are truly Chinese. Gary is friendly, accommodating, loves his restaurant and it shows!

Living in Hong Kong and eating many delicious foods was wonderful. Gary does a fabulous job bringing Hong Kong "home".

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than PF Changs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hands down, favorite place to get Chinese food in the Valley!!! You're getting PF Chang's quality and style of cooking but you get larger servings at a comparable or lesser price. When we go with a large group we ALWAYS order the Bobo Platter as an appetizer. This is the most fun thing you can order as it has a little tiki head and a flame in the middle. So cool! Of course the appetizers themself are amazing as well! We also LOVE that they serve WonTon chips and sweet and sour sauce to dip in (like chips and salsa!). I could eat a whole bowl of those myself. Our other favorites are the Black Pepper Beef Steak, Sweet and Sour Pork (pork is not dry like a lot of other places), and Honey Roasted Walnut Shrimp. We have been there many times and have NEVER been disappointed. Oh and I can't believe I almost forgot... THEY DIP THEIR FORTUNE COOKIES IN CHOCOLATE! YUMM!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Provo for one night and as a traditional Chinese family, we decided to dine in a Chinese restaurant. The restaurant was in a moody and perfect environment. Although the food are mostly American-Chinese food, the server suggested some food that are more truely Chinese.The owner of the restaurant was super friendly and talk to us about he's time in Provo and told us a little more about the whole Utah. Anyways, strongly recommanded!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LillianXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have enjoyed this restaurant on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Service is always very friendly and quick. Salt and pepper shrimp was very good. Takeout is good and very well packaged. All of the soups are better than average. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arizpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good chinese food. a little overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I got general tsos and was good. Staff was good and attentive. Was busy in restaurant. I thought was a little expensive but not too familiar with area may be inline.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank plague07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoots also viewed

 
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Shoots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing