We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful place and friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hines Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hines Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Provo B&B and Inns
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the Hines Mansion for a one-night "just because" outing. The mansion is gorgeous and historic -- 116 years old, one of the first grand homes in Provo. Each room has a different theme and they all carry off their themes beautifully. "The Library" room has a spiral staircase leading up to the jetted tub.

The owner and staff are very accommodating. The night managers live on site and are available when needed. The owner cooked a delicious quiche for breakfast. Unfortunately, we had forgotten to mention that my husband can't eat eggs. As soon as we told her, she was kind enough to whip up some buckwheat pecan pancakes.

The Mansion is located in a fairly unattractive neighborhood, but once you're inside, it's a whole different world. It's definitely worth looking past the fact that the rest of the neighborhood got old while the Mansion remained lovely.

Room Tip: I prefer the upstairs rooms to the ones downstairs, but if you need the ground floor, The Lodge is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Topplanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa monica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

A quiet, tasteful B&B in a historic buildng. Very clean and well appointed. A terrific breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaMonicaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

This home is historic, but lacks the comforts and conveniences one expects. We stayed in the library suite for an anniversary getaway, and what looks like books on the website photo is merely wallpaper. There is no shower, and the tub is up a spiral staircase. We looked in several other rooms and couldn't find a shower anywhere. Also, it is located across from the fire station, and the combination of that, thin walls and loud neighbors, and a nearby train kept me up at night. Breakfast was mediocre (an egg dish and fruit cup and toast), although the complimentary cookies and cocoa were nice. Quite extensive VHS collection but only a handful of DVDs. Felt overpriced for the experience. Bring earplugs!

Room Tip: Find out if one has a shower! And bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We travel regularly to Provo Utah and there is only one place we want to stay---the Hines Mansion under the wonderful management of Sandy and John. The service is always excellent (3 visits and counting). Whatever schedule we have, and sometimes it includes late evenings and early mornings, we receive attention for all our needs whether it be a sticky key, some tea and cookies, or an early breakfast. The breakfast is absolutely a hit out of the ballpark, every time. Sandy is a cook extraordinaire. We choose the same room for our visits which is warm and cozy with a timber log bed that sleeps like a cloud. The location is a street away from the historic section of Provo and close to a wide selection of restaurants and entertainment. My husband is Japanese and there is a Japanese restaurant that provides us with familiar fare. Last visit we visited the comedy club and it was hilarious. I like two things about this B&B; it is cleaner than any hotel room we could find, and the proprietors are wonderful people, very open and gracious. It is our favorite place in Provo!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshiota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

My Valentines weekend was amazing with a surprise romantic get away with my darling husband who made reservations for a night at the Hines Mansion in Provo, which is probably the last Bed and Breakfast in all of Utah County. It was a grand retreat. I loved my hour tucked away in a jacuzzi bubble bath with my current read, Saving Cee Cee Honeycut. Evidently all of the guest rooms have a nice double jacuzzi!! The Inn was great, wonderful and old. There was fun theme decor including a lodge and a seaside cottage, in which we stayed. In the morning there was a delicious breakfast served around a big table with other patrons, family style. Strawberry stuffed French toast was perfect for the holiday of REDness!! Then the Inn Keeper shared fun stories about the Inn, like the fact the Butch Cassidy, who had been a friend of the original owners, had stayed at the home several times. And for those of you who are Gone With the Wind fans, the entry hall is graced by an incredible French chandelier that once graced a mansion in the classic movie. The woman who renovated the Hines Mansion purchased it for the tidy sum of $70,000 at a time when one could be a house for the amount!!

We ate breakfast with three other couples who had signed up for our breakfast time, and they were all in their late twenties and early thirties and none of them had stayed at a bed and breakfast before. They were all hugely impressed with their rooms, and facilities, and said they would definitely be back!!

These paragraphs and others can be found at my blog at http://pollyanna-reinvents.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyanna-reinvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

We had not heard of this Bed & Breakfast prior to staying there. It was very easy to find on line and make reservations. It was also very easy to find in the city. We arrived very late and everything was ready for us. The bed was THE MOST COMFORTABLE bed either one of us have ever slept on. The room was very clean and very quiet and decorated nicely. We were so comfortable and relaxed, we missed the incredible breakfast they had ready for us. The staff was very great and friendly. We truly look forward to returning over and over again. We definitely made a memory here we will long remember.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingsteve0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

The hotel is very nice old place with a lot of charm. Because it is old when you fit a king bed and a juccuzi into the sleeping area you don't have a lot of space. We could barely move around.
We never got a good explaination why we had to wait until 9:30 for breakfast. If we had known how bad it was going to be we probably would have not waited or stayed some where else. We had to ask that coffee be made and then show the "cook" how to turn on the maker.. Breakfast started with a small serving of fresh fruit also there was orange juice. The main course was called an omelet and was served with one slice of toast and two small overcooked peices of bacon. The omelet was just eggs cooked and cooked and cooked. It was dark brown and flat and had no flavor at all.
We would not go bak or recommend it to anyone we know.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Provo
Hampton Inn Provo
#1 of 20 in Provo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Provo River
0.3 mi away
Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Provo
Residence Inn Provo
#3 of 20 in Provo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Provo Town Center
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Provo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hines Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hines Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hines Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 383 W 100 S, Provo, UT 84601-4356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Provo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Provo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hines Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hines Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hines Mansion Bed And Breakfast Provo, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing