We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“yummy salad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #25 of 290 Restaurants in Provo
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“yummy salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had take out from Cafe Rio. I had the salad with grilled chicken and it was delicious! Great place for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bostonkse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    23
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cafe Rio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

College students love this place. It's always crowded, you get big portions, and if you like Mexican food, you will probably like this. It's noisy and there is no atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fresh Mexican Food, Fast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Mexican food at Cafe Rio is, to be more specific, Mexican-American food, but it is delicious Mexican American food that is prepared quickly before your eyes. You order in front of a food counter, and in nearly every menu item, your meal begins with a freshly-cooked tortilla (and now whole-wheat tortillas are an option!) upon which everything else is placed. My favorite item is the vegetarian salad which comes with beans (black or pinto) seasoned rice, fresh Romaine lettuce, pico de gallo, a dash of Parmesan cheese, and a scoop of fresh guacamole. The salad is topped off with a handful of crispy corn tortilla strips.

The restaurant is usually very busy on weekend evenings, and it can be crowded, so consider phoning ahead for take out (or just pick it up at the take out counter and eat it there in the restaurant). This is a restaurant my wife and I visit monthly at least. We've never been disappointed with one of their meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UtahCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Its An Ok Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

All my friends love this place. For me it is just ok, i rather have authentic mexican food else where. They only have pinto and black beans. They are too fast in the line and dont listen to customer requests, they just rush through to the next customer. I heard the pork salad is the best menu item.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferron, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My friend brought me a salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was a pork barbacoa, at least I think that's the name. It was so full of flavor! I really like all the items they put in their salad. Black beans, lettuce, a freshly made tortilla underneath! Just wonderful flavor!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherib411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Spanish Fork, Wasatch Range
South Jordan, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 
Provo, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing