We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always Wonderful Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #27 of 285 Restaurants in Provo
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Utah
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

One of my favorite Mexican restaurants. Fixed just how you like it. This place is always busy, but just go. The atmosphere is fun. The service is always great. Clean. It's reasonable priced, plenty of food, and they have great horchata.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank busymom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    21
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is fast food at its best. The made to order meals are superb and the chicken tortilla soup fabulous.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Love their chicken salad! Always happy associates to serve you. Lunch hours can be crazy- I prefer to go early around 11 as the place fills up fast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm talking about the Cafe Rio in Orem on State Street. They are much better than the one up in Leigh. Orem Rio gives better portions of meat in the salads. Great crew. Place is noisy because of all of the chatter from behind the line as they are preparing your order. It is almost like the Samari Warrior working in the burger join. But instead of "Cheeseburger, Cheeseburger" you just hear them asking the customers if the want "Pintos or Black beans", Lime, or whatever goes with you dish. But, the food can't be beaten.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Submariner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love Cafe Rio! We have moved away and miss going there! My favorite is the steak salad and my husband loves the pork burrito! Every time we visit Provo we visit Cafe Rio!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shandee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing