We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fresh, delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #23 of 289 Restaurants in Provo
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is fast food at its best. The made to order meals are superb and the chicken tortilla soup fabulous.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    40
    22
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Love their chicken salad! Always happy associates to serve you. Lunch hours can be crazy- I prefer to go early around 11 as the place fills up fast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm talking about the Cafe Rio in Orem on State Street. They are much better than the one up in Leigh. Orem Rio gives better portions of meat in the salads. Great crew. Place is noisy because of all of the chatter from behind the line as they are preparing your order. It is almost like the Samari Warrior working in the burger join. But instead of "Cheeseburger, Cheeseburger" you just hear them asking the customers if the want "Pintos or Black beans", Lime, or whatever goes with you dish. But, the food can't be beaten.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Submariner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love Cafe Rio! We have moved away and miss going there! My favorite is the steak salad and my husband loves the pork burrito! Every time we visit Provo we visit Cafe Rio!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shandee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
177 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Grill by Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Absolutely the best! Restaurant quality food at a great price and made to order right before your eyes. I love the pork barbacoa. The medium enchilada sauce is not more spicy than the mild, it is simply more flavorful. They will add it to your quesadilla or salad, upon request. My favorite: Pork barbacoa salad, savory rice, black beans, (a scoop of medium sauce), lettuce, pico de gallo, guacamole, tortilla chips, a slice of lime, and fresh cilantro. All of this is served in a lightly grilled home made tortilla sprinkled lightly with cheese and complimented by an amazing tomatillo ranch dressing. Everything listed above is standard except what I placed in parenthesis. The burritos are equally delicious (have it "enchilada style" with medium sauce). The quesadillas are amazing (add a scoop of medium sauce to the meat). We have taken many out of town guests to Cafe Rio and each time it has been a delightful success.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Spanish Fork, Wasatch Range
South Jordan, Wasatch Range
 
Orem, Wasatch Range
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing