We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel for conferences and meetings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Provo
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel for conferences and meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have attended meetings at this hotel twice this summer, and overall, I have been impressed with the staff and conference facilities.

The lunches each day were QUITE good. The food was delicious, and it was always served hot. Food was always promptly replenished. Afternoon snacks were also good and plentiful.

Morning breakfasts were often a bit disappointing. Even when the food was just put out, for several days in a row it was not hot - and barely warm at times. I know buffets are difficult to keep hot, but if they can do it for lunch, they should also be able to do it for breakfast. That would be my only recommendation - serve (and keep) hot the breakfast!


(Note: I did not actually stay at this hotel, so my reviews are based only on the meeting and banquet services provided.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisinnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks you for your comments and I'm pleased to hear that generally the conference experience was positive. I have spoken to the kitchen and banquet staff concerning the breakfast food temperature and we will monitor it much closer. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return
Best
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    120
    55
    28
    11
See reviews for
58
36
28
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
428 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in the Provo Marriott for a week in August. I found the front desk staff very helpful.

The rooms are typical Marriott rooms, with typical décor. The carpet is showing some age, but otherwise the room was very clean and in very good condition. The closet and sink area were both quite large. We had a room with 2 double beds and expected to have a tub/shower. We were pleasantly surprised to have a walk in shower without a tub. The room with the shower and toilet was quite small and the door would not open well with the bath mat out.

Our room was on the 9th floor and was very quiet!

It was nice that the hotel had complementary, covered parking. It had a multi-level parking garage. The garage is a little tight for large vehicles such as a full size truck, but not unworkable.

We enjoyed breakfast both in the restaurant and in the concierge lounge. Both breakfast locations had good food and excellent service. In the evening, we enjoyed the cookies in the concierge lounge.

One evening we ordered room service for dinner. Our meals came in about 25 minutes and were delivered by the most friendly Marriott employee, Mila. The food was warm and delicious!

The hotel has 2 washing machines and 3 dryers for guests to do laundry. A wash is $1.50 and a dry is $1.25 - and at the end of the dryer cycle the clothes were dry!

Near the main lobby, there are 2 computers for guests to use. You can even print what you need with the first 20 copies free.

The hotel is located in central Provo. I only wish that we had had the time to walk the area and try some of the nearby restaurants.

If back in Provo, would definitely at this Marriott location again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for the comments and the detailed review of the Provo Marriott. I believe you were very accurate with your description and I'm glad to hear that you had a nice stay the hotel. I appreciate the business and hope that when you visit Provo again that you will stay with us again. Again, thank you for the review.
Best
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Front desk staff was curt and surly. First room assigned, the tv wouldn't receive ABC or NBC. Second was the same. Only the a/c did not work at all. Third room, still no NBC or CBS. Front desk staff now intimating that I had something to do with causing these glitches, saying " You will probably do the same thing to another room". Can you imagine hotel staff talking to you like that? Rooms were worn and looked less than clean. I am guessing that the front desk staff was punishing me for asking for a room with a working tv and a/c. I left several messages at the front desk for the hotel manager. I don't think that he got them. Finally, the manager talks to me and apologizes, but offers nothing for the experience. It is unlikely that I will stay at a Marriott property for a very long time. Pam

Room Tip: Look at the room prior to getting assigned to it to ensure that it is up to standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim_pam_kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Pam,
Thank you for your comments and I apologize for what you experienced at the hotel. To your point this was uncharacteristic and not the level of service you would expect at a Marriott hotel. Especially the manner the front desk handled the situation. I've spoken to those involved and I'm confident that we have corrected the situation. Again, I apologize for what you experience.
Sincerely,
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The good:
*Front desk crew - polite, pleasant, helpful
*On-site bar - great atmosphere, delicious gin/basil drink
*On-site restaurant - good food, but they're pretty one-note when it comes to gluten-free needs

The bad:
*Location, location, location - I walked at least 4 miles each day for 4 days, and went in all 4 compass directions. There really isn't a "pretty" part of Provo, unless it's up near BYU. It just felt like urban blight has taken over this city. I didn't feel particularly threatened, but for a conference center, I expect better.
*Run-down rooms and stairways - stained and fraying carpet in the room, and the stairwells have concrete steps, like you'd see outside. The cigarette butts and empty bottles of beer didn't help those stairs, either.

The ugly:
*Housekeeping - I'm not sure my room was actually cleaned a couple of times. The bed was made and towels replaced (although I requested them to be kept), but the floor was dirty the first 3 days I was there. A t-shirt from a previous lodger lay crumpled by the window - and was never removed. There was something on the shower curtain - toothpaste? shaving cream? - that took until the 4th day (out of 5) to be replaced. The drinking glasses were only replaced once during my stay. (This begs the question: Do you complain about housekeeping and run the risk of the service being even worse as payback?)
*The noise - I understand doors "latching" - but holy heck, this place was LOUD! I'm really glad I had my earplugs with me; the slamming was horrifically disruptive.

If you can find any other place to stay in Provo, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
First, thank you for commenting on the hotel. I'm glad to hear that though we should have been much better in housekeeping and other areas that the staff was polite, pleasant and helpful. I will be taking your comments and using them as a training tool for the staff as your experience was unacceptable. We work hard to make every guest experience positive one but it was obvious that we need to make sure it is more consistent. It is comments like yours that help us become a better hotel and really focus on a particular area.
Best
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

It's nice, convenient, clean, and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is great. We only stayed there overnight (with a LATE check in), but it was great. Would definitely recommend. The bathroom in our room had some worn wallpaper and wear and tear on the door, and the prices were pretty high, but it was great, overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
271 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This Marriott isn't a full 5 star experience but significantly better than 4 stars. The staff were exceptional, friendly and accommodating. Want a refrigerator? Just ask. They were fully engaged to make our stay the best, from check-in to check- out. The hotel has a very large outdoor pool and a smaller one indoors with a spa. The lobby was huge with lots of chairs and couches. They even had two large urns with cold fruited water at all times. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, plus impeccably clean. The 3 of us and two visitors sat in one room and chatted comfortably. There was a large desk, easy chair and ottoman. The beds were good. The concierge lounge was very nice and the two staff people there were friendly and engaging. When the lounge was closed we had a complimentary Continental breakfast available in the restaurant. For a whopping $2 it could be updated to a full buffet with an omelet bar.

If we had a complaint it was the lack of a bathtub in both our rooms. Other rooms must have them so ask first. The shower was large but the area outside it which included the toilet was very small. But this was a minor, minor detail.

Location is excellent for accessing downtown Provo as well as the interstate. Free covered parking!

Room Tip: If you want a tub, check first. Some rooms have a lake view, some mountain view, pick your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbin8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here during a conference, which was conducted right across the street in the new convention center. Nice hotel, friendly staff. Unfortunately, the restaurant dos not open until 6:30 am, so if you are looking for breakfast prior to a 7:00 am meeting, then you are stuck with the crappy Starbucks counter offerings - and they ARE crappy. Venture out a bit earlier and take a walk down the street for coffee and pastry/breakfast if you don't have time to wait for the restaurant to open.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACT530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provo hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Provo
Hampton Inn Provo
#1 of 20 in Provo
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Provo River
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Provo
Residence Inn Provo
#2 of 20 in Provo
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Provo
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Provo
Sleep Inn Provo
#5 of 20 in Provo
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Provo
Courtyard Provo
#9 of 20 in Provo
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 101 W 100 N, Provo, UT 84601-4451
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Provo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Provo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provo Marriott Hotel Provo
Marriott Provo
Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing