We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9th Floor for the Provo Marriott” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Provo
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
271 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“9th Floor for the Provo Marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have mixed reviews of the Provo Marriott Conference Center. Although the bar, restaurant and Starbucks coffee shop on the ground floor reception area are very modern and cozy I found the rooms themselves to be dated and below the standard I would expect from Marriott.

I thought the hotel shuttle service was excellent - $10 each way and always available because they have more than 1 shuttle. The staff were very knowledgable and very helpful but I didn't enjoy my stay. I was originally given a room on the 9th floor which they say are their best rooms (a couple announcing their anniversary were upgraded there) but I saw a 9th floor room and it wasn't any more special than a standard Marriott room anywhere else.

I did not find a bath in my 9th floor room so I requested a switch. The staff were very happy to move me without fuss which I was grateful for but my new room on the 4th floor was below standard (and smelt a little stale). There was no safe in room (staff were very happy to give me a key to a safety deposit at reception) and there was no dressing gown. When I asked for a dressing gown to be brought to my room it was very thin and old and was removed by the cleaning staff the next day! When I requested a gown again on day 2 the same thing happened. There was no water in my room and after a week I didn't leave feeling as refreshed as I have with other Marriotts.

On the positive side there are a number of fantastic restaurants within very short walking distance from the rear of the hotel - Italian, Mexican, Indian and Chinese. There is even a large supermarket across the road.

Room Tip: Request a room on floor 9 and if you enjoy a bath and a safe when you travel be sure to make enquiri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I appreciate your comments and I’m pleased to see that all of the work this year with the renovation has been recognized. The new lobby, Slate Restaurant, Café, and Lounge are all completed. The response from the hotel’s guests has been extremely positive.

You mentioned that the 9th floor has only a shower. Due to guest requests we have removed the tubs on the 7th, 8th, and 9th floors and have placed new showers. If you would like a room with a tub please let us know and we can accommodate that requests. Secondly, we do have safety deposit boxes for all guests located at the Front Desk. If you have a need for an in-room safe our Executive Rooms each have their own safe. Simply ask the reservations for that particular room type.

Thanks again for your comments and hopefully we will see you again in the future. And as a final note we do have a wide range of exceptional restaurants located around the hotel. We also have an amazing restaurant inside the hotel that many of our guests have enjoyed. Please stop by the next time you are in town

Best
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    129
    57
    29
    11
See reviews for
62
40
28
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have the pleasure of visiting this part of Utah at least once a year and the Provo Marriott is the best place to stay (much better than the Courtyard). Recently refurbished (2012) the hotel offers both a wonderful 'in room' experience as well as excellent amenities (however they no longer have the sauna that is advertised on their site).

The bar is now part of the foyer, allowing you to mix with those dining in the restaurant and making you clearly viable to you friends and colleagues as they arrive at the hotel - previously it was hidden away at the back of the hotel (you almost felt like you were going to watch a porno, rather than just having a beer before dinner).

Post renovation the hotel has lost (thankfully) it's subtle 'Mormon vibe' and it now feels like a good quality Marriott hotel that you might find anywhere in the US.

Whilst the restaurant is good, there's great food to be found in easy walking distance and I strongly recommend a trip to Sammy's burger joint just around the corner - great burgers and close enough for the food to be still warm by the time you get back to your room (even in winter).

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a mountain view. None of the rooms come with fridges (I believe they can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your great comments and recognizing the efforts of the hotel staff in upgrading the hotel. You are correct that a refrigerator is available by request plus all of our 101 Executive Rooms have an in-room refrigerators and microwaves. When making the reservation you can specify this room type. Thanks again for your comments. It is comments like yours that make the hotels better.
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Good location, excellent hotel. The lobby is attractive and usable with a Starbucks and on-site buffet. My room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and functional. I had a great view of the mountains from my room which was a huge plus. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Others had complained about the Wi-Fi as being slow but I found it to be fine. Unfortunately they do still charge for it which is annoying and unnecessary based on all the other hotels that do not need to charge.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AusAm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
338 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located right in what i would call downtown Provo. Nice views. Typically Marriott hotel. They try to charge for internet but i was able to get wireless for free. Room was nice and there is plenty to walk to for drinks and eats.

G Man

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMan5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you much for your kind comments and the recognition of the staff. I work with a great team and everyone work's to make it the best possible experience for all guests. We have been through a number of upgrades over the last few months and I’m glad to see that you had a great stay.

Thanks
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I feel like the poor condition of the wifi (as well as the in-room wired connection) should have been mentioned at checkin, if not earlier. I would have gladly moved to the SpringHill Suites or TownePlace (both nearby Marriott properties) that have historically offered free/fast Internet. But the staff said nothing, and it was only after I was unpacked and exhausted that I realized I wasn't going to get any work done in my room.

When I asked the staff the next day about the slow Internet, I was told:

Staff: "It's slow because... we're getting new Internet."

Me: "Oh, so new Internet is being installed today?"

Staff: "Well, no... Not today... I mean, we're working on getting new Internet."

Me: "So... it's not slow *because* you're getting new Internet. It's slow *and* you'd like to one day fix it?"

Staff: "Sorry. It works in the lobby!"

I feel like slow Internet is inexcusable these days, and any problems should be disclosed at/before checkin. Luckily, no charges for Internet appeared on my bill. But I would have rather paid for it and been able to do work.

Room Tip: Poor wifi, cramped parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmprovomarriott, General Manager at Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
As was mentioned, we are currently in the process of upgrading the hotel's internet to a much more state-of-the-art and faster speed system. I anticipate that it will be completed within the next 3 - 4 weeks. I’m sure you will be pleasantly surprised how good the new system will be.

I will also work with the Front Desk on how to handle inquires such as yours. I believe the dialogue could have been much more professional.

Thank you for your comments as it helps us become a much better hotel
Best
John Garfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at this property for three nights and have no complaints what so ever. The hotel is well maintained and attractive on the outside/lobby/bar/restaurant ares. My room was very clean, well appointed spacious and confortable. It had a sitting area with a couch, side sink, microwave, and refrigerator. I guess the only thing I would change in the room is the television. It is not flat screen and needs to be updated.
I was at this hotel for a conference and a noon meal was provided. The food was very good for a large group serving. The restaurant and bar food was great, and in my opinion above standard for what you find at most hotel restaurants.
What stands out here was the straff. From the time I walked into the lobby to my departure the staff was very nice, attentive, service oriented, friendly and just wonderfull.I could not have expected them to be any better. They have a good team here who should be complimented.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitroxprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

First the good things: friendly staff, updated lobby and reception, free parking, and comfortable bedding. However, I won't go back to a hotel that charges for Wi-Fi in the guest rooms. Imagine charging for cable TV or ice--I find it that ridiculous. I called to ask that they waive the fee and they declined. Disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provo hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Provo
Hampton Inn Provo
#1 of 20 in Provo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Provo
Residence Inn Provo
#2 of 20 in Provo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Provo River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Provo
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Provo
Courtyard Provo
#9 of 20 in Provo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Provo
Sleep Inn Provo
#5 of 20 in Provo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 101 W 100 N, Provo, UT 84601-4451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Provo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Provo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provo Marriott Hotel Provo
Marriott Provo
Provo Marriott Hotel & Conference Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing