We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A look into history

This is a beautiful cemetery enclosed by a beautiful rock fence. We were given a book at the... read more

Reviewed June 1, 2017
co-director
,
Alabama
via mobile
Beautiful Southern Utah Cemetery

One of the most beautiful cemeteries I've ever visited. Nestled up against the mouth of the canyon... read more

Reviewed May 16, 2017
Kathleen-R89
,
St. George, Utah
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveler rating
5
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
1
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful cemetery enclosed by a beautiful rock fence. We were given a book at the visitor center with great information about the cemetery and the people buried there, many go back into the 1800's. There are many beautiful and unique tombstones. The book tells the history of the artist who made the stones. It is a great place to visit or to just take a walk

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank co-director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017

One of the most beautiful cemeteries I've ever visited. Nestled up against the mouth of the canyon, it's peaceful, quiet, and very green. I have family buried there so I visit a couple times a year, and the cemetery is absolutely beautiful in the summer, and great for bike rides. The only complaint I have is that the bathrooms are always locked and the computer system hasn't worked in years, so sometimes it can be a little difficult to find a grave.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Kathleen-R89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

Great for those who appreciate this kind of historical information.

The town takes very good care of the cemetery and allows decorations for special events (July 4th, Memorial Day, etc) so it's takes on a very nice look with flags, flowers and decorations. Lots of older graves and a wonderful map available at the visitor's center (Main and Center street) that had detailed info about burials as well as headstone styles. There is also a computer kiosk that's open at different times to look up information.
Rows are paved and deer roam the grounds in the winter.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Ted4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

It may seem odd to go to a cemetery to learn about history but this one is especially worthwhile. We picked up a brochure at the visitors center in Cedar City and included this stop as part of a day loop from Cedar City to the Parawan Petroglyphs then on to the cemetery and finishing out loop through Cedar Breaks.

With our brochure in hand we were able to see the grave sites of the men and women who helped established settlements in southern Utah. Having spent time in the Frontier Museum in Cedar City we had an idea of how hard it must have been to come across the US to get here but visiting this cemetery gave us an even deeper respect for those hearty soles.

Not all the headstones are written about in the flyer so you should take the time to visit the others as well. We spent an hour and a half here but you can set your own schedule to tour it.

It was one of our highlights of our trip to Cedar City.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank McWett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2015

Obviously, stopping and reading the words on the headstones would have been interesting, but we really did not want to do that in the snow. Nonetheless, we drove through (thank goodness that the road was plowed) and it was still an interesting drive. The headstones are all different, and seeing the old ones mixed with the new ones was a wonderful transforming experience. It reminds us that life is so very ephemeral and so quickly passes. It doesn't take long to drive through, and we'd highly recommend it.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank Fatbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews