We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On mountain Restaurant Ski in/ Ski out unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“On mountain Restaurant Ski in/ Ski out unbeatable”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

For two straight years we have been skiing at Deer valley resort and have always made a point of stopping on at least two occasions during our week to have lunch at the Stein Eriksen Lodge on the mountain. The buffet is a spread that will leave you sated and needing to ski off your lunch. If ala carte is you're choice than order the chicken pot pie. If a drink is what you need try a Snowblower, hot chocolate, baileys, coconut rum. It is to die for. Service is impeccable. You will not be sorry having selected this restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rayh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    92
    35
    21
    12
See reviews for
219
265
31
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We did not stay at the Stein Eriksen but visited the bar for Apres' ski late one afternoon. The bar is beautiful, with wonderful views. Service was friendly and fun. Drinks were great, as was the bar food. The only thing I noticed, while we were waiting to be seated, was that there were many tables that needed to be cleaned off--resulting in a bit of a messy appearance. Location is great--right off the top of one of the small lifts. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumbalina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just went there for a quick conference. Never been before. Direct flight from New York and under an hour to the airport I was seeing the pros over Aspen immediately. The lodge is a typical ski lodge in presentation - antlers, acornds and large leather sofas. Very 80's. Also jacuzzi bathtub and hot tub on porch! Decor could use some upgrading but overall a fine stay. Food was solid. Services was particularly excellent. Love how they organize your chargers by wrapping them in satin ribbon.

Room Tip: I would try to a room closer to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We recently stayed at stein eriksen for a week for the fifth time. The hotel was great as usual but the cleaning staff were so bad and so rude it was quite unbelievable. Maybe the good ones have headed to the montage or st Regis but stein needs to completely revamp their cleaning department or they will lose customers.

We will try it again but it will be the last time if they have not fixed the cleaning staff problem.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteinEriksenLodge, Public Relations Manager at Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your thoughts and observations about your recent stay at our lodge. Guest feedback is crucial to our success, and we are committed to delivering exemplary service every step of the way. We reviewed your concerns with our team, but would like to learn more about your atypical experience. We kindly invite you to respond to our private message.

Sincerely,
Beth
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This summer, my family and I stayed at the Stein Eriksen after a few days in Jackson, Wyoming. We were more than happy with our stay and I highly recommend you stay net time you are in Park City. We were given an amazing suite that was practically perfect. It was just big enough, with five beds for all of us, a hot tub, a fireplace, a washer and dryer, and even a sample of the granola. On that note, I would like to say that unlike a vast majority of hotels, I was actually pleased with the food. I recall having phenomenal banana bread French toast. Though we were in the summer, it was in a great location because in the winter, you could simply ski right out of the hotel. Make sure that the Stein Eriksen is your #1 choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed at Stein Eriksen along with my two daughters, my sister, and my niece. It was a birthday gift from my daughters and I am very glad I chose Park City and specifically, the Stein Eriksen. I chose to visit for a week in early November before the season as the goal was a laid-back vacation in a beautiful location. I was enthralled with Park City and the resort. I noticed that another reviewer complained about no coffee in the lobby but during our trip that was not the case. Also, the coffee in the room was very good. It was a Keurig single cup system and the first batch of coffee was dark roast which half of us liked and half of us did not. So I requested a lighter roast from housekeeping who happily obliged. I loved the turn-down service at night! As this was my celebration, I occupied the master suite all by myself (heavenly), and each night the staff set out two robes, two slippers, two cups for hot chocolate, and two chocolates! I probably should have told them it was only me, but those chocolates! Yum! (my bad!) I cannot say enough good things about my experience. It was rustic luxury at its best. Sitting in front of the fireplace every night with my girls was a mother's dream. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. The meals in the restaurant and lounge were delicious, not rich and decadent and heavy, but very good. The one improvement I would suggest would be to use a little fabric softener with the robes! Our robes were not comfortable and were scratchy and stiff. That seemed out of character for the otherwise luxurious amenities. All in all, I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for a room/suite accessible without stairs. On the other hand, just tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had a great love for the Stein Eriksen. We have family in Salt Lake so have been staying there most every other year for the last 15 years. It's a stay we always look forward to, but this year the place looked shabby and began to lose its luster: lampshades were tattered, the gas fireplace crapped out on our second day, the master bath faucet was corroded and smelled very, very bad. Other little things too, like no frying pans in the kitchen, the alarm that woke us on our first day of vacation at 6:30am, non-absorbant, wafer-thin bath mats and towels, slippers so weathered they curl and seem to be made if cardboard, no welcome coffee or water service in the main lobby, and where was the usual day after Thanksgiving Christmas tree set up and gingerbread house that my kids always looked forward to? The restaurant and shops lobby was totally empty and quiet - no fire in the fireplace, the piano locked, completely unfestive and unwelcoming. While the service remained friendly and happy to help, there was no sense of anticipating the guests' needs that you would expect from a 5 Diamond hotel. And there were missteps there as well: the valet brought our car around with our keys as well as someone else's keys. Good thing we caught the error before leaving for the day or there would have been a very irate guest. And while the Murphy bed was turned down the first night, there was no turndown service the second or third nights.

I guess there has to be a last time for everything, and I think this is the last time we stay at SEL. I was always willing to make the freezing sprint from the pool to our room for the luxury of the Stein, but this time around it was disappointingly lackluster and not worth the money. I tried to write the hotel directly to initiate a conversation instead of posting on Tripadvisor, but they never returned my email requesting a contact name and address. Sad, especially since we've been return customers for so long. If you're looking for a place with a loyalty program and values repeat customers, I'd recommend the Starwood program. And I hear the St. Regis has a funicular and fire garden. Maybe we'll try that next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteinEriksenLodge, Public Relations Manager at Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your loyal stays with us and for sharing your thoughts and observations about your recent stay at our lodge. Guest feedback is crucial to our success, and we are committed to delivering exemplary service every step of the way. We reviewed your concerns with our team, but would like to learn more about your atypical experience. We pride ourselves on having a large return customer base, and would like to rectify the situation. We kindly invite you to respond to our private message.

Sincerely,
Beth
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.2 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#5 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley

Property: Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Address: 7700 Stein Way, Park City, UT 84060-5132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#1 Spa Hotel in Park City
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#2 Family Hotel in Park City
#2 Business Hotel in Park City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stein Eriksen Lodge is Utah's only Forbes Five Star Hotel and the World's Best Ski Hotel. Located centrally at Mid-Mountain Deer Valley and offers direct ski-in and ski-out access. We are a short shuttle ride to Historic Main Street, Park City. We are North America's premiere mountain destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Eriksen Hotel Park City
Stein Eriksen Park City
Stein Ericksen Lodge
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing