We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST SERVICE EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST SERVICE EVER!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Shadow Ridge Resort has the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. They are very shady about charges that were made to my credit card. the moment I walked into the hotel they tried to take advantage of me, and disrespect me. They gave me the worst room available, then when we finally checked into a nicer room, the heater didn't work. We called them numerous times, and they told us it was not their problem and it would turn on. They finally believe us when they sent someone over after 2 hours of calling and the room was a whole 50 degrees. Then when we tried to put the blinds down for the night, they fell right off the wall, for absolutely no reason. When we checked out of the room, we went through and made sure we had cleaned everything up as much as possible. Nothing had been broken except a little basket that had gotten stepped on, and we were not aware of any stains on the floor, except maybe a spill and some dirt from shoes. Over a month later, they decided to charge us $600 dollars worth of damages. They did not contact us about the damages prior and charged the credit card twice, for $300 dollars each. They said they had pictures of the damage, but that was over a month ago. who knows if it is from my room that night, or from another room. They are just trying to get as much money as they can from my family. When I called to work things out with the house keeping manager Jane Wilford, all she did was yell at me and completely disrespect me. She would not let me speak and would cut me off every time I tried to explain something. She should never be allowed to speak to customers that way and should not disrespect people in the manner as she did to me. She refused to take any of the charges off and told me everything was my fault, when half of them didn't even take place when we were there. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. It is disgusting and dirty and the people who work there have no respect for their customers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyleeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpratt75, Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Just wanted to take a moment and let everyone know that this complaint was done thru a previous management company that is no longer associated with the Shadow Ridge. All Seasons Resort Lodging has now taken over as the management company for this property and we are working hard on improving this beautiful hotel everyday. We recently just had the whole 1st floor remodeled including new furniture,paint, new fireplace etc... Customer Service is our number 1 goal here at Shadow Ridge and we welcome everyone to come stay with us. If you have any questions please dont hesitate to call the hotel directly. Thanks, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    65
    36
    30
    15
See reviews for
105
65
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I had a last minute trip to Park City and came across the owners of a 2 bedroom in Shadow Ridge. The location was phenomenal. The lobby was being renovated and despite the construction, the staff and owners were exceptional. You even get a discount at the ski shop. Great value! Definitely a repeater.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2016
Thank you for staying at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This is NOT a RESORT. It just happens to be in the parking lot of a resort. We reserved a platinum room, $800 per night. Room 405-1,2,3. Kitchen had been remodeled, but other than that here is the list. Furniture and beds were the most uncomfortable, old, worst I have ever seen. Bedding, towels etc. were so scratchy and smelled of chemicals. Kitchen rug was filthy. Kitchen faucet didn't work, one bathroom tub wouldn't drain, no TV remote, no DVD or VCR player. Everything about this room is uncomfortable. Maid service couldn't speak english and we kept telling her that we didn't need service and she kept coming in anyways. She would just go in through one of the other doors, even when we were there. Common areas, hallways are just dated, old, creepy really. After a long day of skiing there isn't anything in this building warm,inviting,comfortable or convenient as far as what Shadow Ridge has to offer. The staff is non-existent and of no help other than getting your key when you show up. There was no value for the money at this resort. Even if it were considerable cheaper, I would not look to ever stay there again. I do not usually complain about the places we stay in as you somewhat have to go with what you get really, but this place was unacceptable and we explained that to anyone we talked to out on the slopes when conversations pop up about where everyone was staying.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMsusparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpratt75, Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
This response is for a former property management company that is no longer associated with Shadow Ridge. The new management company is All Seasons Resort Lodging and we are very excited to be a part of the new and improved Shadow Ridge Resort/Hotel. We just recently remodeled the 1st floor with a brand new lobby, front desk, paint, carpet etc.. We are also upgrading many of the units daily. If there are any questions or concerns please feel free to contact us at the hotel. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

To call this a hotel is misleading. These are individually owned condos. While there IS a management service on site, this is much more like renting from an individual owner than a true hotel experience. I have rented many condos and houses over the years from individual owners, mostly through services like VRBO or HomeAway. It is a mixed bag, but overall we have done well. But there are trade offs and you must chose carefully. Do not expect a hotel! Essentially one should review the unit separately from the building as a whole. The unit we were in was EXCELLENT. Top of the line furnishings, new reno etc. We rented directly from the owner, BTW. The location is excellent. But the building as a whole is a different story. We did not expect, nor did we use any "hotel" services beyond getting our keys at check-in. Management seemed bare-bones and keeps limited hours. Problem after hours? Too bad. Hotel maid service costs extra (we didn't use) and a chat with the maid revealed that there is ONE maid for over 30 units. Hmmm... The building-wide wireless was iffy with frequent drops and slow service. The outdoor heated pool was worthless, being nowhere near hot enough to use in the winter. My husband did use the exercise room and said it was OK. There is an indoor hot tub, but I love nothing more after a day on the slopes than a really hot outdoor hot tub or pool with snow coming down on my head, and that is lacking here. That was a disappointment. So my review of the unit is 5 star, while the building as a whole is probably 2-3 star. Be careful and you can do well overall as long as you recognize these issues.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate7047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2016
Thank you for staying at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Like a lot of other reviews have been saying, this place has a decent location but terrible service.
Hot water went out the night of our Sundance screening - manager wouldn't return our calls, and then eventually said they would fix it the next morning. After all of that inconvenience we expected they would at least reduce our bill or give us one of our three nights for free, but after we left they even added more charges that we had to dispute.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2016
Thank you for staying at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed at Shadow Ridge over the holidays. The location is great, walk to the lifts. We booked a platinum condo and when we checked in we were given a condo that obviously hadn't been updated. After a wait we were moved to a platinum unit. The condos are OK but the management is terrible. They are contracted to the resort and totally unaccountable. Many times we stood at the front desk waiting for someone to no avail. Unfortunately, my son left his cell phone in the 1st unit. It was found after we left and they contacted us, we were told that they had our info on file and would send it to us. After 4 weeks and several phone calls (even a fax because the phone line was busy for 2 days), we still don't have the phone. The manager now denies offering to send the phone and told us to arrange to have it picked up. We were considering to purchase a unit but note to owners, get a better management company. Your current manager has no knowledge of customer service and lacks integrity.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webb512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffik, Operations Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2009
Dear clients,

I regret to read this type of review. It is always our intention to strive for outstanding customer service.

I would like to clarify that this client is responding in anger due to their perceived belief that the Resort is ultimately responsible to return to them items they lost while on vacation. As is standard practices in Resorts across all countries a form was signed at check in that said the Resort is not liable for any items lost or left behind and that the maximum amount of care and attention should be given to safeguard personal items.

Thousands of items are routinely left behind and our standard practice is to store the items for no less than 60 days and then donate those items to charity. In this particular case I personally charged the cell phone which was dead when it was located and contacted the owner. Without that added customer service this client would never had found the phone as it was lost in a room they did not rent. There was some confusion in returning the phone but ultimately we asked the client to arrange to have a courier service pick up and deliver to them their lost item as it would be the most efficient manner to get it returned.

I regret the confusion but we went well beyond our normal procedures to locate this owner so they could have their phone returned. We will continue to work to the best of our ability to service clients even in the light that sometimes good faith efforts will go unrecognized and unappreciated.

Shadow Ridge is a wholly owned condominium facility. Each unit is unique and offers it own charm. As always if a client is looking for a specific type of unit we are always happy to showcase all units we have available and allow them to make a personal choice based on their specific expectations. This was the case with this client as we worked with them to ensure they were in a unit that they desired.

We appreciate the comments of this client as all comments afford us the opportunity to learn and improve. As with all reviews there are underlying, untold facts that could change the opinion of other interested parties. I appreciate Trip Advisor for giving us the chance to respond and perhaps fill in some of the missing information. Information that I hope will demonstrate that though our intention to return the phone did not go as smooth as we would have liked we were working in the best interest of the client and tried to go above and beyond to help them retrieve their lost items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

This place has a great location and is the best lodging for the money we have run across in Park City. We've been going to PC for 20 years to ski, golf, hike, and mountain bike. We wish we had tried Shadow Ridge much earlier.

It is not a luxury hotel, but is way above average. It is the location that seals the deal- exactly across from the skiing/golf/hiking/biking. No need to use our car even once. We will stay there from now on.

We stayed in #211 which was convenient to the elevator and was very quiet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gardenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2016
Thank you for staying at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.1 mi away
Silver King Hotel
Silver King Hotel
#30 of 60 in Park City
289 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#9 of 60 in Park City
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel

Property: Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
Address: 50 Shadow Ridge Rd, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Park City
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#21 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views and uncommon affordability make this resort property an ideal destination for couples, friends, families, and of course, larger business groups - home to more than 4,000 square feet of meeting space between four rooms. Besides Shadow Ridge's exceptional proximity to the ski resort, guests enjoy being close to the galleries, restaurants, boutiques, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street -- just a short half-mile walk or an even shorter half-mile ride via our complimentary on-demand shuttle service. And guests will find no easier access to ski and snowboard rentals than the clothing and rental shop that neighbors the front desk in our newly-remodeled lobby. Moreover, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees. Choose from a variety of accommodations, including everything from smaller hotel rooms with cozy private balconies to spacious 1- and 2-bedroom condos complete with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, and comfortable dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Ridge Hotel Park City
Shadow Ridge Park City
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing