We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location makes up for the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location makes up for the rest”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent several days at the hotel (calling it a resort is a long bow). It is an easy walk to Park City Mountain Resort, even with ski boots. Room quality was very good but service was lacking. For $160/night couldn't we at least get some glasses and coffee mugs instead of polystyrene cups, which we had to ask for on two of our three days at the hotel. The maid service was also hit and miss and they appeared to randomly replace items and ignore the obvious needs of the room, e.g. shampoo, tissues, toilet paper, coffee and don't forget the invaluable polystyrene cup. I think these were being stockpiled for the next winter. For the price I would expect more, much more. The ski shop in the lobby is very convenient and can provide all your rental needs and discount tickets. Free bus is just across the road and will take you to all the local sites/destinations but the short 20 minute walk to Main Street is worth it just to explore the streets and history. Also an easy 10 to 15 min walk to Fresh Market for all your shopping needs, if you have a self contained room.
I wouldn't say don't stay here as the location is second only to being on the hill, just be aware that you may need to make several trips to reception to get items that are missing from your room.

Room Tip: The building is semicircular so rooms on the inside have limited views. Ask for a room on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bollyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden P, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for being honest in letting us know how your stay was this is how we improve our hotel and its services we provide. Our location is great, but not having the correct amount of basic amenities is not acceptable. I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you by having to keep coming to the desk. However I’m glad you enjoyed the walk to downtown and all that has to offer. The history of Park City is a true gem. If you are interested in coming back please let us know so we can ensure you can enjoy Shadow Ridge, and of course all of what Park City has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    64
    35
    30
    15
See reviews for
103
65
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were upgraded to a great 1 bedroom suite - our son was also and his suite had a fireplace! We received very good service from Ashley and Erik at the front desk - they responded quickly to any request that we had... We also liked that we had the ski rental shop in the lobby.. It was a great value for the money...

Will definitely return...

Room Tip: Some suites have a fireplace. Also, ask about the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneV256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden P, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We take every opportunity to upgrade our guest whenever we can. Thank you for mentioning Erik and Ashley they do a great job! The ski shop is great to have in our lobby, and I’m glad you found Shadow Ridge to be of great value for you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are really nice. We had a great view of the mountain from our balcony and a giant shower. Little confusing figuring out which of the underground parking lots we parked in. Remember to look and see which one you parked in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden P, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Are rooms are nice and I’m glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us. The mountains are beautiful to look at any time of year, come visit us in the fall you would love the view of all the fall colors! We do have many parking garages located around our hotel. At check in our staff will show you the right space to park in and we would love to walk you to that spot for extra assurance if needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We rented a 1 bedroom "upgraded" room and couldn't have been happier. Great location.
We slept 4 easily. 2 bathrooms. Kitchen was fully stocked. Small pool, but kids were happy.
Ski rental shop right in lobby, the people were so nice and helpful.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden P, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and we can’t wait to see you on your next visit! As you notice our rooms can accommodate larger parties while still making everyone feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After reading other tripadvisor reviews before booking this property, I was somewhat nervous about booking here. Some reviews were highly complimentary, others extremely negative. The price was reasonable though, and I decided to take a chance, booking a "premium" as opposed to "standard" unit. The management makes it very clear on the website that each unit is individually owned and decorated, and if you are looking for upscale, you should book a premium unit. What is not generally reviewed on trip advisor is location, and that was important to me. If it is to you, I suggest that you ask for a unit that is not subject to bus noise, as the buses run well into the evening and start up early in the morning and the units on the front of the building will be subject to that. Bus noise isn't unique to Shadow Ridge. I knew to ask for a quiet unit after staying at another base property where I couldn't sleep through the night due to the bus noise. Brendan and Katrina at the front desk were were extremely accommodating in finding an available unit for me that met the parameters of a premium unit with a quiet location. I've been here for less than a day, and I am extremely impressed by the high level of customer service at this property, from housekeeping to management. My experience has been that you have only to ask and your request will be granted. I consider myself to be a highly discerning customer with high standards. My mindset was that I was taking a chance staying at Shadow Ridge, and I am delighted to report that I made a good choice!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sladeatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden P, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your complaiments and how we are operating at Shadow Ridge. While you can experience noise from time to time from traffic, you did mention that is not unique to Shadow Ridge due the free and wonderful bus system that is provided for all visitors to take advantage of. Our location is great and provides a wonderful home base for you to enjoy a wonderful day on the slopes and a nice relaxing evening downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
368 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel’s best feature is its location, just across the street from the Lodge at Park City and the base of the slopes. While there are a couple of other lodging facilities within “the Lodge” (i.e. base area complex) itself, they tend to fill up faster, are more expensive, and do not really offer that much greater an advantage, unless you are wanting a more pampered experience and are willing to pay for it. The down side of Shadow Ridge is that it houses no on-premise restaurant or bar, but there are several restaurant choices across the street at the Lodge, and Shadow Ridge does have a shuttle service that gets you to Main Street in 5 minutes, and is pretty quick picking you up after your meal, too. The rooms are very basic, with very firm beds, and very few frills, but the ski slopes across the street and the Main Street strip 5 minutes away, why would you need much more? Shadow ridge does have an on premise ski shop where you can rent equipment and buy lift tickets, but there are plenty on Aloha Ski rental and plenty of other ski rental shops right at the lodge next to the slopes. (Aloha had the advantage of storing your skis and poles overnight inside their shop right as you came off the slopes, rather than carrying them back across the street, as well as free use of small cubicles for storing shoes and non-valuables while you ski). Despite other reviews to the contrary, the desk was open 24/7 and every person working at reception was exceptionally courteous and helpful. There was complimentary covered parking below the hotel, complimentary Wi-Fi, a heated exterior pool and an inside sauna/hot tub. The ice machine and vending machine were on the basement level, which was not really convenient, but rather insignificant, after all. Our 2 Queen Bed room had a small coffee maker, a microwave, refrigerator and hairdryer. This hotel is a very reasonable and convenient choice for those looking for a more economical lodging at Park City. It was surprisingly uncrowded at Spring Break in mid-March.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for an inside room away from the mountain side. The incredibly noisy city b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathfinndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden P, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your review! It was a pleasure to hear that you had a great experience with us at Shadow ridge. You are the right! The location is magnificent and wonderful for all the plentiful activity’s that there is to do in Park city. Thank you for pointing out that our staff was exceptional; our team at Shadow Ridge takes great pride in ensuring each guest like your self has a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is a very good location close to the main Park City lifts with about a 5 minute walk across the parking lot. The ski store in the hotel has rentals and discount lift tickets so that was convenient. The people working in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The room was an average hotel room with a small counter area with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. There is parking under the hotel included in the room rate. This is not a high end hotel/resort. It is a basic hotel so don't pay to much... I would have rated it higher if some small items were different... bathroom door was loose and scraped on door frame, front entrance for pedestrians always had cars parked on the sidewalk and you walk down the main road with busses and cars zipping by you to get to the lifts, shower has black dirty grout, you hear everything in the neighboring rooms, the television was small and poor video quality and the bed had an indentation in the center that caused you to roll toward the middle... I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: insist on a room with a new mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MeesterMichaelBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden P, General Manager at Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Michael,

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the honesty in the review and the insight into your stay at the Hotel. As you saw the hotel has average and premium rated rooms. I will look into the room you stayed in and get those small items fixed. A downside to the hotels entrance is the lack of space for vehicles when dropping and/or picking up guests. The front desk staff tries to monitor the parking situation as best as they can so we keep a good rotation going. Again, thank you for the review and appreciate the feedback.

Have a safe trip home.

Branden Peck
Shadow Ridge Hotel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver King Hotel
Silver King Hotel
#30 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.9 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#19 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Apres Lodge
Chateau Apres Lodge
#33 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park City Peaks Hotel
Park City Peaks Hotel
#28 of 60 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel

Property: Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
Address: 50 Shadow Ridge Rd, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Park City
#21 Family Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Stunning views and uncommon affordability make this resort property an ideal destination for couples, friends, families, and of course, larger business groups - home to more than 4,000 square feet of meeting space between four rooms.

Besides Shadow Ridge's exceptional proximity to the ski resort, guests enjoy being close to the galleries, restaurants, boutiques, and nightlife of Park City's Historic Main Street -- just a short half-mile walk or an even shorter half-mile ride via our complimentary on-demand shuttle service. And guests will find no easier access to ski and snowboard rentals than the clothing and rental shop that neighbors the front desk in our newly-remodeled lobby. Moreover, the Park City Municipal Golf Course is just steps away and transforms into a cross country skier's dream in winter, winding through rolling low hills and snow-tipped old growth trees.

Choose from a variety of accommodations, including everything from smaller hotel rooms with cozy private balconies to spacious 1- and 2-bedroom condos complete with full kitchens, warm fireplaces, and comfortable dining areas.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Ridge Hotel Park City
Shadow Ridge Park City
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing