We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park City / Sundance Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Town Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Park City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Park City / Sundance Experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This review is long overdue – Deb my apologies!

My wife and I were attending the first half of the 2012 Sundance film festival in January. While searching for accommodations, I came across The Old Town Guest House. The rates advertised were reasonable for any time of the year, but especially reasonable for the film festival. So after checking other reviews on Trip Advisor we booked our 5 night stay. I received a great confirmation email with all the necessary information about the property and check-in procedures, as well as great advice for our visit.

Upon arrival in Salt Lake City, we took a shuttle from the airport and arrived in the mid-afternoon. As described, the check-in was “self service” and we had a welcome note with our key. We stayed in the Treasure Hollow room which was right off of the living room – the room was bright and spacious with plenty of closet space and a big comfortable bed.

On our first day we skied instead of attending the festival so we set out to the ski area. After a great breakfast and a couple of cups of coffee, we borrowed a community backpack and set out for a day of skiing. It was a short walk down to the end of the street and we were at base of the mountain. At the end of the day, it was another short walk back to the house – very convenient. The hot tub was a welcome relief after a tough day on the slopes.

The rest of the week we were up and out at the crack of dawn in order to view our early a.m. movies so we regretfully missed breakfast on those days. Again, the location of the house is very convenient - only a short walk to Main Street and even less to the bus stops on Park Avenue.

A quick word about the inn keeper Deb: Deb knows Park City, the mountains, and is a great host. She truly seems to love what she is doing and it shows! Don’t miss the chance to have a conversation with her – she has some great stories….

I have recommended The Old Town Guest House to many family and friends and plan to stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
33
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay in the Treasure Hollow room at the Old Town Guest House. This is a large room, with a large private bath, small sitting area, large bed, big windows and separate entrance. It is on the main floor just off the living room, so it might be noisy if the inn is busy. It was very quite when we were there, only one other guest. The OTGH is an easy walk to Main Street, to the incredible yoga studio "The Shop" offering Anyusara yoga, and to the "library" where the local film buffs offer quality movies. We enjoyed the large outdoor deck, the warm and tasty breakfasts, the daily home baked goodies, and the friendly atmosphere of this well appointed but relaxed inn. Especially enjoyed the outdoor sport enthusiasm of the owner Deb and her assistant Sara. They really got us excited and helped us to have some great Alpine hikes, and bike rides. We will definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I'm a photographer and travel a lot. When I'm in Park City, I always make a point to stay here. Since I am constantly on the go, I always make a point of reviewing reservation policies due to inevitable schedule changes. I have always found Deb to be of the greatest assistance when making alterations to my schedule. It is important to understand that a reservation is a two-sided contract and the the terms should be respected and understood especially due to the size of this wonderfully cozy place where holding a reservation means turning other people away.

Room Tip: I stayed in all of them and I love each room's character. Not a bad one in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had a booking in Jan 2012, but due to injuries within our group and the bad snow conditions, we could not risk further injury, we unfortunately had to cancel. No problem, till Deb, the owner, decided to change our cancellation policy from that we had in writing when we had booked. Deb refused to accept the original policy she had sent us, difference? Lose deposit to charge for the full amount. A huge change. During the numerous emails, (she never answered the phone when we called or returned calls, and at times took several days to answer an email). We then asked for an invoice, but outright refused. Kept sending emails with what she thought we had paid, but every email had different figures on it. Not good enough to put in claim to Insurance. She even over charged more than the total amount at one stage. No apology at any stage, just excuses. Apparently due to legal reasons, Deb has no record of our booking once it is cancelled. I have since spoken to a Lawyer, and this statement by Deb is incorrect.
Over many years of travelling, I have never met a person with absolutely no idea how to communicate with clients, accept they could be wrong and apologise. We do hope to go to Park City one day, but will not even remotely consider this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wangy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilesL, Owner at Old Town Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
I would love for everyone to have a wonderful experience at Old Town Guest House and I am so sorry that this person did not make to the Inn. Our cancellation policy is very clear... and I am always happy to answer any questions you have regarding this. The weather was absolutely beautiful this season and the resort skiing was enjoyed by all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great B&B. All the amenities that you would ever need. Warm and cold breakfast items, coffee was amazing. Healthy choices. I stayed in the McConkey Suite which is on the 2nd floor, the only room on that floor. Didn't get a chance to peek into the other three rooms though I wish that I had for the future. Two of the rooms have their own bathroom but share a shower. Didn't seem to be a problem. I was a little worried when I saw the disposable ear plugs on the nightstand, but they were not necessary at all. Quite, quite, quite. Owner Deb and Alice were great hosts. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor McConkey Suite has one queen, one full and one twin (the two later are bunk beds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inga518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed a week at this Old Town gem in Park City. My room was well-stocked and homey with a supportive warm bed, lighting soft yet plenty for reading, no shortage of hot water, and no problems with noise. Breakfast is the best meal of my day there, might be waffles, poached eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, coffeecake, or all of the above! Dietary restrictions are treated as a fun challenge rather than a burden. Loved the view from the hot tub on the deck, especially when it snows! Deb, the Innkeeper is super knowledgeable, happily helpful and makes me feel safe, most important when I go to Ski College and leave the family at home. Park City Mountain Resort is just a short walk down the hill and Park City's wonderful Main Street is also within walking distance. It's easy to stay fit walking around the hilly streets, and the town's bus system is FREE. A fabulous place for a vacation, with family/friends or without!

Room Tip: Treasure Hollow is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was one of the funnest bed and breakfast we have stayed at so far. It's so cute and the inn keeper was just a fun personality. We injoyed our conversations with her. The place is very private and we had the whole place to ourselves. Breakfast was great! we will go back again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybrjunkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main & SKY
Main & SKY
#29 of 60 in Park City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Washington School House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Torchlight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guest House

Property: Old Town Guest House
Address: 1011 Empire Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5212
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 room Inn is the perfect place for active skiers, hikers and mountain bikers wishing to enjoy all that Park City has to offer. We are the only B&B with such a great location and price! Located within walking distance to Main Street with all the shops and restaurants, ski lifts and trails. You won't find a better location. Voted, "Best Inn for Outdoor Enthusiasts" 5 years in a row, the Innkeeper is an avid skier, mountain biker and trail runner with plenty of suggestions on where to go and what to do. This is Park City best for comfort, convenience and affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Guest House Hotel Park City
Old Town Guest House Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing