We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We absolutely loved it,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Summit Watch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Summit Watch
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We absolutely loved it,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I were on our honeymoon. This was the hotel we stayed at on our honeymoon. We only stay one night in Park City but we will be back this winter for a ski vacation and will stay at the Summit again. Rooms were very nice, clean and the people that worked at the hotel were so nice. We love using Trip Advisor when we travel. The reviews are so helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Karenleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    191
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
227
201
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to Jackson Hole. It is a time share but we rented it as a hotel room. The room was very large but did not have many amenities. For example there was a large living room with just a couch - no tables to use. The kitchen did have a small refigerator and microwave but no utensils or plates so eating in would be difficult. It was in a good location but almost impossible to find because it is not located at the street address but in some buildings behind Main Street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pearson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stopped here for one night after flying in to Salt Lake and before driving up to Grand Teton National Park. We had a one bedroom suite, which was the cleanest hotel room I've ever stayed in (have stayed in rooms all around the world, including Ritz, Mandarins, etc). There is no room service, but with so many great Park City restaurants within a 5 minute walk, most with great take out, there is no need. Also, there is an adequately equipped kitchen, and a dining area, so we could have cooked if we wanted to. We were really impressed with the indoor/outdoor pool and rec area which had great activities for the kids. There was also a well-equipped fitness center. The staff were incredibly helpful, both at the front desk and the concierge. Summit Watch was a great base to explore Park City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenisasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We are Marriott owners who traded our two bedroom suite in Florida for a week in Park City, Utah in late July 2011. Since we live in Virginia and because airplane prices have risen so steeply, we wanted to be extremely careful about our choice. The Mountainview advertisements showed it as a wonderful place and we were very excied upon arrival. Unfortunatly, we were just as excited to leave after our week. We hated the Marriott Mountainview experience. Here's why:

(1) From our windows we could only see a large hill that filled up the view. This massive hill filled with brush(not even one tree) was about 50 feet from the windows, so there was actually no view at all. They somehow fail to let you know about this in the advertisements touting the place as a vacation paradise.

(2) Our biggest complaints: Owners receive no recognition of any kind. Renters have their towels and linens changed daily. Owners do not. Renters have their trash dumped. Owners do not. The so called "Owners Lounge" is actually open to anybody who happens by. There isn't even a door to separate the "Lounge" from the rest of the facility. So it was no surprise to find it always crowded with children. In all other Marriott resorts we, as owners, had exclusive use of the lounge, but not here. Actually you don't even need to be a "Renter" to use the Owners Lounge. Just walk into the facility and go up to the 2nd floor and enjoy.

(3) In all other resorts we were greeted by a phone call about 30-minutes after checking-into our room to see how things were going and to ask if we had any questions now that we had arrived into the rooms. Not here. We were always greeted with a folder filled with information about the facility and local community -what to do and who to call. Not here. We have always received discount cards or paperwork of various types to encourage us to eat at this place or that place, and to use nearby stores with a discount for doing so - not here. Nope, not one thing other than having a rack of booklets by the elevator just like what one sees at the Salt Lake Airport advertising things in the entire Salt Lake area. Nothing special about Park City other than a stack of booklets advertising hot air balloon rides. Once an owner checks-in you'll never hear from anybody from the front desk or managers office.

(4) The noise and the children passed description. All day long we had literally dozens and dozens of unwatched children running up and down the halls while shouting to each other. This continued until at least 11 PM every day we wee there. Calls to the front desk did nothing to help calm things down. We truly couldn't get to sleep because of the noise in the hall. We also enjoyed 5-nights of heavy foot stomping directly above our heads by some little child. Not much sound-proofing I guess. We left exhausted. We hated this place and the total failure of the management to help.

(5) The place advertises one beautiful large, heated outdoor pool and several wonderful hot tubs. The photos show beautiful women laying about in the hot sun tanning, with a couple of younger men playing volley-ball in the water. Everybody is happy. What actually happens is there is this one heated pool filled to the brim with noisy children. There is no adult only time in this pool. We used it only one time and gave up. The hot tubs were also filled with children, including kids in diapers. No management help out there at all either. It was horrible.

(6) We met twice with the "Management" of Mountainview and complained and questioned the policies. No help. Instead we were told the owners at Mountainview had voted to strip owners from other resorts of trash, laundry, cleaning privileges because it keeps it cheaper for Mountainview owners. We were told, "Oh, all Marriott properties are doing the very same thing". That's a lie. We own in Florida and there certainly has never been any such idea floating about. No doubt, however, the Mountainview owners are enjoying decent owner privileges at the resorts they use, having purchased at Park City and and swapping whenever possible. Given the mess in Utah I don't blame them for swapping enthusiastically. Meanwhile the rest of us pay about $800 plus maintenance fees annually for our properties and when in Park City spend expensive vacation time washing linens and towels daily. They don't put this in the advertisements. We never knew before this low-point experience that an owner needed to carefully question owner priviliges at any place you might want to swap to utilize. We won't make that mistake again, but it lowers Marriott in our view big time. We honestly feel cheated.

(6) My wife and I are not rich. We live in a nice home in a very nice neighborhood. We joined with Marriott for the possibilities of doing things we would never otherwise do - visit nice locations for vacations. It has been fantastic so far during the past 5 or 6 years of ownership. But this place was a horror story. I cannot recommend it to any other owner. If you want to rent to be there, fine. Then you'll be treated as if you are an owner at another resort and I'm sure you[ll enjoy the experience much more than did we. Mountainview does nothing to encourage owners to stay owners, and it did nothing to help make our expensive vacation special for us. Frankly speaking, we could have saved a ton by swapping for Boston or whatever and saying in a local Marriott Fairfield Inn 30 or 40 minutes away from Park City (in Salt Lake or even in Provo, Orem).

(7) Bottom line: if you are a Marriott owner, you'll be sorry if you swap for Park City. Save your money and go somewhere else, or stay in a local hotel/motel versus Mountainview. It's a shame too since the area is very beautiful. As for my wife and myself, we just spent a years vacation money to live in an undisciplined elementary school.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machinato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here for the Triple Crown World Series in Park CIty. Accomodations were top notch and very nice. Because of timeshare status, also has many activities and events around the property. I would go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cajhawk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had been staying in hotels 2 weeks. When we walked in, my kids couldn't believe how big the room was. We had a 1-bedroom suite and it was indeed huge. Such an incredible value at 149/night in the summer (I've heard they go for 500/night in ski season)! It had a full kitchen (full size fridge & freezer, 4 burner stove, full oven, microwave, toaster, 12-cup coffeemaker, dishwasher. We actually used the fireplace in July after a cold rainstorm blew in and ran us indoors. The bathroom had a huge 2-person whirlpool connected to the bedroom, and a separate shower and toilet was in a separate room. Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable, especially the king bed. The couch folded out into a bed that my two girls slept on and said was comfortable. Good internet included. A great pool (with 4 hot tubs) and activities center included - we did a photo scavenger hunt one morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I go on a father/son ski trip each year. My dad owns a Marriott timeshare unit and we love Park City (over Vail and Tahoe). We have been to Park City 4 years and we have stayed at Summit Watch for 3 of them (we stayed at Mountainside the other year). Needless to say, Summit Watch is perfectly situated. You are at the end of Main Street...and this where all the action is. Sure, it's a nice walk up Main Street after a long day of skiing to get to restaurants, shops, etc...but, it's well worth it.

The rooms have been recently renovated. They are VERY nice. Two bedrooms with a gas fireplace in the middle. The stove, fridge, and everything have been upgraded...mostly stainless steel now. Very nice touches...they have done a great job. Even the beds are comfortable.

The location gives you direct access to the Town Lift...which is really about a 1/2 block walk...very close, very convenient. If you want to ski Deer Valley or The Canyons, you can hop on a shuttle...easy to get around. We do rent a vehicle now so we just drive, but truthfully, the shuttle is fine.

I have not been to Summit Watch 'off ski season' so I cannot comment about the Spring/Summer/Fall months, but for ski season, Summit Watch is a great place to stay. The staff is always very helpful, and the rooms are clean and well-maintained. You simply cannot go wrong with this location!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connoisseurus_Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.5 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#10 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#6 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
1.1 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#18 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Summit Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Summit Watch

Property: Marriott's Summit Watch
Address: 780 Main St, Park City, UT 84060-5103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Park City
#10 Family Hotel in Park City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#16 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Summit Watch 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Summit Watch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Summit Watch Hotel Park City
Marriott Hotel Park City
Summit Park City
Marriott Park City
Park City Marriott
Park City Summit
Marriott's Summit Watch Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing