We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Apres Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Apres Lodge
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Valle Crucis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We found the Chateau Apres Lodge a good place to stay for the two of us. It was clean, warm, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast was more than adequate. The location were very close to numerous ski rental shops and the free Park City bus stop was a short one block walk. A short walk to Starbucks and Fresh Market. The price was very good for what you get.

The negatives were.......jacuzzi would have been nice for tired, sore muscles; coffee maker in my room vs having to wait until after 7:00 and the dining room; major temp fluctuation in the shower; some grumpy old man downstairs that complained about a bump.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheTripTroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We're so glad you found us! While it seems like you enjoyed the majority of your stay, I wish we could have done more to impress you. However, keeping our amenities basic has allowed us to make sure that we can offer an affordable vacation to all of our guests. Still, we'll keep your thoughts in mind, and I hope we'll get to have you back next time you get the urge to hit the slopes!

All the best,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
13
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are looking for a friendly place with simple but clean accommodation, this is the lodge.
Private rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The breakfast downstairs is good with an atmosphere that ensures you get to know a few fellow skiers. The staff are always helpful and most lodgers enjoyed the winter olympics together. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms were fine. The dormitory was basic, however, it did create an atmosphere of commerarderie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimLou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
It's always fun to watch the Olympics after a day on the slopes! Glad you were able to do that, Kim, and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Thanks for sharing that, and keep us in mind for next year!

All the best,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

It's basic and clean. It's location is exceptional. Can't be beat if your looking for something simple for a few days. Good for the guys and not the wives. The staff are friendly and most helpful. You can walk anywhere and do not need a car. Close to bus stop also.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Nope, you can't beat this location! So glad you had a blast with us, Richard. We'll be here next time you get the urge to hit the slopes!

Take care,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just finished 5 days at the Chateau. Location is pretty much perfect as you can walk easily to the lifts as well as into town. All the employees seemed friendly and helpful. The room itself is very small but has the essentials (bed, couch, closet, tv, and bathroom). I was a little put out by the shag carpeting in the room and what seemed like an old comforter on the bed but I was there to ski so barely stayed in the room (like a Las Vegas trip...). It does get loud at night when people are coming home and in the morning when people are going skiing due to the paper thin walls but you should be up skiing anyways! This is a simple and no frills place to stay when doing a few days skiing but I would put it more in the "guys" trip than a place you would bring your significant other.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for making us a part of your trip, Kevin! Although I'm glad you had a blast on the slopes, it seems like you weren't as impressed with your room. As you mentioned, we do keep it pretty basic, but those touches allow us to offer our rooms at such an affordable price. We do improvements every year, and new comforters are always on the list. That said, I hope you'll give us another shot next time you and the guys want to hang out on the mountain. Between our location and this great weather, I know you'll have a great time!

Thanks again,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have been staying at Chateau Apres Lodge for years. The location is convenient, the price is right and the personnel are helpful. The beds are comfy and there is ample hot water. No, it is not "fancy" and the "continental breakfast" is pretty basic but those factors are not important to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefmeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
It's always good to hear from a long-time guest like you! On behalf of our entire team, thank you so much for making us a part of your winter getaways, and for sharing your kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day trip to Park City and we stayed for the second time at Chateau Apres Lodge. As last time, we were not disapointed. You can bet the location (10 min walking distance from the lifts) and very close to the downtown. We took the car to go out and eat but you can walk or take the free buses. The rooms are very basics but have everything you need ( even TV) and very clean. Breakfast in the morning is also very basics but very good. Finally the staff is always very nice and welcoming. The only thing missing is a hot tub for the after ski.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Park city for a very decent price.

Thank you!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room far from the stairs as it gets pretty noisy in the evening and the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for thinking of us once again! We're so glad that you enjoyed your trip, and we hope you'll consider us next time you're craving a little time on the slopes. Until next time, thank you for the kind words, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even better!

Regards,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Chateau Apres for a week in March 2013. I was looking for great location and low cost. Chateau Apres fit the bill: it's within an easy walk to the main entrance of the Park City Mountain Resort (even loaded down with skis) and to a main stop of the free buses to Park City's other ski areas and its Downtown. In fact, you can walk into town, if you wish. The outside of the Lodge looks quite dated but that is misleading: the inside has been updated (though some might say it's been "updated" from the fifties to the seventies - which may be true but isn't a criticism). For me, the best thing about the Chateau (beyond location and price) was its cleanliness -- and I mean really clean. The low room rate included breakfast, minimal but more than adequate -- no hot food except make-your-own oatmeal plus coffee and tea; lots of cold cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries. It's tempting to call my room "no frills" but it included a very comfortable queen-sized bed, a sitting divan, a night table with reading lamp and alarm clock, a very ample bureau, large mirror, a very ample closet, a very up-to-date wall-mounted TV with many channels, a wall mounted telephone (local calls free), and a small private bath (supplied daily with fresh towels) with sink, toilet, stall shower, and medicine cabinet with mirror. Forewarned by prior TripAdvisor reviews, I brought a large bath towel with me. My one caution: a large person would find this particular bathroom uncomfortably small (at 5' 8", 165 lbs., I did not) so a call to the owner in advance would be well advised for larger folk in order to secure larger accomodations elsewhere in the Chateau. The hotel provides free wi-fi and a computer in the lobby (which I used to check e-mails, confirm my outgoing plane reservations, and print my boarding passes). The hotel is three stories and there is no elevator. I might have regretted that absence but, upon my arrival, the Chateau's owner met me at the front door and, without saying a word beyond "Hello and welcome", grabbed my 50-pound valise and led me up to my 3rd floor room, leaving me to follow with my ski & boot bags, feeling guilty all the way up. That initial courtesy and assistance was typical of him and his staff the entire week of my stay.
Bottom line: for value and location in Park City, Chateau Apres can't be beat.

Room Tip: I chose a corner room on the third floor and it was very quiet. I can imagine that, when the Chatea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PickyinMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Great location at a great value—that's what we're all about! Thanks for taking the time to share your detailed review with fellow travelers. It was a pleasure to read! Hope to welcome you back next time you're looking to get away.

Thanks again,
Jason, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
1.2 mi away
Park City Peaks Hotel
Park City Peaks Hotel
#34 of 60 in Park City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.9 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#20 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn
0.2 mi away
Silver King Hotel
Silver King Hotel
#28 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Apres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apres Lodge

Property: Chateau Apres Lodge
Address: 1299 Norfolk Ave, P.O. Box 579, Park City, UT 84060-5494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Apres Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Apres Lodge offers affordable, convenient and comfortable lodging in Park City. We are a true "Skiers Ski Lodge!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau Apres Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Apres Hotel Park City
Chateau Apres Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing