We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Apres Lodge
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Positive things about this hotel:
Location. Only 5min walking to Park City Mountain Resort. Close to Main Street. The bedroons are big and clean. The beds and pillows are good. There's a computer that you can use with internet free for 10 minutes, and wifi free is also available.
There's a continental breakfast included.

Negative things:
There's no lifts. You have to go upstairs with your luggage.
The water doesn't keep the same temperature during the shower. And it's hard to find a good temperature. It's too hot and when you open the cold water a little bit, it gets cold.
The space of the shower is small.
The towels are small and old. Maybe you should bring your own towel.
There's no ski lockers.

They change the towels everyday and clean the bathroom, but they don't do the bed.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucianafab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I spent seven nights in one of Chateau Apres Lodge's third-floor rooms near the base of Park City Mountain Resort. The room itself is nothing to brag about - simply offering a bed, TV and private bathroom - but the location is fantastic.

In one direction, you're about 200 steps from Chateau Apres property to Park City Mountain Resort property. From here, you can easily access the Payday and Cresent lifts, as well as the restaurants and ski shops at the base. I simply put on my boots in the room and made the five-minute walk to the lift each morning.

In the other direction, you're a 10-minute walk (1/2 mile or so) to restaurants and shops on Main Street. It's close enough that your legs will still hold up for that evening walk after that long day on the mountain. We saw no need for a taxi at any time.

Also, free public transportation by bus is available to The Canyons or Deer Valley resorts, as well as a shopping center with a bowling alley, movie theater, etc. The buses seemed to run every half hour or so - depending on the route - and there are stops very close to the lodge (e.g., at the base of the PCMR resort).

The room itself is sparse - and can get noisy depending on how late your next-door neighbors and their friends decide to drink beers into the night - but it serves its purpose: a warm bed at night and a free breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: The second floor is on the same level as the lodge's back door, which leads to the resort. A ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceberg174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very basic lodging: a clean motel room, free basic breakfast ( cereal, oatmeal, pastry, coffee, juice). For the price, I can't imagine a better deal in Park City.

One block from the free busses to Deer Valley and the Canyons, three blocks to the Park City lifts. Can't be beat. Main St is an easy walk.

Parking is at a premium on busy weekends.

I might bring a better pillow next time. That and the towels are a bit small. Typical motel material.

The owners are super nice, answer questions and are always around. Show a sense of pride in the place. Very clean and neat.

Only downside I can think of is their no refund policy and pay up front policy. We were worried about that but it worked out fine. I guess they've been screwed over the years. Don't know what to say, but it's not the only place in town with the same policy.

I'd stay here again over the more expensive resorts. Save the extra money for lift tickets and food!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajhod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is perfect for a snowboard or ski trip. It's in walking distance to the Park City Mountain Resort lifts. Just imagine staying in your grandma's house... The rooms have the old fashion locks on the door where you have to push in the door knob to lock... All of the employees were so friendly. The rooms are super basic. It was perfect for my fiance and I. We went to snowboard and this lodge was exactly what we were looking for... We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kari b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Footsteps away from Park City Mountain Lifts. Also, a direct bus runs to Deer Valley and Canyons nearby. Great place if you really want to ski and get into Utah at a reasonable price. Clean and comfortable rooms, but in reality you should be spending most of your time out on the slopes. 5 minute walk to Downtown Park City Main Street

Note this is not a 5 star hotel, but for the location, friendly staff, and value I highly recommend for any traveler

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The people were SO nice. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Free breakfast in the morning. Free parking in front. It took us 2 minutes to walk to the slopes! Couldn't have been happier with our stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbreviewer60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay! You're right—you just can't beat our location. That said, I'd like to know more about your rating. What else can we do to make you feel at home? Let me know and I'll try to make your next visit even better!

Cheers,
Jason, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Changed my previous booking with this place online via hostelworld.com, received a confirmation of the cancellation and a new confirmation number + price but Chateau Apres was still reluctant to give me a full refund because 'they don't allow late changes'. Strange that the website through which they sell their services allows that then.
Very unfriendly owner who apparently does not care at all about customer relationships.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljunkie99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauapres, Owner at Chateau Apres Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

We remember you well and refunded you $166.00 for your last minute cancellation. We felt this amount to be more than fair. The fee of $40.00 went to pay commissions and services rendered by a 3rd party in which you made your booking, along with multiple credit card transaction fees. Our policies are simple and to the point and are available on our web site and through all other reservation services that we are associated. We acknowledge that you required personal exceptions to our policies as well as more detailed personal attention. We are a small simple place, open seasonally and after nearly 50 years in buisness were not perfect and are always looking for areas to improve, but one thing is certain, we are always fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.8 mi away
Treasure Mountain Inn Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.2 mi away
Silver King Hotel
Silver King Hotel
#31 of 60 in Park City
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caledonian
The Caledonian
#6 of 67 in Park City
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
Shadow Ridge Resort Hotel
#32 of 60 in Park City
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torchlight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Apres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Apres Lodge

Address: 1299 Norfolk Ave, Park City, UT 84060-5494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Park City
Price Range: $108 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Apres Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Apres Lodge offers affordable, convenient and comfortable lodging in Park City. We are a true "Skiers Ski Lodge!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau Apres Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Apres Hotel Park City
Chateau Apres Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing