We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a tourist town”
Review of Shabu

Shabu
Reserve with OpenTable
Shabu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 271 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 4th St.
Transit: We are just a block uphill from the Old Towne transit center
Menlo Park, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a tourist town”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We asked a local shop owner for a good restaurant recommendation during our stroll up Main Street in Park City, and her recommendation of Shabu was just what we needed. We sat at the bar and had extremely delicious sushi and asian-fusion dishes that were full of fresh ingredients and spices/flavors, well-presented and served with welcome hospitality by the bartender and wait staff.

The daily clay pot was a coconut red curry that was awesome! The perfect amount of subtle tangy, sweet and spice.

The green beans with miso sauce were amazing. Tasted almost like a peanut sauce, but it was in fact a miso sauce.

The sushi rolls were fantastic, as was the shrimp hot plate dish and the scallop hot plate.

The best combination of sushi and asian-fusion 'tapas' style small plates that I have ever had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sand_and_sn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    64
    26
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice decor”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place was recommended to us by our tour guide on a ski tour of Park City Mountain Resort, particularly for the firecracker shrimp. He was right about that, it was delicious. Also loved the wagyu beef rock. We went quite early with our kids and place was full of other families - nice to be able to eat somewhere a little higher end with kids without feeling bad. Service was a little wooden.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Sushi on Main St”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ate here during our recent trip to Park City. We liked the atmosphere of this Main St establishment. The aroma that greets you when you open the door turned on my appetite. Good, friendly service even with the town being busy for Sundance Film Fest. Our group of 4 sampled several items from the menu, all was very good. I will definitely come back next time we are in PC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familyOnTheeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Can be too busy, but food is fresh”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Innovative changing menu. Great sushi. Best early or you will be waiting a bit. I sometimes wonder what it would be like if Shabu could have a higher ceiling and more light- Don't be afraid of the hot courses they are some of the best in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ask2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Fusion”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently dined at Shabu and it was just a great experience. Outstanding dishes included the Wagu Hot Rock, Firecracker Shrimp (try the amazing homemade teriyaki sauce) and the nightly Hot Pot all from the Small Hot Plate menu. It is not inexpensive, but for us the quality was worth it. The ambiance is a funky mountain casual blend and the restaurant is conveniently located centrally for pre/post dinner Main Street shopping and/or drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaWSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shabu also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Shabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing