We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely amazing hotel!!!”
Review of Main & SKY

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main & SKY
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely amazing hotel!!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

we were in park city on a day trip from SLC and on a whim, walked in to the very nice hotel bar. we had no intentions of staying in park city, as we still had a hotel room in SLC, but they mentioned they had some special rates going on, given that it was low season. we ended up staying there and WOW, what a hotel. the room was HUGE, and had the highest quality appliances. whoever decorated the place was a genius. the giant patio had a hot tub, and not some crappy hot tub but a really nice one. the bathroom looked like something out of a showroom. the car valet put bottles of water in our car in the morning. breakfast in the very nice restaurant was included, and they told us we could order whatever we wanted. i can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigmaChiMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    41
    16
    6
    18
See reviews for
123
120
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Stayed at this hotel with 2 of my friends. We booked a 2 BR suite. Called in advance because we wanted to make sure the suite had a billiards table and they were able to accommodate us. Also asked if the same room had a jacuzzi on the balcony as they advertise some of their suites do. Was assured that our room did in fact have the jacuzzi. On the morning of our check in day (we weren't going to get to the hotel until around midnight due to our flights) I called to have our fridge stocked with some groceries since we wouldn't be able to go food shopping since we were arriving so late at night. This is an advertised service on their website. The "concierge" said that they needed more advanced notice than the morning of check in to be able to do that for us. I was disappointed but understood that if this was hotel policy, we could do nothing about it (even though other 5 STAR hotels I have stayed at would never think of denying such a request - Four Seasons please open up a park city resort SOON).
We finally get to the hotel and check in was smooth. Asked the front desk person about the grocery shopping service and he told me that it was "strange" that the person I called earlier in the day didn't comply with my order. He said there was no reason that he could think of why they weren't able to accommodate us earlier. This is where the inconsistencies began. We get to the room and it was beautiful. Nice sitting area, great pool table, and 2 very nicely sized bedrooms with individual bathrooms. All beautiful. Walk outside to our balcony (to a nice view of the parking lot ramp) and see that instead of a jacuzzi there were only a couple of chairs. Call up front desk person again and told him that we were assured our room had a jacuzzi. He also found this, in his words again "strange". Since when was "strange" an appropriate answer to guest questions? Was told that he would put a note in our reservation, but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and we probably wouldn't be able to change our room. Next we asked if we could order room service but it was too late and it was closed for the night. So we were directed to go to Albertson's, the supermarket, as it was the only place open past midnight. I told the front desk that we wouldn't have to go to albertsons if they had done advance grocery shopping for us like we had requested. When the front desk in the morning said it was policy not to accept these requests, I can understand, but when the front desk at night said it shouldn't have been a problem, thats an issue. There needs to be some sort of consistency in a hotel's message.
The hotel does supply nice coffee to use with the coffee maker. We were very pleased with that. Ordered room service in the morning, took a little longer than we would have liked, but since the hotel was "fully booked" we could understand the delay. After bfast we suited up and were ready for our day, went out and had a great day. Came back, went to the sky club on the roof for a couple of drinks (was pretty quiet), but nice. Friendly service and prepared hors d'oeuvres were laid out for guests to enjoy. We ate at the easy st restaurant and the food was delicious with a great wine list.
We were checking out on a sunday, but our flights werent until later that evening so we wanted to get in a half day of riding on the mountain. We asked for a late check out, but unfortunately since the hotel was full, they could not accomodate us. They said they would be more than happy to hold our stuff in the storage room though. We asked if there was facility where we could shower or freshen up when we got back before heading to the airport. We were told "no" by the lady at the front desk in the morning, they needed to clean the rooms. Being that most resorts closed for the season after that Sunday, it was unlikely that any major influx of tourists would be descending upon Park City, but then again, I could be wrong.
I found it odd that for the hotel being completely booked, we hardly saw anyone there at all. The ski valet lays out all the guests ski equipment out on the front patio for guests to take before heading to the mountain. On any of the three mornings I went outside (and I do wake up early), there was hardly any gear. Now it would be wrong to believe that all hotel guests have their own equipment, or are in Park city strictly for skiing, but just by the time i spent in the restaurant, at the roof top bar, even the time i sat sitting outside by the front lobby, there was HARDLY any foot traffic. We were also told by many of the staff how quiet the season as a whole has been and that business has been slow. To quote the front desk person from our first night, I found it "strange" that we were getting what I believed to be subpar service, especially with the lack of guests the hotel had that weekend.
After a half day of riding at the resort, we came back to the hotel around 230pm and there was a different person at the front desk. She had the valet gather up our gear from the storage and then she asked us if we would like to take a shower or freshen up before we left for the airport. We were quite surprised as we didn't think it was an option as per the morning front desk person. She said we could use the shower bathrooms by the swimming pool and told us there was shampoo and towels there for us to use. We were of course glad to be able to freshen up but again were disappointed in the inconsistency of service and message the hotel provided us. The level of service guests get here tend to vary with different shifts and people manning the front desk or "concierge".
The swimming pool is on the same floor as our suite, and oddly when I was going back to the lobby after showering, and passing the room we had stayed in, I saw that the housekeeper was just getting to our room to clean it for the FIRST TIME THAT DAY!!! I took a look inside while the door was open and saw that nothing had been touched since the morning. Now why couldnt the hotel have accomodated us a late check out so we could have actually showered in the comfort of our room and in privacy instead of by the pool?? We were made to keep our things on a heavily walked on floor, with barely any room to change or move around.
After packing up our car, we were happy to be leaving this establishment. Sure the hotel is beautiful, location is great, food was good and you have a nice bar, but I believe staying in a vacation home rental a block or two away would have been no different than staying in this hotel (in total experience or price) due to the lack of attention we received. Think twice before booking a room here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imn204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTheSkyLodge, Manager at Main & SKY, responded to this review, May 14, 2009
Whenever we disappoint a guest it is a top priority for us to understand the circumstances surrounding the issues so that we can ensure this does not happen again.
From our records it appears that we had originally received this reservation via the internet and had reserved a standard two bedroom unit with a hot tub. Later on the reservation was upgraded to a two bedroom unit with a billiard table that unfortunately did not have a hot tub. We are unsure if we properly communicated the lack of a hot tub when the room move was made and sincerely apologize for that disappointment. We would certainly have tried to move our guests to a unit with a hot tub if they let us know that was a higher priority than a billiard table.
During this period we did have a very full hotel as the ski area had extended their season one week and we had a lot of last minute reservations. We only have four units like the one in question and, as they are very popular, they were all booked with new arrivals. I was pleased that our staff did their best to provide a place to freshen up prior to departure by opening the pool restrooms - which is not a normal procedure.
With regard to the grocery service we must have a minimum of 24 hour advance notice as we use an outside company to provide this service.
I was pleased that all the other experiences at the hotel and restaurant were well received and we would hope those are kept in mind when deciding to join us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2009

My girlfriend planned a over night trip to Park City for a little get away. (We live in Salt Lake) We initially had a room booked at a different rental condo with a hot tub, kitchen, living room ect. Upon arriving there things we not as we expected. Long story short we ended up leaving very upset. We decided to drop by The Sky Lodge to see if they had anything available. Upon arriving we were greeted by the very friendly courteous staff. We told them our story and they had great sympathy. Not only did they find us a room but it had a hot tub on the balcony, full kitchen and was absolutely amazing. Holy Shower. Next time we are planning a little romantic get away this will be the place the visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermac95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2009

My wife and I went there for a long weekend of rest and relaxation. The property was beautiful and the staff wonderful. From the time that we checked in to the time we left, we felt that we had found a home away from home. The location was perfect - within walking distance of old town Park City. And the food - amazing!! We so enjoyed the cupcakes each night at turndown. We also enjoyed a superb dinner in the Easy Street Restaurant. My prime rib was melt in your mouth!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFamFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee,fl
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We loved our time at the Sky Lodge-took our college age daughters for spring break-we are novice skiiers from Florida. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly(especially Michel and Paul-thanks guys)
Rooms are lovely-we liked the modern decor-while still offering warmth and comfort.
The location is perfect-we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoebrush3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

When I travel I want the accomodation to be at least as comfortable as home. This place was it, clean, new, fireplaces in the rooms and in public areas (including outside) private and public hot tubs. Walking distance to ski lifts, shops and restaurants. Ski valet was great to have after a tough day skiing. All of the staff were extremely helpful, prompt and friendly. Sky Club looks pretentious on the web site, but it is not, good apres ski place. Worth the price, but you may not want to leave! I preferred the 1 bedroom to the 2 bedroom we saw.

  • Liked — High quality room decor
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I knew from their website that the rooms would be amazing, but you have to actually be there to see how great they are! The decor is modern but still cozy. The rooms are very clean, and comfortable for my family. We loved the full kitchen! The rooms also can be adjusted to a comfortable temperature- most ski resorts we have stayed at keep the rooms way too warm to sleep with the heavy down covers! The staff is so nice and friendly- we really hated to leave! This location is great- you can walk to skiing and Main street shopping and restaurants, plus it makes the view really nice!

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank JetsetterCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 mi away
Washington School House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Summit Watch
Marriott's Summit Watch
#10 of 60 in Park City
613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treasure Mountain Inn Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#9 of 60 in Park City
590 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main & SKY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main & SKY

Property: Main & SKY
Address: 201 Heber Avenue, Park City, UT 84060 (Formerly The Sky Lodge)
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Park City
#9 Spa Hotel in Park City
#11 Family Hotel in Park City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Park City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Main & SKY 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, in the heart of Park City, tucked amongst the lingering history of Main Street's remaining legends-those of fortunes won and lost, of wild fires, rebirth and rebuilding, of movie stars and bar brawls-you'll find Main & SKY, a modern, 33-suite landmark that blends the luxury lifestyle and intimacy of a chic, private home with the amenities of a world-class destination hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Main & SKY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sky Hotel Park City
Sky Hotel Park City
Main & SKY Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing