We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place but not as convenient as they lead you the believe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silverado Lodge
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Pinecrest, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent place but not as convenient as they lead you the believe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Lodge property was fine - very typical for a condo-hotel property. And our 2BR unit was very spacious - and more then 2x the space of the 1BR units.

Our big issue with this place is that we stayed there, knowing it was not ski in/ski out, under the assurances that the shuttle to the lifts ran "constantly" and the ride in the shuttle was "less than 1 minute." Well, neither of these was true and we waited, at times, for up to 20 minutes for the van. And the ride took, on days, as much as 10 minutes. In the past we have always stayed at ski in/ski out and took a chance this year. Wrong move. So if you want true ski in/ski out accommodations, your only options are Sundial or Grand Summit.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids (i.e., 3 or more people), the 1BR suite will be too small for you. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamhilse, Manager at Silverado Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Silverado Guest-
Thank you for spending your time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. We need to be aware of the shortcomings of our resort and will review your experiences with our guest shuttle to insure it's resolved immediately. We hope that your time on our mountain provided you with some fun memories of your trip to Park City.

Happy Travels,

Pam Hilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    61
    27
    17
    11
See reviews for
73
43
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had stayed at the Silverado last year and had a fantastic time so we thought we would try again this year. Unfortunately, we had a very different experience. The property was fully booked and it seemed as if they were completely unprepared for this. Which seems very strange since this is a ski resort and they should know that they will be busy over the winter break.

While we experienced a number of issues (no bathrobes, which they provided on our last visit, coffee pot did not fit the coffee maker, dryer did not work), the most notable was the lack of towels. Here were 5 of us staying in the 1 bedroom condo (which was officially on the reservation) but they only provided us with 4 towels each day. Every day we explained the need for 5 towels and every day they would put 4 in the room. On one of the days, we took showers in the afternoon so we called to get fresh towels for the morning. After making numerous attempts to have towels delivered, they never arrived. The explanation from the hotel was that they were at capacity and therefore it was difficult to get us the towels. How does a hotel run out of towels?! We heard a number of other guests complaining about towels as well.

We will probably give the Silverado another chance, but we were very disappointed by our recent experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101a/b. it was a smaller 1 bedroom unit than we had on our last trip and it is just above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_in_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamhilse, Manager at Silverado Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Silverado Guest:
We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts about our property on TripAdvisor. We understand this was your vacation and due to the issues highlighted, it wasn't as wonderful as you had hoped. We thank you for your faith in us and do wish you return to Canyons so we can find the perfect room fit and provide the favorable experience you had on your previous stay.

Best Regards,

Pam Hilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We packed up the family for a Christmas vacation at the Canyons near Park City Utah. Three skiers, two snowboarders, and a "I don't like the cold, so I'm staying in" college student.

Getting there is easy - a flight to SLC (Salt Lake City), followed by a short drive (~30 minutes) from the airport to the front door at the Silverado Lodge. The drive from SLC is interstate for all but the last few miles which are on a four lane/two lane road that is fairly flat and well maintained.

The Canyons resort is about 4-5 miles south of I80 on HWY 40/189 as you head towards Park City. There are a couple of large retail developments at the exit intersection (Smiths Grocery, Whole Foods, a theater, a Tanger outlet mall, restaurants, etc..). The Silverado Lodge is at the base of the mountain - not quite at the lifts, but quite close and with the free shuttle system, it's a quick 3-4 minute ride from the condos to the ski lifts and resort square.

We've been to Colorado and British Columbia to ski, and this has far easier access in terms of travel time and cost. For us, it's a direct flight to SLC so that makes it even better!

The Silverado Lodge was constructed in 2007 and is appointed very nicely inside and out. The rooms are upscale and have granite countertops, ski lodge wood furniture, fireplaces in each condo (including the bedrooms and living areas), and quality appliances (except for our toaster!). Amenities include a pool, hot tub, sauna, workout room, ski/board storage, free on demand shuttle service around the resort and underground enclosed parking.

There are four or five layouts for the condos - studio//1bd/2bd/3bd/4bd configurations with 1-4 baths depending on the layout. Many of the layouts feature "property manager lockable" doors between rooms to enable rental flexibility for rooms and living areas. For example, a three bedroom condo might be split up for rental into a 2 bedroom with a full kitchen and a studio (room refrigerator and coffee maker - perfect for a quick weekend getaway sans kitchen). This seems like a nice arrangement to maximize flexibility for an investment/rental property.

The best feature of the property is the excellent service and onsite management / personnel. They are exceptionally friendly and very helpful and do their best to ensure you have an enjoyable time. Best in class from what we experienced. The location is not ski in / ski out, but it doesn't matter with the shuttle service and the helpful staff. I was skeptical when we arrived, but it was not an issue whatsoever.

For families or couples wanting a great ski lodge with excellent access and service, the Silverado Lodge should be considered if you are heading to the Utah Ski areas near Salt Lake City.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the side of the property that faces the employee parking area for the resort. When it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdavis103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamhilse, Manager at Silverado Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Blended Snowboarder/Skier Family:
Thank you for posting your kind words about Silverado on the TripAdvisor website. Your thoughtful description about our property and close proximity to the SLC airport proves very helpful for future guests scouting the perfect ski/snowboarding destination. I am most pleased that you shared such wonderful comments about our team at Silverado and Canyons Resort. We strive to provide extraordinary, memorable experiences for our guests and are so pleased you recognized those efforts.

We look forward to hosting you at our resort again!

Sincerely,

Pam Hilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanship
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We held a 4 day business meeting here with a number of International Travelers. This was off season (October) so the resort was fairly deserted. The Silverado rooms are very nice with large bathrooms, balconies and fireplaces. There is no bar in the Silverado so a fairly long uphill walk is required to get a drink. The very odd Utah liquor laws are in effect so all of the draft beer is watered down (3.2%) and you can't get a double. The servers are trained to tell you that 3.2 beer is the same as regular beer and this is unfortunatley not true. You can go to the State Liquor in Kimball Junction and buy some overpriced alcohol and keep it in your room as they do provide a fridge.
Other than that if you are visiting to ski the Canyons is a big area with good terrain and the legendary Utah powder sometimes although last winter was very scarce for snow. We did have a dinner at the Farm resturant and the food was well prepared but the wine list is really overpriced as it is in Utah in general. My advice: Spend your vacation money in Colorado or Wyoming where you can get a real beer on draft for a reasonabe price. Utah is just too weird a place.

Room Tip: The lodge is broken up into a number of levels. Choose a room facing toward the mountain. We were pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamhilse, Manager at Silverado Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello Business Traveler-
Thank you for your kind words regarding Silverado Lodge at Canyons Resort. We enjoyed hosting your group and look forward to future events. You are correct that mountain resorts experienced a dry snow year 2011-12 season, thankfully, our big snow guns were able to still make it fun. Happily, as I type this, we are getting our first major snowfall (Oct. 25th) and anticipate a BIG snow year to follow! We hope you can join us for fresh powder when we open November 23rd.
Best,
Pam Hilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! My wife and I decided to have a getaway to Park City. We purchased our stay through Expedia.com. We were put in a room that had no air conditioning. We didn't sleep the entire night. I called the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do about it.

I'm not rich, so $130 is a lot of money to me. I asked for the room to be comped. They said I would have to call Expedia.. I did. Expedia refused a refund. I told the front desk that I didn't want to leave until I get my money back. The manager told me that she would work with the reservation specialist to get me the money back. My wife and I left and within an hour, the manager called and told me that the reservation manager agreed to refund my money and I would see the refund on my card within 5 business days. 2 WEEKS go by and there isn't a refund. I call the manager back, leave messages, and she doesn't call me back. Finally she did, and said that I misunderstood her and they won't refund.

Read the other negative reviews on here. You will find that the experiences are very similar. This place is a joke. Please learn from my experience and go stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Middle_Mania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamhilse, Manager at Silverado Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Silverado Guest:
Thank you for posting a comment on TripAdvisor, we are appreciative of all comments as this is where we learn our successes and shortcomings. We always strive for positive guest experiences and apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to learn and grow.

Sincerely,
Pam Hilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My company hosts a conference there each year. I look forward to the conference each year. The property is very nice, clean and well maintained. The rooms are very well appointed. The amenities are nice. The rooms have flat panel TV's and a fireplace which makes it very comfortable. The views there are beautiful. This property is great any time of year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamhilse, Manager at Silverado Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Valued Silverado Guest:
Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor, we are thankful for your kind words. Canyons Resort is a beautiful place in summer and I'm appreciative you've highlighted that in your response. Winter activities are fun but it's also great to hike, bike and enjoy nature minus the parka! We look forward to hosting your conference and seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Silverado is part of the Canyons Resort. I was here in June, and while there were numerous dining and recreational options, it's clear that this area thrives in the winter ski season.

The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms and everything else at the property were very clean, and the decor was kind of "modern lodge" - think logs but flat-screen TV's. The bathroom was particularly nicely designed.

Can't speak to the shuttle that runs to downtown and other Park City locations; instead used the car for transportation. Park City has places to stay in resorts, downtown, and newer developments. If you're interested in staying at a resort, this property is worth a look.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamhilse, Manager at Silverado Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Silverado Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your kind words and recommendation of our property. As Canyons strives to be a summer and winter recreational resort we have recently opened Zipline Tours, Pedal Boats and a Catch and Release Fishing Pond in addition to our established Hiking & Biking trails. We look forward to seeing you next trip so you can enjoy some of these adventure driven activities.

Best,
Pam Hilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Resort
2.6 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#11 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#9 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
3.3 mi away
Silver King Hotel
Silver King Hotel
#30 of 60 in Park City
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Park City
Hyatt Place Park City
#14 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Lodge

Property: Silverado Lodge
Address: 2669 Canyons Resort Drive, in the Canyons Resort, Park City, UT 84098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Park City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverado Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverado, a luxurious retreat, masterfully designed for the most discriminating of tastes. Cozy fireplaces, vaulted ceilings and oversized decks grace many of the suites. This exceptional property offers guest room accommodations including individual hotel rooms, studios and 1-4 bedroom suites. This truly is a Park City gem offering timeless elegance and quality amenities in a premium location near Canyons Resort Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Silverado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Hotel Park City
Silverado Lodge Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing