We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A rush.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Coaster

Alpine Coaster
Ranked #6 of 88 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thrill seekers, meet your match on Utah's largest Alpine Coaster. The elevated track winds you through more than a mile of loops, curves and hair-pin curves at speeds up to 30 mph. Just like your favorite roller coaster - but with the refreshing mountain scenery of Park City.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A rush.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This was a lot of fun, and the sights are incredible. We rode twice in a row. Just think of a roller coaster that you control.

Helpful?
Thank Txtravels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    135
    39
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
223 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Crazy addictive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This ride is more fun than you might think! Buy an unlimited pass and visit Park City Mountain Resort on an off-day, and ride this coaster over and over! Test it out the first time and enjoy the scenery. Then let it rip the second time with no brakes!! I took my 4-year-old grandson, and he laughed and laughed! On busy days, the lines can be unbearably long. If a thunderstorm rolls into town, you're out of luck. Everything closes down with even a threat of lightning. (And no refunds!) Just know that you are always in control of your own speed, so this ride works for everyone, no matter how cautious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun but not worth $20”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was definitely an experience, not dissimilar to a luge-type ride.
Over-priced but the only thing like it offered in PC so good on them for making the most of it.
We enjoyed it, and in the snow it was beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EckoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whhhheeeeeeeeeee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Give your feet a break from your ski boots. Hop in your own coaster car and relax for the leisurely ride up. The brakes are in your own control for the way down..... fast is fun!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“FUN!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family went up to Park City for a few hours the day after Thanksgiving and rode the Alpine Coaster. We ALL had fun on it, even kids age 5, 7, and 8.

This is how it works: Go to the Park City Ski Resort and purchase tickets at the ticket window. Tickets are $20 per adult and $7 per passenger. A maximum of 2 people can go on each cart. The coaster is set up next to the chair lifts at the base of the mountain. Contrary to other posts, you do not ride the chair lift up the mountain. They strap you into your cart at the base of the mountain and the coaster pulls you up to the top. We came prepared with snow pants and everything since I thought we would be riding the chair lift. Not necessary unless its dumping snow. I would suggest gloves and hats in the winter though.

Once you get to the top, you can hold the lever(s) all the way forward and go as fast as you can or you can pull them back to slow you down. It gets going pretty fast!

The reason I gave this activity 4 stars is because of the price. However, it was a lot of fun.

Check the hours before you go. The coaster was only open from 12 - 4 pm the day we went.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bbradshaw_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Coaster also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Alpine Coaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing