We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Viking Yurt

The Viking Yurt
Ranked #49 of 248 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a fun special occasion dinner, we went on New Year's. The sleigh ride was really nice, but they really need more blankets for cold nights. We were all dressed appropriately but it was under 10 degrees with some wind and a couple more blankets for the group would have helped a lot.

Dinner was really excellent, as was the service. The only course we didn't like much was the dessert, which was an apple pie-type thing, but the apples were undercooked and kind of sour. This was a very expensive night but it was worth it for a special night out.

If you do this take to heart their recommendation to dress in layers. It was really hot in the yurt because they had the woodstove really cranking. also keep in mind that the facilities are essentially outhouses. Heated, but still. They also required walking over snow to get to them, this is not a handicapped accessible kind of thing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Loved it from beginning to end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were skiing on the mountain and decided to try it for lunch after our chair lift mates recommended it. It was so cozy, well priced and excellent. Recommend the hot spiced wine and my husband was happy to try a shot of aquavit.
Went to dinner the next night and that was such an amazing evening. The dinner has fantastic fancy food. The sleigh ride was just beautiful. The piano music was elegant. A very romantic evening we will never forget.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience not just a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I did this a few years ago and it was just a delightfully fun experience. Even though it cold and snowing, the ride up to the Yurt was not really cold. The drivers provide blankets and the people on the back of the plow with you provide the warmth. At one point not too far from the Yurt we had the option of snowshoeing the rest of the way to the Yurt, I was apprehensive since it was dark and snowing, but it ended up being great fun. The food was one dimensional but very good (along with the Grog) - there is the Viking theme after all :) I would like to do it again and would love to have friends do it too. I would not take young children only older hardy children :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank later
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of our best nights on the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Took my wife for her birthday in February. From the sleighride in the snow to round after round of great food and Drink, we had a splendid memorable evening.

Helpful?
2 Thank jkga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Viking Yurt @ PCMR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Nice rest stop in your skiing day for a quick lunch, to enjoy a hot or cold drink or just kick back and enjoy the view. Sit outside the yurt in an Adirondack chair and catch some sun.

Helpful?
Thank GreggSBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viking Yurt also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Viking Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing