We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing night of fun and Great food.”
Review of The Viking Yurt

The Viking Yurt
Ranked #53 of 271 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Norwegian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Charleston, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing night of fun and Great food.”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We met at the Legacy lodge at Park City Mountain Resort. Rode up to the Yurt on a Sleigh pulled by a snow cat. The ride up was beautiful. When we got there we were welcomed by the staff and met the chef. The Yurt had a fun casual yet romantic atmosphere. The Menu was amazing. The food was delicious the only problem was, it was so good I ate too much. MY BAD. We met some amazing people, had a great time, had wonderful service and Great tasting food. The drinks were great too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendaenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The location is awesome for skiing. Four star on the mountain, what else could you ask for!!

Helpful?
Thank Del-Sol0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Tomato curry soup and a grilled cheese yumm. Great little gem on the mountain.

Helpful?
Thank Travelrella2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice, but overpriced and limited menu”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The sleigh ride up the mountain is romantic and fun in that there is a nice camaraderie that develops among the people on board. We met some interesting locals and heard a number of interesting stories about Park City behind the scenes. Once up at the Yurt you are assigned to a table which can be a bit awkward depending on who you get matched up with. The ride up is cold, dress warmly but in layers as the Yurt is very warm (hot) and you need to strip down once there unless you want to get heat stroke. The courses are a bit on the esoteric side, and might not line up with some people's likes. Check out the menu before you go, as you can order salmon if you do call them ahead of time. Portion size is also not generous. I ate most of my dinner and half of my wife's, yet I was not full when I left. Overall it was a nice experience and I enjoyed it. However, the price after the 18% tip and 8.45% tax are added on is at least $100 more then it should be. Also, be forewarned that any alcohol they offer you during the dinner is extra.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevedunn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loghomelady, Owner at The Viking Yurt, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Yep, there is a limited menu as it is a fixed menu. All the food in snowmobiled in and prepared in a 15 ft wide yurt kitchen with no walk in refrigerators.
If alcohol was included in the dinner price we would lose our liquor license as that is against Utah State law. But that is clearly noted on the website and confirmation letter.
Sorry this man was not full after his five course dinner. This very unusual but can happen.
The web site and confirmation letter again warns you to dress in layers as there is no automatic thermostat to regulate the wood fired stove. If you inform the servers they can open the bubble at the top of the yurt to cool it down or add another log to the fire to heat it up.
All of down sides are addressed on the F&A section of the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Valley Views”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Had a great meal and trip up and down the mountain. The experience was a ton of fun and we would definitely do this again. We even had a lengthy proposal in the restaurant which was eventually accepted. I wonder if we are going to be invited to the wedding? They said that happens quite a bit.

The shared tables were great. Our table companions were great and we actually got some good wine tips. The piano was a nice touch as well.

A couple of hints:
1. Don't sit in the seats right by the wood burning stove they are really warm.
2. BYOB - we didn't know and their wine list is somewhat limited.
3. Sit with you back to the snocat on both the way up (great views as you ascend the mountain) and the way down (no snow kicked up in your faces.)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viking Yurt also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Viking Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing