We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at the Newpark Resort as a anniversary getaway, for two nights at the end of February. Its located right off the freeway, in a shopping center, and across from Wal-Mart/Olympic Park entrance, and about 5 minutes from the Tanger Outlets and 3 ski resorts.

Our first impression was "Bizarre." From the way it looked to the overall layout, this was the best word to describe it. Parking is haphazard, aside from the main lot directly in front. The entrance/check-in is not clearly marked. We ended up walking right past the front doors and in the side door, because a "Newpark Resort" sign hung there. There are two buildings connected by second story walkway with a little street running under. Our room was in the second building, which we could get to by taking the elevator to the second floor, walking across the connecting walkway and then taking the elevator up to the fourth floor, OR by walking outside, crossing the little street and using our keycard to enter and then take the elevator to the fourth floor. Confused yet? Like I said, bizarre.

We opened the door to our room, and were confused by a long hallway. *see pics* There was straight wall on the right, and lots of different doors on the left, starting with the connector door to a separate suite. Then a series of closets and a stackable washer/dryer unit. (soap & softener could be purchased from a machine on the 3rd floor) Then our room, which contained a HUGE bed, soft and comfy with crisp white linens. It also had a wall-mounted TV and a chair. I was pleased to see an iHome alarm clock on the little pedestal next to my side of the bed. Our iPhones fit perfectly into it! This room wouldve been dark and cavernous had it not been for the window in the back left corner. However, it looked right into other rooms, and when you looked down, it was just a gravel square below with no entrance/exit. Hard to describe.

The next door was our bathroom, which was gorgeous! All travertine and glass, with big, thick towels, and little packets of q-tips and cotton balls. Dont rely on using their toiletries, they suck. LOL There was ONE bar of soap, which did smell good, but stll, just one for sink and shower. There was also lotion, shampoo and conditioner all the size and circumference of a mans thumb. Not enough for multiple guests, thank goodness my hubby has no hair! If he had, though, the "conditioner" wouldve left him needing to be conditioned. LOL Wal-Mart to the rescue! Heres the annoying part, though. We were so excited to see this gorgeous shower, and when we turned it on, it TRICKLED. I HATE that! Is this what they meant when the said this is a "green" hotel? We warmed up by filling the huge, 2 person tub and taking a soak.

The living room (25 paces from the front door- I have a 32" inseam...) had a comfy leather couch, a nice chair, gas fireplace which ran on a timer, full kitchen, a table with chairs and a VERY annoying thermostat. This thing NEVER stopped. Once you set the room to the temp desired, it would go til it reached this point, then a very loud click would switch back to cold air, then a loud click again to switch back to warm air to just undo what the cold air did, and this continued on and on ad nauseum. LOL It was NEVER just quiet. We were either hot or cold, and we finally turned it off so we could sleep.

Outside our sliding glass door, our deck overlooked the shopping center and ski runs to the right, and the wildlife preserve to the left. We had 2 chairs and a little hot tub waiting for our use, and later, when the power went out (with no notice from the hotel even though it was a planned outage for maintanence work) we clicked on our fireplace for some romantic light and went outside to sit in our tub under the stars. I have to say, that was nice.

Below us wafted scents of pizza, so on Saturday night we walked downstairs to Maxwells for some late-night eats (9pm) to find they had a TWO hour wait! The maitre'd asked if we were staying upstairs in the hotel, and when we answered in the affirmative, she said they could call us when our order was ready. That was fine with us, so we crossed the little street in the meantime and got some gelato to take back and put in our freezer for dessert. About 10 minutes later, a surprise knock on the door to find the maitre'd had our food brought up for us! That was a very welcome treat, as it was about 15 degrees outside and the thought of leaving our room again made us shiver. So one yummy pizza and caprese later, we dug into our DIVINE chocolate gelato.

All in all, it was an okay experience. We enjoyed the hot tub, big comfy bed, and convienient shopping. Try the bruschetta at Red Rock Brewery located in the same shopping center, AMAZING! (theres a movie theatre too!) Also, we tried Flanagans on Historic Main Street. That was FANTASTIC! Ask for internet at check-in, its free. They give you a paper with their log on info for wireless. One last thing, ski rentals are located outside the hotel in the back, extremely convenient if you dont want to bring your own. Rent in advance online for a 30% discount at www.skirentals.com/newpark.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 742 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

This is my first review I've ever done and I think the reason that I took the time to do it is because I really enjoyed Newpark and plan on returning there again.

For the second annual "guys" trip, we decided to ski in Utah. Last year we went to Breckenridge and Vail, and while we had a great time, the travel time was excessive, especially the drive from Denver to the resorts. I'd been to Park City area twice before and stayed in Park City and Deer Valley (both trips were when I was younger and my dad paid for everything!) Now we were looking for a good value and convenient to all three resorts (Canyons is an excellent resort). My friend found Newpark Resort and the reviews were good. We booked the two-room suite but ultimately switched to the townhouse. I am so glad we did because it was incredible. We found out the units are individually owned and some people actually book directly through the owner. We did it through the hotel but you may be able to get a better price if you search online. Although I can't imagine paying less that $300/night for a two bedroom, three full bath garage townhome with a full kitchen, living room, internet, room for 8 comfortably (there is a bunk bed in the upstairs hallway) hot tub and fireplace.

The hotel ammenities are excellent. It has ski/board rental in the lobby, indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, sauna, steamroom, work out facility. There is a shopping center right there that has a Whole Foods, another supermarket, Bed, Bath & Beyond, a movie theater, multiple restaurants (Maxwells and Red Rocks were good casual places), Petco and shops. They are building a Best Buy and a bowling alley. It is a cool center with a lot to do.

Lastly, the manager Ryan was extremely helpful and I hope he enjoyed the gift we gave him.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lufeelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Overall, we cancelled a hotel in park city itself in lieu of the great rate we received at this hotel. It is farther out near I-80, and we were unsure if this was good or bad in the big picture. Turns out this really was just fine - and overall our decision to stay here was a good one. Overall we rated it a five. A couple things to consider

1. If you stay here, you are really at the end of a shopping complex - which is good in terms of available resources, etc. Downside is that you are not in the city of Park City itself - and thus some people might prefer that location. I would estimate you receive at least a 50% reduction in price, however, for staying here in comparison - for a brand.new resort with upscale ammenities. you choose pending you desire.
2. while there is a shuttle that goes to the major ski resorts, we always rent a car out here - and found it MUCH easier just to drive to park city, deer valley, and/or others - and during the week (President's week, mind you) we had no trouble finding close parking. I would thus definitely recommend a car while here
3. we were 'upgraded' from the hotel into a townhome condo. Turns out these condos are quite impressive. they have the best view in comparison to the hotel. very large. fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, and a garage. The hottub outdoor on your porch - was super, and the kids, etc. loved as well.
4. best part of staying here were the other people - all very nice. kid friendly. and we met a continual group of talkative interesting individuals in the pool/hot tub daily.

Overall, I would return. I understand the other comment on being in a 'shopping center' , but that wouldn't deter me at all from returning. This place had everything

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLove2Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

The location is OK. It is in a shopping center about 15 minutes drive from Park City/Deer Valley and maybe 5 minutes from Canyons.

We stayed in a large suite with great room and separate additional bedroom. The additional bedroom had no window. The lighting is really bad. There was no humidifier, so we had to go to Rite Aid and buy one. There were a lot of other quirks about the rooms. But it was spacious and the finishes were reasonably attractive, and the bathroom was quite nice with a big shower and soaking tub.

The hotel touts its hot tubs in every room. Well, we had one on our second floor balcony overlooking the scenic parking lot of Bed, Bath & Beyond and into the windows of a bank. We were unable to access the balcony for a couple of days when the door handle/lock broke and had to ask twice for it to be fixed.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, contrary to what one poster asserted.

The pool area was OK, like a Holiday Inn.

The desk staff is generally clueless. Room staff OK, but common areas not cleaned up after a meeting for 1-2 days was kind of gross.

This is an adequate hotel. I'm not outraged but would not go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayguyinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Our hotel room was amazing! It is by far in the top 3 nicest hotels that we have ever stayed in. The other 2 for comparison standards are the Le Meridian in Bora Bora & the Beverly Hills Hilton Hotel in CA (one of the remodeled rooms). It has a W/D. The bathroom is all beautifully tiled with a zero entry shower, huge tub, 2 sinks, & heated floors. The bathroom had very soft robes & towels. The bedroom has a huge comfy king bed (better than ours at our own home) with tons of pillows & a great little closet with a safe in it. The living room has a leather sofa that pulls out into a bed, lots of chairs, a little table, a coffee table full of games, a fire place, & a flat screen TV. The kitchen is also a very nice asset. It has stainless steel appliances (full size fridge/freezer, dishwasher, & microwave). It also has a bunch of extras like a toaster, Keirug coffe pot, dishes, & cooking essentials. Our patio is semi-private with a hot tub on it. The hot tub fits 2 people comfortably. The patio overlooks a little shopping area with a distant view of the surrounding mountains. The room was great for cooking breakfast in to save money. The maid actually does the dishes for you. That is service! The hotel room is so incredibly affordable for the quality. It is by far a 5 star resort & it is only $169 a night. Just for comparison basis, the Hampton Inn down the road was like $230 a night. The hotel is not slope slide, but it is only a 10-15 minute drive to Deer Valley, Park City, Olympic Park, & The Canyons. It is about an hour drive to Powder Mtn...etc. The hotel has a great restaurant in it called Maxwells. I recommend their Brown Butter Sage Pine Nut pasta sauce & their Italian grilled cheese sandwich. The hotel also has a great ski rental shop inside of it. If you book your boots & skis ahead of time online, you can save 30% off of the rental price. The guys that work in the shop are so nice. It was my first time skiing & they gave me a whole tutorial on putting on my boots, skis, & getting out of it all. The hotel is really close to banks, grocery stores, Walmart, restaurants, an outlet mall, & Main St. The lobby staff can seem standoffish, but if you start to ask them questions about places they recommend...they really warm up and are super friendly. The only downsides to the hotel were that the bed was a little too high off of the ground, but we got adjusted to that. The thermostat on the A/C system seemed to have a mind of its own, but we just figured out that if we wanted to warm up, we would turn on the fireplace & if we wanted to cool down, we would open up the doors. The hotel was not very receptive to us checking in early, but it gave us an opportunity to drive around the town before check in. The toilet paper wasn't Cottonelle, but what hotel offers that? The wireless internet connective password didn’t work for us, but we had our own wireless connection, so we never investigated getting that corrected. Those would be our only gripes & we are very picky. The room was very clean, comfy, & had a great a contemporary feel to it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hi_maint_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

My wife and I spent five days at the Newpark Resort and had a wonderful experience. We were in a suite, number 411 which was located on the top floor middle, the views were just sic!!!

We had all the tools of home - fridge, stove ect. which was nice, after the third day of skiing we were happy just to be sitting inside looking out.

The lobby is world class and is only out done by the stunning panoramic views of all three Park City Ski Resorts in front of you.

We really enjoyed the location as well. Food, shopping, movies and nightlife were just a short walk from the hotel giving us the freedom to enjoy the ski resorts during the day, but all that Park City has to offer at night. The price seemed very economical compared to ski in / ski out places we looked.

I would definitely stay again and reco this resort hotel to anyone planning on staying in PC

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SkiHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

The facility is very nice - nice lobby with fireplaces, great pool and decent workout room. Note that there's no continental breakfast (at least there wasn't when we were there).

I stayed in a double rather than in one of the suites, and the size of the doubles would be one of my only complaints - it is pretty cramped in there. There's no desk, though the coffee table swings up to serve as a desk, which didn't work out that badly in the end. Otherwise the room is very nice too - large bathroom, comfy bed and very plush comfy towels.

It's in a suburban "lifestyle" mall-type setting - there are a number of stores and cafes and a Whole Foods market. Check out Reef's Kitchen Middle Eastern nearby, one of the best (and cheapest) restaurants in Park City.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Minnesota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Park City
Hyatt Place Park City
#8 of 60 in Park City
341 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
735 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park City Marriott
Park City Marriott
#16 of 60 in Park City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Resort & Hotel

Address: 1476 Newpark Blvd, Park City, UT 84098-5775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Park City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Park City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#15 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range: $180 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newpark Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newpark Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Park City
Newpark Resort & Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing