We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the hotel, not the townhouses--much better experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SoCal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Stay in the hotel, not the townhouses--much better experience!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Recently went back to Newpark Resort with my family of 5, needed rooms that would accommodate that number. Had previously stayed in a townhouse with two bedrooms, which was OK, but not quite what we had expected...can see my previous review.

This time was able to get a two bedroom two bath room suite within the hotel, which is a very different experience. The two bedroom two bath suite in the hotel is actually a connecting set of two suites. The bigger room had a full bath room with separate shower and bath tub, with a minikitchen--small dishwasher, combo microwave/oven and two oven burner with kitchen utensils, pots, pans, dishwasher soap. There was a pullout queen size sofa, gas fireplace, small dining table, balcony with hot tub, large closets...no shortage of space to keep items. Bedroom had king sized bed in the larger suite. The was also a small washer/dryer in the larger suite. There was a flat screen TV in both the bedroom and the living room. A tip for you, they have cables underneath the fireplace that you can use to connect your laptop/DVD player to the flatscreen TV to play DVDs! Wifi is free. Also safe in room for valuables.

The smaller bedroom did not have a balcony, had a queen sized bed with pullout queen sofa, fireplace, microwave, and small refrigerator, bath shower combination, not nearly as much storage space if you were staying in this room with 4 people. A few necessary kitchen necessities were provided. These are interior units and there is no view or a significant window to look outside, kind of like an interior room on a cruise ship.

Rooms were very quiet, beds were comfortable, even the pullout sofas were OK.

Check in was very easy, parking was not a problem, although with the hotel, there is only outside covered parking, not an indoor garage as in the condo. Even though we were there in late December, there was no problem with excessive snow or ice impeding driving or starting our car. Made the mistake of not taking out boots in one nite--amazing how they can contract in the cold weather and are harder to put on the next day!

Amenities--they have free USA Today in the lobby. Indoor pool, that we did not use. Hot tub was very nice, used it twice, they keep it turned on so all you have to do is remove the cover and hop in!

Service was very good, maid service comes by daily and will offer towel if requested on a daily basis.

Location, location, location! We rented skies at the Breeze rental facility at the hotel. A tip--they offer 25% discount to hotel guests. Also if you are coming during a busy week, make an online reservation or you might have to go elsewhere to get your rental. Breeze is literally within 25 feet of the lobby of the hotel, very convenient!

The Newpark Hotel is very convenient to a 24 hr Smith grocery/pharmacy, Whole Foods for more upscale food, a movie theatre, Best Buy if you forgot anything electronic and a bowling alley. Also travel to the resorts is less than 20 minutes from the hotel to the ski resorts.

We skied Canyons, Park City and Deer Valley resorts during our 4 day stay. We had bought our tickets on the Salt Lake City side at Canyons Sports--you can get great discounted tickets for these resorts. I have heard that Costco offers packages of ski lift tickets for Park City, but these are not available during the Holiday Week. Also the Park City Chamber of Commerce free lift ticket with a same day boarding pass does not work during the Holiday week.

We flew into SLC airport, very easy to get from airport to Newpark, takes about 30 minutes. Even though it snowed while we were there, did not need chains, but it was nice to have a four wheel drive SUV. Generally, the roads were not a problem in either SLC or Park City.

Overall a great experience for my family of 5 at the Newpark Resort Hotel, would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend it to my friends and family. You will definitely get your money's worth out of this resort, just make sure you stay in the hotel as opposed to the townhouses!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriseggs, General Manager at Newpark Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Wow, thanks "onoman" for your thorough review. I am glad you found the Newpark lodging type that exceeds your expectations. One of the best things about Newpark is our variety of lodging options is certain to offer a choice that is just right for each traveler. Travel safe.

Regards,

Chris Eggleton | General Manager | chris@newparkresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    157
    53
    28
    15
See reviews for
215
259
19
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose Newpark Resort based on other Trip Advisor reviews and it was exactly as expected. The staff was very friendly and worked very hard to check us in early. Our one bedroom suite was perfect for three. We went to Whole Foods nearby and bought a few things for our kitchen. Very new and nicely decorated. Beds were very comfy. Our suite had a fireplace. Our balcony had a hot tub from where we got to enjoy the New Year's fireworks at nearby Canyons Ski Resort. Very close to Canyons. Some decent nearby restaurants. About 15 mins from Main St Park City. Loved it!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaGirl_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

given the price, i find it boggling that anyone could give this hotel anything less than a 5-star rating. the facilities were off-the-charts: state of the art pool/jacuzzi/sauna/fitness center, efficiently designed rooms, clean and modern decor, friendly staff...you name it. the only thing we found remotely flawed was the heating/thermostat situation which was a little confusing and hard to operate. otherwise, hats off to one of the best hotels in the world in this price category!

Room Tip: don't miss the pool/sauna/jacuzzi after a day on the slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Absolutley brilliant hotel. Service was great, ambiance is fantastic, really loved the whole place. There was a small amount of construction work going on in the car park but nothing major at all and certainly nothing that effected our stay.

Fantastic hideaway in the mountains, plenty of bit's and pieces around it to keep you occupied and a great outlet mall as well.

If you are staying in this area, you will not be disapointed if you chose to stay here. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLWORLDTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staying at the Newpark Resort was a pleasant surprise! We found this condo on VRBO, but all reservations and check-in were handled by the resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath condo which more than adequately met our needs. The two master suites were spacious and comfortable, luxuriously appointed, each with it's own full bath! The only oversight would be the teeny television in the master bedroom. A room that size should have at least a 40" TV!

Having a double/twin bunkbed in the space between bedrooms was a nice bonus...we didn't even have to use the sofabed in the family room. But it was nice knowing it was there. The kitchen was very modern and updated, well stocked with everything we needed. The best thing about this unit was that it backed right up to the Swaner Preserve so there were no neighbors behind us. We had a beautiful, unobstructed view of the preserve and the mountains/ski runs! What a treat it was for us to sit in the private hot tub looking out at the mountains and preserve.

The location of Newpark Resort is perfect for our busy family - close to shopping and dining, and still close to all the amenities of Park City. Booking our vacation was simple, just as it was checking in and out! They accomodated our early check-in request as quickly as they could. I would definitely stay at this resort again. It's on my list of favorites!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titademaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wow, we had a great experience staying at the Newpark Hotel after and evening of birthday bowling at Jupiter Bowl . What a nice hotel facility and THE BED AND BEDDING were heaven! The hot tub on the balcony, the GIANT bathroom, waking up to the mountain views, walking to breakfast at Good Thymes Bistro... it was all good.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing south the mountain views are a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrotfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a great honeymoon stay at The Newpark Resort. Loved that Kneaders and Cafe Rio were so close. Really enjoyed the hot tub on the balcony (not very private however) and the big shower. Only complaints were the weird smell in the room and the $3.00 Smart Water. Read labels carefully. We would stay here again and hopefully it would have a better smell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IKTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park City hotels
7.3 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#9 of 60 in Park City
590 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn & Pancake House
4.5 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Resort & Hotel

Property: Newpark Resort & Hotel
Address: 1476 Newpark Blvd, Park City, UT 84098-5775
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Park City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#15 Business Hotel in Park City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newpark Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Newpark Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Park City
Newpark Resort & Hotel Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing