We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful trail”

Union Pacific Rail Trail
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“beautiful trail”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

You can go for miles and miles: by skates, bike or running... Former railroad trail going for many miles through bushland sharing nice views onto teh mountains

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Biking!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Covering more than 30 miles the rail trail which starts in the Prospector Square area of Park City is great fun. The first few miles are paved than the rest is compacted gravel. Beware as you leave Park City you are headed downhill for the next 20 miles! Coming back is a lot harder. You can end at Echo reservoir, have a picnic and return. Stay in the middle of the trail near Echo as there are many goat heads waiting to flatten your tires.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun EZ Ride”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Good access with parking at all trail entrances. Ride it all or part. Best with a guide provided lunch. We used Exclusive Excursions and it was A OK, 5Star

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jonmzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Biking on the trails around Park City”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent a day biking around the trails in Park City. The trails we rode on were within a few miles of Park City. They were all paved and nice. There were walkers, skaters, skateboarders, and bikers using the trails. People were all courteous and many responded to a greeting.

We asked our timeshare for bicycle rental recommendations and they gave us Cole Sports. We had never rented from them before and the rates seemed a bit high. We have rented and purchased skis from Utah Ski & Golf before, so we called and got a message stating the store in Park City is only open on weekends. I called the Salt Lake store and they said they would have Nick from the Park City store call us and arrange a rental. Nick was awesome and arranged to meet us at the Park City store for the pick up and adjustment of the bikes. The bikes were brand new and in great shape. The rental for 24 hrs (including the bike helmet) was the same price as the other guys' 4 hour rental!!! At the end of the day we called Nick and arranged the return. The whole bike rental was so easy and with the great Utah Ski & Golf personal service and attention. It seems that is getting harder to find Park City stores and services that give you the personal attention and reasonable prices.

We biked all around Park City and rode the rail trails that go along the creeks. The creeks were running high and swift with all the snow melt.

We wanted to have a picnic at the park, so we asked at a bank where we could buy some sandwiches. The teller said there was a Subway nearby and told us where to find it. As we were getting on our bikes, a nice local guy came out to tell us, "You don't want to go to Subway; Ledgers, a local sandwich shop even closer has real good sandwiches." After we thanked him, he went back into the bank... We went to Ledgers and got some amazing sandwiches (we recommend the sourdough bread!). Thanks nice local guy for taking a minute out of your day to point some visitors in the right direction.

It was a great day and lots of fun.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Pacific Rail Trail also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Union Pacific Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing