We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What's the point?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kimball Art Center

Kimball Art Center
Ranked #31 of 83 things to do in Park City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kimball Art Center is the heart of Park City's historic and vibrant arts community. We are a non-profit center for the arts, committed to engaging individuals of all ages in diverse and inspiring experiences through education, exhibitions and events.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What's the point?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hardly worth going to see the 'collections'. Be ready to be treated like going through airport security. (Really, at an 'art museum'?) Was made to leave my personal belongings including my wallet with the front desk. Totally ridiculous policy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiesue, Public Relations Manager at Kimball Art Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Frequent Traveler,

I apologize for having to leave your personal belongings with our front desk staff. As you may know, when we rent an exhibit to display in our Gallery, we must abide by the rental contract which is drawn up by the exhibition manager, not by the Kimball Art Center. Depending on the nature of the art and its value, guests are often not allowed to bring food or drink or sometimes back packs into the museum. In the case of Chihuly, because the sculptures are so delicate, we were required to eliminate as much bulk from visitors as possible to prevent accidents. Please understand that we are legally bound to the contract elements and our goal is to display and protect the art while giving our visitors the best possible experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome lego display!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We took our two young children to the Kimball for the lego display and it was amazing!! The artist did a phenomenal job! It blew us away! I think my husband and I were more floored by the level of talent than our children!! If you are in Park City while this display is in town you've gotta check it out! The staff at the museum were kind and gracious as well!! They even suggested yummy lunch ideas for us to try! Definitely plan to visit the Kimball when you go to Park City!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Utah
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Usually family friendly, and free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just went to the Lego exhibit, and we have been during thier art weeks. The kids loved the crafts offered during art week (might be called something else). It is free, which makes it a standard stop every time we head up to Park City. Some exhibits are better than others but that can be expected.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
342 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very, very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Kimball is in an excellent location and what it offers - for free - is an excellent value. That said, the quality of their offerings varies widely and many of their exhibits, while interesting, are hardly spectacular. Individual artists are given space and promotion, but some are less worthy. The current stuff is a perfect example. The Lego art display is quite interesting and a delight for children, but to be honest it doesn't pass the interesting stage. The artist is good but not great. The other two exhibits are much lower on the scale. The 'line art' was so imaginary it is a wonder it passes at art at all. Different strokes for different folks, but everyone I saw in the basement had a What? expression. Then there was the playing card size house paintings in the canteen. Hmmmmmmm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioannisutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiesue, Public Relations Manager at Kimball Art Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Very Very Average,

The very same Lego sculptures featured in the The Art of the Brick exhibit at the Kimball Art Center in early 2013 for FREE went on to be displayed in the Discovery Museum in Times Square New York for an admission fee of $20 per person. We feel very fortunate to have received funding from several sponsors and foundations to bring this nationally recognized exhibit to our state. Moreover, our goal as a community art center is to provide free art education to our schools and inspire students to express themselves through the visual arts. Art of the Brick allowed us to incorporate all kinds of cross curriculum lessons into our class tours including geometry, math, and writing narratives. Students understood that Art can be made from anything and in many ways, its value and beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

As for our emerging artists, we strive to feature a range of talent in our rotating exhibits and they don't always appeal to everyone. Please stop by again, we have a great line up for 2014 that can be viewed on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lego exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a neat little spot. We've been to PC many times but have never visited the Kimball Art Center. The Lego exhibit caught our eye, and we all (young and old) were very impressed. I will check it out again on our next trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank THJH2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimball Art Center also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Kimball Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing