We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Purple Sage

Purple Sage
Ranked #46 of 271 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Novato, CA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this restaurant! The food is delicious and plentiful. The staff is uber-pleasant and willing to accomodate. Only been here during Sundance when some restaurants have jacked up their menu pricing for the occasion. The only difference at Purple Sage was that they wouldn't do corkage during the two weeks of the film festival. No big deal. The main floor dining room has that old silver mining town feel with modern classy decor. The upstairs is a bit more spartan, but nice for a large group as there is less noise and traffic. My first night of the festival favorite! Can't wait for next year!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    93
    31
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food and service were great. The menu had some more interesting selections than you normally find. It is best to make reservations, although not required. It is on the expensive side but well worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank duckoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst dining experience in years (maybe ever)”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were excited to have our whole family together in Park City and were looking forward to a fabulous, delicious, relaxing night out to celebrate.

What we experienced instead was just awful. We were rushed, hushed, and spoken down to. One dinner arrived 10 minutes later than the rest. The food was fine, but could not make up for the utter lack of customer service. There are much better places with great food and great experience; I won't waste my time and money here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Talented Chef Here”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just paid a visit to Purple Sage and thoroughly enjoyed it. My wife ordered the white shrimp over polenta and I had the nightly special, which was pork chops over chorrizo grits.

The presentation was almost a work of art, particularly the shrimp. And the flavors were just wonderful. Somebody in the kitchen really knows what to do. Service was good. About par for Park City.

Purple Sage isn't a budget restaurant. But it is pretty much a bargain for Park City. Especially considering the food quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Last minute choice....”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had planned on eating at Silver, but after looking at their menu, several people in our group would have only had 1 or 2 selections that looked good to them. So, we switched to Purple Sage based on a recommendation from a local. Totally impressed. It was small / intimate and lovely inside. The photos I'd looked up didn't do it justice at all. I thought it would be cutesy with murals painted on the walls that looked cheap....but it wasn't. It was gorgeous inside and the food lived up to the hype. Absolutely amazing green chile Mac-N-Cheese! It's a MUST. They also served a top notch Gin an Tonic with a small batch domestic gin called "Uncle Val's Botanical Gin". Order one!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JchipGCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Sage also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Purple Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing