We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza at high altitutde - and welcoming staff”
Review of Davanza's

Davanza's
Ranked #24 of 271 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great pizza at high altitutde - and welcoming staff”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We wanted pizza (and such) for the Super Bowl while staying in Park City but I've generally found that pizza at higher altitudes tends to be poor (especially the crust). Doing our research we narrowed it down to a few places that promised thin crust with good reviews. Davanza's was the closest and, given it was Super Bowl Sunday, everyone had a long wait for delivery so we decided to do pickup.
We arrived to pick up at the appointed time and were told that they were running late (bummer) but they had the game on TV and offered us free beers while we waited (bonus!). The place is nothing impressive though the beer can walls are fun - eating in would not be necessarily better than taking out. The staff were extremely busy but very friendly.
Pizza was great - crust thin and crunchy with good cheese. Toppings were good but perhaps a bit too spartan- if you like your pizza loaded you definitely want to do more than 2 toppings (even double pepperoni only felt like "enough"). The wings were great and disappeared quickly followed quickly by cold beer (spicy!). While I did not try the cheese steak it vanished with nary an offer to others for a bite = must've been good!
Prices in-line with the area.
If you want something better than Dominos / Papa Johns / Pizza Hut this is a very good choice for in-home eating with the TV!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyokoVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    89
    29
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbia, mo
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great place to hang with friends to enjoy a beer and tacos, pizza or burgers! One of our must stops in Park City!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdbrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pizza and Beer”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Came over for a few beers while waiting for table at High West. Thin crust pizza was good, beer list was minimal for all the cans collected on the wall. Would stop again for beer and pizza

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bargain gem!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent place to ski in for lunch! Not only is half the price of eating on the mountain, but food is excellent! Must try Philly Steak sub!! Pizza slices are nice size and tasty and only $2.75 per slice!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ComfyGourmetSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park city utah
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Used to be great, but now, mediocre taste & service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've lived in the area for years, and back in the day when there was only one Davanzas (on Park Ave) it was one of our favorite casual eats - a quick place for decent pizza, good burgers and tacos and beer. At that time it was also one of the few places to get any kind of food in late evening in the Main Street area. A real local's favorite, and often the one of the owners were behind the counter.
Perhaps they were beaten down by more outtlets catching on to the fact that there is business to be had after 10 PM (try No Name, Sidecar, Flanagans, and probably High West), as well as some Pizza options that just blow their cardboard pizza out of the water (try SideCar or Maxwells for real NY pizza, and Vinto for inexpensive stone baked 'artisan' pizzas. There's also Red Banjo & Main Street Pizza & Pasta and, further away, Fuego)
Sadly, Davanzas has been pretty much relegated to pizza for famished low-budget skiers and local stoners - which appears to be where they get their server pool from as well (honestly - the service can be downright awful). Couple that with tasteless, greasy, pizza that seems like they skipped the dough and put a giant cracker underneath - and you might as well order from Pizza Hut or Dominos. I never thought I would be writing that about Davanzas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank movinglights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davanza's also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Davanza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing