We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

The Glitretind Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Glitretind Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 271 Restaurants in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Royal Street
Transit: The town of Park City offers a complimentary transit system that runs regularly from 7:30am to 10pm everyday. If you have questions on departure times, please contact the Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley concierge at concierge@steinlodge.com or (435) 645-6460.
Description: Alpine elegance, an innovative menu and an award-winning wine list have combined to make the Glitretind at Stein Eriksen Lodge Park City’s most breathtaking dining experience. Nestled among picturesque aspens at Deer Valley Resort, the Glitretind offers regional American cuisine in a warm and elegant setting. Executive Chef Zane Holmquist’s savory dishes are served daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Treat yourself to Utah's "Best Sunday Brunch” with live in the Glitretind, presented weekly with live music.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our recent dinner at the Glitretind was very disappointing. The current menu is quite trendy which doesn't seem to fit the decor or atmosphere of the Stein Eriksen Lodge. That would have been fine, though, if our entrees had tasted good. Unfortunately, they did not. The Kobe Pot Roast had a strange seasoning which was not to our taste. The vegetables were excessively crunchly and did not complement the beef. The trout was bland and lacking in any real flavor. Even three out of the four breads that they served were not very good. This restaurant has gone down hill.

On a positive note, the mashed potatoes were excellent, and the presentation of the entrees was nice. The cookies that were given to us at the end of our meal were also very tasty. However, these items were definitely not enough to save our dining experience. We skipped our planned desserts and left.

Based on our recent experiences, Apex at the Montage has better food and even better atmosphere. If you are looking for a good meal in Deer Valley, I would suggest you skip the Glitretind and go there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevenutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Zane, Manager at The Glitretind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience dining. For the past 30 years the hotel has operated in a manner that suits guests needs while staying true to the Norwegian heritage of its namesake. Our culinary staff works diligently to source local ingredients and present them in a manner that is slightly different than expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had not planned to eat at the Stein, but ended up here when we found all the eateries in our partner hotel were closed during our mid-week stay. Our food and service were outstanding. We actually sat in the Troll Hallen Lounge, but were able to order off of both menus. We started with the heirloom tomato and fresh ricotta. It was a moving experience--to the point where we came home and immediately began experimenting with making our own ricotta--could there be a greater compliment. It was a beautiful and simple plate, but it could not be more delicious. For our main course, my husband had the Kobe burger (enormous), and I had the filet mignon (perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious). We finished with a lovely creme brulle with cherries. The meal was just perfect. The service exceptional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Zane, Manager at The Glitretind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

I am honored that you had such “moving experience” at the Troll Hallen, thank you for sharing. My staff and I take great pride in offering seasonal dishes that reflect the best produce, meat, and dairy of our Utah partners. I hope to see you and your husband back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Seven of us just enjoyed another great meal at the Glitretind. We have eaten here more than 25 times. On this occasion, our favorites, as voted by our whole table, were the 1) duck, 2) halibut, 3) chicken, and 4) steak. Chef Zane made great recommendations and shared his expertise with our table. The service was professional and consistent as always. We look forward to dining here in the near future and so should you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Zane, Manager at The Glitretind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your continued patronage of the Glitretind. I am so pleased that you enjoyed a variety of dishes from the new summer menu. Our seasonal menus are a results of many months of collaboration. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The restaurant has a great view of the mountain and is warmed by the fireplaces throughout the lodge and in the main dining room.

The Sunday brunch is really one of the best in Deer Valley and has anything you can think of with some truly original salads and entrees. For Kids the dessert table is a feast for the eyes and tummies. Even the "big kids" will be pleased by the made to order bananas foster.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to the seafood buffet for the all you can eat. I stuffed myself on seafood: scallops, variety of oysters and crabs. I was in pain afterwards but it was worth it. They have every type of food one can think of. Try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RestonGeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glitretind Restaurant also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Glitretind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing