We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway

Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway
Ranked #2 of 93 things to do in Park City
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The road is closed for at least 4 months a year, depending on the weather. Summer or fall, however, the views and trees are absolutely beautiful. It's a great way to feel like you're in the middle of nowhere while actually being close to the Montage or the Homestead resorts. A gorgeous drive!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 2goldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    52
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gotta do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Of course it may not be open when you're visiting, but should be on your list of mountain adventure experiences. It's a great way to venture up Big Cottonwood and come down into Park City. We went up this spring with out of town visitors and I was surprised how good the was. We all had a fun time on that beautiful day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Fall drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We made this drive after eating lunch at the Montage Resort. We come to Park City every year and had never been on this road....shame on us! In the Fall, it's amazing with all of the beautiful colors. If you like, you can continue the road to Salt Lake, or to Midway, but going to the summit is spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a very leisurely trip. Also called Big Cottonwood Canyon, we were afforded beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Some of the trees were changing color and you were surprised by the splash of color. We went through areas that were totally evergreens down to below the tree level into various trees such as aspen, etc. There is a lovely restaurant on the way down with a beautiful outdoor deck. We returned to Park City via the interstate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Annamarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This highway is for the skilled mountain driver. Lots of sharp curves, cliffs, rapid ascent and very rapid descent. 11000Ft at the summit and the views are fantastic. We were very fortunate as the leaves were almost at peak....Be sure to take the trip up to Guardsman Pass from Park City. Incorporate the trip down to Brighton and make sure to hike around Silver Lake and up to the twin lakes. When finished, cap you trip off with a drive back up to Gurardsman Pass and then to Midway...Well worth while and a drive to remember.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway also viewed

Park City, Wasatch Range
Park City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Guardsman Pass Scenic Backway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing